We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous experience: worth every penny”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Spirit of the Knights Boutique Hotel
Ranked #3 of 126 Hotels in Rhodes Town
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 25, 2014

We stayed here for 5 nights in August 2014 as part of a 2 week holiday to Rhodes.

We stayed in the Knights Chamber on the ground floor. While I believe this to be the smallest room in the hotel, it was a good size, well appointed with period furniture, a large well decorated en-suite bathroom and an unusual high arched ceiling having been previously used as a small chapel a few hundred years previously.

The owners have done a quite remarkable job of restoring this property from a medieval ruin to it's now luxurious state and they will happily show you pictures illustrating the journey of transformation.

It has been restored to a very high standard throughout.

Outside, there is a private courtyard area which again has been well thought out and a couple of water features I including a small spa pool make good use of the available space.

The hotel is located within the walled 'old town' and while it is only a couple of hundred metres from the town centre is in a cul-de-sac, so there is virtually no passing foot traffic (and the area is pedestrianised) so it is very quiet despite being centrally located. The roads/paths within the ancient walled city are made up of cemented pebbles/cobbles, some of which are quite uneven, and so you need to be relatively sure of foot. Don't expect a sea-view: this is within a walled city.

So, the hotel itself is beautiful and well located. What really makes the difference here though is the people, and while I am sure there others behind the scenes, the customer service end of the business is fronted by Alex, Kyle and Duncan, and at least while we were there at least one of them was present in the hotel at all times. Their attention to detail was fantastic. They helped us find the best restaurants suited to our tastes, made bookings on our behalf and provided detailed instructions on how to get places, as well as recommendations for trips and places to visit. And they talked to each other too, so they were all aware of what was happening and they really helped us get the most out of the time we had available.

Breakfast was individually prepared and cooked to order and was delicious.

This really is one of the best, if not the best hotel we have stayed in and will have no hesitation in recommending it to friends. Hope to be back one day.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (645)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

248 - 254 of 645 reviews

Reviewed August 21, 2014

This is our third visit to Rhodes in 15 months, first visiting Ixia where we visit Rhodes town one day and fell in love with it. Then last August we stayed in Rhodes town at Rodus Park hotel.
This year we wanted to stay in the old town to get a real feel of the place, so we booked in at The Spirit of the Nights for a 7 night stay, having researched and deciding it was the place for us.
The reviews here on tripadvisor were very helpful.

Rhodes old town is a lovely place, but we felt last year that there was so much more to experience by checking out its old alleyways and hidden squares which many tourists will usually miss, Spirit of the Knights is ideally placed for this experience. The hotel itself was delightful and exactly as we expected it to be, with its relaxing gardens and charismatic room features. The service was excellent, with the hard working Alex on hand for anything that is needed during the morning/afternoon, and friendly Duncan ready to help you during the evening.

They have there own website that you can google and check out for views of the hotel and its amenities. Needless to say, it has been tastefully set out out and you are made to feel at home at all times. I would highly recommend this hotel if you want to stay in the old town, it is very special. We had an excellent 7 day stay and the experience was brilliant. would definitely recommend for a vacation with a difference. Thumbs up 5 star.

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Phil S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2014

Having to make a stop over in Rhodes on our usual trip to the Island of Simi, we decided to try this hotel this year, and so my husband and I and our two daughters were picked up by a taxi (arranged by the hotel) on a hot July afternoon, and soon found ourselves in a tranquil oasis high up in the old town of Rhodes. The most beautiful restoration has been done on this amazing building ...a truly special experience from a boutique hotel that transports you into a magical medieval world. When you arrive you are met by Alex, a charming and totally hospitable host, one member of a family who have put everything into turning this little gem of a hotel into an exceptional experience for any visitor. All the rooms have been beautifully decorated, no expense spared, and a glass of wine awaits you when you arrive , and nothing is too much trouble for Alex, or Duncan who made us a beautiful breakfast at an ungodly hour as we left for Simi the next morning. Would recommend it to anyone wanting to experience a little bit of relaxed luxury at the summit of Rhodes old town. Exceptional .

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cory P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2014

great location, central, romantic, small, charming, excellent service, nice garden, small pool to relax after long walks through the city, service minded staff..alex is great. we booked through expedia and we missed the ferry.. i called alex and he had no problem to change our reservation at cero cost…happy customer. my 2 kids (10 and 16) enjoyed it as well specially the private steam bath in our room :)

Room Tip: all rooms are unique in itself we liked the one with the private steam bath
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Thomas S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2014

We got what we wanted. Very friendly staff. informal but polite and efficient. Room was great and it was like time travel for us. Great library. TV system need to updated but we were not there to watch TV anyhow. If possible do convince your partner not take big luggage's due to narrow streets and stone roads. Alex was great host and Donovan ( hope I spell it right) too.. Thank you..

Room Tip: Only 6 rooms anyhow..
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AssetMNGR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2014

We had a very pleasant night here. Alex and Duncan are most helpful hosts. The hotel is well situated and our room had a view of the city wall. The bed was so comfortable. There is a beautiful courtyard garden where we enjoyed drinks before going out to dinner and a lovely breakfast the next morning. A very relaxing central and historic place to stay away from the hustle and bustle but right in the centre of everything. The house has been beautifully restored.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Service
Thank bonstermonster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2014

ideal hotel for a trip to rhodes: perfect location (in the old town but not with the noise of busy bars and restaurants: beeing a bit hidden in the maze of streets works for the better in these cases), perfect atmosphere (comfortable rooms, clean and neat in details -the bed linen are prefect at all times!!!) and perfect staff (professional and always heplful and friendly).
because there are very few rooms, it's always quiet. a real oasis in the middle of an ancient place.
i wouldn't think twice of staying there if i go back to rhodes again!

Room Tip: we stayed in two different rooms since we stayed in two different periods of the whole trip. i can s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Oscar s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rhodes Town
0.3 mi away
In Camera Art Boutique Hotel
In Camera Art Boutique Hotel
#2 of 126 in Rhodes Town
289 reviews
0.4 mi away
Kokkini Porta Rossa
Kokkini Porta Rossa
#1 of 126 in Rhodes Town
243 reviews
0.2 mi away
Rodos Park Suites & Spa
Rodos Park Suites & Spa
#6 of 126 in Rhodes Town
417 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Atrium Platinum Hotel
Atrium Platinum Hotel
#5 of 126 in Rhodes Town
2,891 reviews
2.5 mi away
Amathus Elite Suites
Amathus Elite Suites
#4 of 126 in Rhodes Town
638 reviews
40.0 mi away
Atrium Prestige Thalasso Spa Resort and Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Spirit of the Knights Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spirit of the Knights Boutique Hotel

Address: 14 Alexandridi, Rhodes Town 851 00, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Rhodes > Rhodes Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Rhodes Town
#1 Family Hotel in Rhodes Town
#3 Luxury Hotel in Rhodes Town
#9 Business Hotel in Rhodes Town
Price Range: $109 - $287 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Spirit of the Knights Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Spirit of the Knights, an exclusive Eco Friendly Boutique Hotel set in the medieval old town of Rhodes.Tucked away on the highest point of the medieval town on a quiet cobbled street only minutes walk from the Souleiman Mosque, Grand Masters Palace, shops, bars, restaurants and sea the hotel is an ideal place from which to explore the medieval town and island. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Spirit of the Knights Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Spirit Of The Knights Boutique Hotel Rhodes, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing