We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A totally charming experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Spirit of the Knights Boutique Hotel
Ranked #3 of 126 Hotels in Rhodes Town
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 26, 2011

We loved our stay in this hotel in Rhodes Town. The hotel was located in a quiet peaceful location away from the tourist rush. The decor was exceptional. The large beautifully decorated relaxation area was in complete contrast to the public areas in the courtyard. Our room was unusual with an upstairs/downstairs combination but peaceful and quiet. We really loved the outdoor area downstairs where breakfast was served. The water features of the garden made for a totally relaxing atmosphere and we especially loved the use of plants we grow in our own home garden. Everything we requested was provided with helpful friendly service. A great place to stay if you are visiting Rhodes.

Room Tip: Choose a room facing east
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 255068Diana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (651)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

494 - 500 of 651 reviews

Reviewed June 26, 2011

We wanted to stay in the Old Town and decided to go for the number 1 hotel on TripAdvisor. The hotel's website is very informative with lots of beautiful photos, but you have to be there in person to experience the true charm of the beautiful courtyard with the relaxing sound of the murmuring fountain, the breezes through the palm trees, the flowers, and the heavenly peace and quiet.
We stayed in two different rooms since we decided too late to add an extra night to our three-day stay – both the cozy Knight's Chamber and the opulent Crusaders' Suite are beautifully furnished with attention to each and every detail. Felicity, whom we unfortunately didn't get to meet, who had bought and renovated the entire hotel, has impeccable taste. It was sheer joy just admiring all the details - the stained glass in the suite, the very luxurious shower in the chamber, the chandeliers, the exquisite linen…. The beds were among the most comfortable we've experienced anywhere.
And then the service ... we noticed the friendly family atmosphere from the first moment when Alex served us a complimentary and very delicious glass on wine on our arrival, enjoyed Keira's and Duncan's welcoming friendliness, John's great service every morning with the bountiful breakfast served to each guest's wishes, so no wasted buffet food. We appreciate the hotel's emphasis on making our eco footprint as small as possible as they describe in a brochure you can find in the room along with other helpful information.
The only improvement possible would concern the staff's knowledge of the area - although Alex did give us a helpful tip for a great fish restaurant right on the water in the new town. Just a bit more knowledge about Rhodes and its history will make the service more than perfect.
When we return to Rhodes, we won't have to think for a minute about where to stay. And if we plan a week next time, then we'll be able to experience each of the hotel's unique rooms and hopefully have time to try out the jacuzzi in the courtyard too.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GermanJody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2011

Terrific service and wonderful breakfasts after comfortable nights in the beautifully decorated rooms in a well secluded hideaway under the walls in the Old Town.
I can't imagine staying anywhere else on Rhodes.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chargle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2011

The service we experienced was first class from the moment we were met from our taxi, to the service at breakfast through to our last drink of the night! We had a fantastic suite of rooms which were always immaculately maintained and gave good views to the medieval walls of the Old Town. The suite was accessed via a beautiful central library. We loved the walks to our accommodation in the Old Town and to Elli beach (we hired beds for 4E per day here)and discovered that the bus service can be a very cost effective mode of transport to other destinations. (taxi to or from airport 22E, bus 2.40E) There are many places to eat and you can get good advice from the Spirit of the Knights family who know the area well. We were welcomed by the family and returned home feeling relaxed and looking forward to our next visit.

Room Tip: Rodos suite - views over two aspects on 1st floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HannahBishop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2011

This hotel is well-located in Rhodes old town a short distance from the main shopping/eating area and just far enough away so that the rooms are quiet. We were disappointed by the hotel's lack of Greek atmosphere. The staff here are all from the UK or beyond so you feel as though you could be in Britain somewhere rather than Rhodes.

While the bed itself was great there really wasn't anywhere comfortable in the room to sit - the furniture while beautiful to look at wasn't functional. So we took to the outside where there were several chaise lounges but for the most part it was impossible to find a quiet spot to yourself.

We really wanted to like this hotel but it fell short and given the price we felt we could have done better.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Off_Again_Soon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2011

My wife and I stayed at the Spirit of the nights for three nights, May 10-11-12, 2011. A stay at this hotel is a step back in time with the modernity of the current times. The setting, the tranquility, the restoration of this former ruin, and the never-ending service of the remarkable staff can be summed up in one word: WOW!

Breakfasts are incredible, and I wish we had stayed more than three nights in order to sample everything on the menu.

Arriving in old town Rhodes and starting down the narrow, worn, cobbled streets toward the hotel, is a step back in time. We wondered what awaited as we passed ancient buildings, some occupied, and some in need of total restoration. Then, we stepped onto the beautiful mosaic of white and black cobble stones at the hotel, and we were transported back to the Ottoman Empire. The restoration of the ruin is incredible, so be sure to ask to see the before and after photos.

There is one suite on the ground floor, so if there are mobility issues, try to get that room. There are four additonal suites up a flight of 17 steps to the first floor and then up another flight of steps to the second floor, there is another suite.

Our suite was the Crusader's Suite on the first floor and the suite consists of two levels. The bedroom and bathroom are on the first level, and the lounge, consisitng of two divans and the flat screen televison, is up a flight of stairs to a loft area above the bedroom.

The bed is one of the best I have ever slept in; the bathroom is fantastic. The towels tied up in ribbon was a very nice touch.

We will return to the Spirit of the Knights, there is no doubt about that. The staff does everything to make one's stay a most memorable occasion. To Alex, Duncan, John, Kyra, and Felicity, a huge thank you for making our holiday special!

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rkwalk1824
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2011

This is a restored Turkish era home that has been lovingly restored by an English lady and is staffed by her and her family. Facilities are outstanding. You are staying in the Old City, which causes the only drawback. Cabs cannot reach the hotel so you have to be met at a city gate and have your bags transfered for you. Not a big problem. We felt at home because of the attentive staff and recieved great suggestions for restaurants and for things to see. Be sure you eat at Ta Kioypia. This small restaurant opens onto a quiet square, is run by a retired outstanding chef (member Top Chefs of the World). You will enjoy traditional Greek dishes prepared with a gourmet touch.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mittyc2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rhodes Town
0.3 mi away
In Camera Art Boutique Hotel
In Camera Art Boutique Hotel
#2 of 126 in Rhodes Town
294 reviews
0.4 mi away
Kokkini Porta Rossa
Kokkini Porta Rossa
#1 of 126 in Rhodes Town
261 reviews
0.2 mi away
Rodos Park Suites & Spa
Rodos Park Suites & Spa
#6 of 126 in Rhodes Town
428 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Atrium Platinum Hotel
Atrium Platinum Hotel
#5 of 126 in Rhodes Town
2,935 reviews
2.5 mi away
Amathus Elite Suites
Amathus Elite Suites
#4 of 126 in Rhodes Town
647 reviews
25 mi away
Lindos Blu
Lindos Blu
#2 of 30 in Lindos
1,359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Spirit of the Knights Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spirit of the Knights Boutique Hotel

Address: 14 Alexandridi, Rhodes Town 851 00, Greece
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Rhodes > Rhodes Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Rhodes Town
#1 Romantic Hotel in Rhodes Town
#3 Luxury Hotel in Rhodes Town
#9 Business Hotel in Rhodes Town
Price Range: $106 - $287 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Spirit of the Knights Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Spirit of the Knights, an exclusive Eco Friendly Boutique Hotel set in the medieval old town of Rhodes.Tucked away on the highest point of the medieval town on a quiet cobbled street only minutes walk from the Souleiman Mosque, Grand Masters Palace, shops, bars, restaurants and sea the hotel is an ideal place from which to explore the medieval town and island. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire and Travelocity so you can book your Spirit of the Knights Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Spirit Of The Knights Boutique Hotel Rhodes, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing