We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food, nice atmosphere, slow service”
Review of Marco Polo Cafe

Marco Polo Cafe
Ranked #10 of 443 Restaurants in Rhodes Town
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $16
Cuisines: Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Romantic, Business meetings, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
New York
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Good food, nice atmosphere, slow service”
Reviewed July 1, 2013

Nice food, well prepared, in a lovely courtyard....but its a slow meal.
The owner and his wife seem a bit more concerned with their bigger tables and friends...
I thought the night was enjoyable, but they could work on their service.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dkrubes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

501 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    361
    100
    22
    10
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Lauderdale
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Taken there by a local”
Reviewed July 1, 2013

We were visiting Rhodes and a local took us to the restaurant. This is probably the best meal we had in Greece. Effie (the owner) was hysterically funny and the Food and setting were impeccable. I have no idea how. you would find this place if you didn't know where it was. Apparently it's easy. But we got taken there by a local. Awesome.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Man_of_the_world_00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herefordshire, England.
Level 4 Contributor
15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Very enjoyable evening apart from the game at the start”
Reviewed June 27, 2013

We had a very nice meal here and enjoyed our evening, the food and the lovely courtyard atmosphere. But could have done without the silly game at the start:

'Do you have a reservation?'
'No'
'Oh I must check'
. . . . . . . . . . .
'Well it's very tricky but we can just manage to squeeze you in'

All this when there's empty tables that stay empty all evening.

Pelease!

Apart from this nonsense it was well worth the visit and, for this standard, very well priced.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MackerG4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sundsvall, Sweden
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Nice dining in Rhodos town”
Reviewed June 24, 2013

I recommend this restaurant and I'm am so happy we made the effort to find it (we took a few wrong turns on the way). On Week ends you need to book an table. Outdoor dining.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank peakupnorth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“No plastic menus! If you enjoy fine dining in ambient surroundings, featuring local produce at a place frequented by up-market l”
Reviewed June 12, 2013

Marco Polo is unbeatable for a delicious, reasonably priced high-quality produce dinner in Rhodes. It is a little way off of the beaten track (but easy to find with directions) and thankfully well away from the natural habitat of cruise-ship dwellers.

We despise plastic menus with pictorial previews of the meals and are frustrated by waiters calling you into their stores. Marco Polo boasts a limited menu featuring Mediterranean (Italian and Greek influence) dishes made from local, fresh produce. The service is delightful consisting of a vivacious maitre-d and hip, young waiters.

We enjoyed our experience so much so we returned twice to eat there. All of the dishes appear to be tasty, however we did favor the green pomegranate salad, the lamb with risotto and the beef.

You will not regret the decision to done here and will likely return!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MsSunday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Marco Polo Cafe also viewed

Rhodes Town, Rhodes
Rhodes Town, Rhodes
 
Rhodes Town, Rhodes
 

Been to Marco Polo Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing