We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“The ideal chill out location” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Spirit of the Knights Boutique Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Spirit of the Knights Boutique Hotel
Ranked #1 of 128 Hotels in Rhodes Town
Certificate of Excellence
Auchterarder, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The ideal chill out location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 6, 2012

The web site just doesn't do it justice, a truly delightful place to stay, homely but elegant. The restoration of the property has been superbly carried out and the interior design really does transport you to the lands of the Knights. The courtyard/garden is an ideal setting for reading and relaxation after your day exploring the sites. The family could not have been more friendly and helpful (from arrival at the pick up point outside the old city gates to booking dinners at excellent restaurants). We are looking forward to going back.

Room Tip: It doesn't really matter which suite you choose, they are all individual and of the same high st...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bill M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

566 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    538
    23
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
101
372
20
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2012

A wonderfully maintained, well decorated hotel which stays true to its historical architecture and heritage whilst being modern and comfortable, air conditioned, and stylish. Marry this to the incredibly welcoming and helpful staff, a great location in the old town, and you have a first class hotel worthy of 5 stars anywhere in the world.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dr S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
46 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2012

What a wonderful place to stay right in the heart of Old Town Rhodes.

Medieval building originally constructed by crusaders? Check.
Immensely gracious hosts that will do everything they can to make your stay fantastic? Check.
Private library and gameroom? Check.

I don't have much else to add in addition to the many glowing reviews here, other than to say this is one of the best hotels I have stayed at, and you'll not be disappointed.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank the_ambler_rambler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

Spirit of the Knights was by and far our best hotel in all of Greece. The uniqueness of the hotel and friendliness of the staff truly makes it an experience. Each room is different, all spacious. We stayed in the Ottoman suite, which had a loft area with chaise lounge and TV, but we never used it. The bed was extremely comfortable and the staff made up the room, and turned down the room each day and night. Breakfast was definitely superior. It was included in the price of the hotel, but you ordered off the menu---no buffet, like the other hotels. It was all fresh and local and delicious.

We also arrived to a complimentary welcome drink, as well as a bottle of champagne in celebration of our honeymoon. We had brought a bottle of cretan wine with us as well, and they had no problem with us drinking that in the bar, even though it wasn't purchased there.

They were very helpful and great with restaurant recommendations and directions around town, as it can get QUITE confusing in the old town. Every single person on staff was incredibly nice and there to please. Just a fantastic experience for our last stop in the islands.

If we're back in Rhodes, we'll definitely be staying there again!

Room Tip: All rooms are great, but none of them are soundproof, so you may hear your neighbors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank albucknam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, TX
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

From the moment we arrived to the moment we left we were treated like special guests. We arrived late in the afternoon. The taxi, which was arranged by the hotel, cannot drop you right at the door, since the roads are mostly pedestrian in Old Town. We were met at the taxi drop off by Alex who carried our bags to our room. We were then offered a much welcomed cold beverage of our choice, wine in our case. We sat in the amazing courtyard and sipped wine for awhile, before leisurely heading to our room. The courtyard was so relaxing. You could tell they really thought about the lay of the seating and the overall atmosphere. There was trickling water, beautiful, lush plants, a jacuzzi and very comfortable pairs of cushioned lounge chairs strategically placed, so that, even if there was another couple there, you felt private. Then Alex showed up to our room, The Crusader Suite. Amazing! It was decorated so warmly and tastefully. The bathroom is the best I've had in Europe. It was large, with a rain shower and long, deep tub. The towels were wrapped up in ribbon like a little gift everyday. They even thought to put beach towels and umbrellas in the armoire. The water pressure was great. Even the lighting was well thought out. The bed was so comfortable, they use all eco-friendly, CoCo Mat products. Everyone has asked me since I got home, if I'm glad to be in my own bed, and for the first time ever, I wasn't sure. We also had a mezzanine/loft sitting area upstairs with a TV and two comfy day beds. We were there during Hurricane Sandy in NJ, where we have a lot of family, so we did go up to get news on that. It was so cozy up there. Even if you just want to go curl up and read a book. We didn't want to leave our room. In the morning we were served breakfast, to order, in the courtyard. Eggs, bacon, sausage, omelets, yogurt, fruit, croissant, toast, sweet cakes, whatever we wanted.
Alex, Kyle and Duncan couldn't have been more helpful in any request, question, arrangement that we needed. Alex even went out and bought me a phone card, when I was having trouble with mine. He arranged a rental car, taxis, boat tickets, everything for us.
At the end of each day when we returned to the hotel, it felt like we were coming home. Someone was always there to greet us and ask if there was anything we wanted or needed. They have a full bar that is always open where you can get a drink, a glass of wine, cappuccino....always served with a friendly smile and little bite to eat. Our room was kept immaculate and I am sad to say I don't know the name of the person who took care of that or cooked our delicious breakfast, everyday. Every time we returned to our room it was tidied.
I would definitely stay here again and again. It it tucked away in a quiet alley. I know some have said it is hard to find, in the maze of alleys, but we had no problem, it was really only a few turns and we didn't always go the same way and never had a problem finding it. Go, you will love it!

Room Tip: We loved the Crusader Suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank austintxjulie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2012

Our stay in August allowed us to see why the highest-quality reputation of this family-run establishment is well-deserved: much more than a 'hotel'--a real welcoming 'community' is created for visitors who are seeking a warm environment and a true cultural 'immersion', partly through experiencing the wonder of the restoration of this ancient structure into a modern marvel, furnished tastefully with ancient artifacts but with all the most advanced comfort. Felicity Marshall and her family have created a real treasure for travelers to Rhodes, allowing them to escape the bustling tourist waves and enjoy a cool interior garden and even Jacuzzi, as well as a delightful full English (or other) breakfast that will allow a truly perfect start for the day. There is good humor all around and we only wish that the Marshalls would start a chain of hotels in the same spirit in other locations!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ParisAmerican
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Midlands
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2012

We were told that we were only 4th lot of guests to find on our own. It was certainly a challenge even with a decent map. Fear not though as Alex will meet you by the Clock Tower should you need help.
We stayed one night in the Ottomon Suite which has a Mezzanine area with sofa and TV which we couldn't get to work. The bath was very deep and too much of a challenge for me.
Breakfast had good choice and the jaccuzzi was great
Open ALL year round so great for anyone looking for something different.
NB Don't take loads books as there is an extensive library

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WestMidlandsCatts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rhodes Town
0.3 mi away
In Camera Art Boutique Hotel
In Camera Art Boutique Hotel
#2 of 128 in Rhodes Town
5.0 of 5 bubbles 236 reviews
1.6 mi away
Atrium Platinum Hotel
Atrium Platinum Hotel
#5 of 128 in Rhodes Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,340 reviews
0.4 mi away
Kokkini Porta Rossa
Kokkini Porta Rossa
#3 of 128 in Rhodes Town
5.0 of 5 bubbles 156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
25.0 mi away
Lindos Blu
Lindos Blu
#1 of 32 in Lindos
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,172 reviews
2.5 mi away
Amathus Elite Suites
Amathus Elite Suites
#4 of 128 in Rhodes Town
5.0 of 5 bubbles 534 reviews
0.1 mi away
Rodos Park Suites & Spa
Rodos Park Suites & Spa
#9 of 128 in Rhodes Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Spirit of the Knights Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spirit of the Knights Boutique Hotel

Property: Spirit of the Knights Boutique Hotel
Address: 14 Alexandridi, Rhodes Town 851 00, Greece
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Rhodes > Rhodes Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Rhodes Town
#1 Romantic Hotel in Rhodes Town
#1 Family Hotel in Rhodes Town
#9 Business Hotel in Rhodes Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Spirit of the Knights Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Spirit of the Knights, an exclusive Eco Friendly Boutique Hotel set in the medieval old town of Rhodes.Tucked away on the highest point of the medieval town on a quiet cobbled street only minutes walk from the Souleiman Mosque, Grand Masters Palace, shops, bars, restaurants and sea the hotel is an ideal place from which to explore the medieval town and island. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Spirit of the Knights Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Spirit Of The Knights Boutique Hotel Rhodes, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing