We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Honeymoon at Rodos Sun Faliraki”
Review of Rodos Sun

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Rodos Sun
Ranked #2 of 70 Hotels in Faliraki
Certificate of Excellence
Fife scotland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Honeymoon at Rodos Sun Faliraki”
Reviewed September 1, 2012

I had my honeymoon at the Rodos Sun and a fantastic time it was. The family who own the apartments were amazing, Nick (the son) works really long hour but is always smiling, we only had to tell him our name once which was on our arrival and he never had to ask again !!!!! How does he remember so many names???
The rooms are small but perfect and clean, beds and towels get changed every two days. Barbecue Monday is definitely a must to attend for only 10 euros each we were at two and met loads of very nice people who we befriended for the 2 weeks we were there, there were young and old in the apartments, and no noise from anyone was to be heard as Nick let's everyone know it's not allowed. We went to bar and club street most nights before ending our nights in the Rodos, the beaches are lovely which we went to a few times, also spent lots of time sunbathing at the pool.
If you're looking for a relaxing and cheap holiday go to the Rodos Sun you'll be amazed about what you get for your money we loved it and would defenitely go back again xxx

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hazel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

310 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    261
    36
    10
    1
    2
See reviews for
65
148
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2012

So I've just got back from rodos sun, and I have to say it's one of the, if not the, best holidays ever!the hotel was fantastic the cleanliness,the rooms,the friendliness and hospitality too. The hotel is run by a fantastic family who do a smashing job. They make an effort to get to know everyone and make this holiday as relaxing as you would like. Monday nights are BBQ night...which is a MUST!BBQ,killer pool,card bingo then a pub crawl!a chance to get to know all the guests no matter what age!!plus Nick (the son and barman) comes out too and shows you how it's done!this is a holiday I would definitely do again, so make sure you book now!!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kirstyann88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2012

we had a fantastic time at the rodos sun. as everyone has already said the family who run the apartments are friendly and welcome you like an old friend. while we were there we spoke to many of the guests who had returned year upon year which is always a good recommendation. there was a good mixture of guests , families, couples and younger guests and every single person was respectful of the quiet at night policy. the apartments are basic no t.v , kettle etc..but this didnt bother us took cheap argos own make only a fiver and left it behind. The hotels BBQ night is excellent value and the food is delicous and filling , followed by the killer pool and card bingo which was a good laugh. a big thank you to nick , alexia , george and the rest of the family who made this our best ever holiday its amazing how a few small but important touches make all the difference to your holiday and this was certainly the case here. the english breakfasts are well cooked and filling and are accompanied by tea or coffee and toast.
bar and club street was a little to loud for us , we tried it once but prefered Thomas bar which was not to far from the apartments , a good welcome by again a very friendly family they even made my husband a cake for his birthday and sang to him. not to mention its good for the footy and the brandy is good also..we drank most of their supply.
all in all although faliraki itself is looking a little shabby it is still well worth a visit we never had a bad meal while we were there and enjoyed a lot of greek dishes our favourite being the kleftiko.. we ate at alabama bar (near the hotel ) desert rose and a few others we cant remember and everywhere offers a free shot after a meal. this was our first time in greece and we were astounded by the generosity of the people we met there..so if your thinking of booking go for it you will not regret it .
we will be back next year

Room Tip: pool view rooms have a better view than those facing the back. we had one of each between five and f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank coobzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level Contributor
35 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2012

Just returned from a week's stay and wish we had been able to stay longer! Arrived at 22.00 met Nick and after sorting ourselves out went down to the bar to watch the Olympic closing ceremony. The bar generally stays open as long as there are people around, the drinks are very good value and very strong, no optics here, it's as if you're in your own home!

The rooms are basic but large and spotlessly clean, our sheets and towels were changed every other day during our week's stay. The shower doesn't have a curtain so remove the toilet roll either onto the window sill or out of the bathroom altogether as the shower does flood the floor, there is a drain there though. The water did go off in the area on one evening but otherwise pressure was ok. We tended to use it as a hand held shower so there wasn't too much excess water on the floor.

There are two electric rings, very slow to boil water,(enough time to have two showers), there are some saucepans, bowls, cups saucers and plates, no kettle, toaster or grill but we found it cheap to eat out.

Aircon is extra at €6 a day, there was a breeze for the first half of the week but I wouldn't have survived without it! I found if you had it on the low fan setting and about 25 degrees at night the room didn't get stuffy or too cold.

All the rooms face the pool with decent size balcony, there isn't any swimming after 8pm and the hotel was lovely and quiet up the end of a lane. There was some towels to claim sun loungers but we could generally get one easily enough. The beach is a 5 to 10 min walk (depending on speed), no problem getting loungers at any time of the day there €4 per lounger for the whole day, keep your ticket as it is valid for any part of the beach.

The hotel offers a basic menu all day, didn't have their breakfast but is good value at €5, their omelettes are lovely and again good value. Monday night bbq is great fun, food fab, killer pool and card bingo very funny, Nick makes the whole thing and it's a great way to meet the other guests.

The reason this hotel gets the praise it does is the hard work of Nick, George and the rest of the family, they make you feel part of their family, they are always there, I don't think any of them sleep much at all and it's really appreciated and I know they get alot of repeat business, which I'm not surprised about.

All in all it's a great place to stay, it does exactly what it says on the tin. Thanks to Nick, George and the rest of the family for making our stay so enjoyable, we wouldn't hesitate in returning.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Love_Australia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2012

One of the best holidays ever. we went with our two teenage grandchildren and one of there friends and even though we were the oldest there i really enjoyed it. Nick had a lot of respect for his younger guests and they gave it back and were always well behaved and did not make any noise after coming in at 6 in the mornings. Nick Myra and George ran the apartments excellently. They were clean had a lovely pool area and the food was good and reasonable priced. They were ten minutes walk from bar street so the location was very good. The weekly barbeque was brilliant followed by killer pool card bingo and then Nick going to bar street with the younger guests. The area had a good selection of restaurants and the beach is lovely. Overall we had an excellent stay and would return.

Room Tip: A higher floor overlooking the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kayleigh73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2012

Spotlessly clean , sheets and towels changed on alternate days , and on the outskirts of the resort so not too noisy at night .. Good pool and bar area. Monday night barbeque is excellent value and very well cooked .

Room Tip: Choose an upper floor away from the bar area for less noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lou6062
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2012

Very friendly and helpful team of Nick, Myra, George manage these apartments excellently. The rooms are basic but kept very clean and air-con works very well. Clientele (late July) mainly groups of girls and lads, well managed by Nick and all very friendly - hello to Somerset lads from my wife and daughter!

Monday BBQ very good for food and socialising - followed by Nick leading a big group out afterwards. Just a suggestion but since main changeover day for Rhodes is Wednesday, perhaps BBQ could be moved to Thursday - would be even better for getting to know other guests.

Great location for buses to Rhodes town and Lindos - both must be visited. Tip for Lindos - on way back down from Acropolis take a left when path splits and go into 1st main bar on your left - go upstairs to a roof top plunge pool - fantastic after the heat of the walk - obviously have a beer as well.

See you again soon.

Room Tip: Order air-con in July!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank andymSheffield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Faliraki hotels
2.9 mi away
Mitsis Alila Resort & Spa
1.2 mi away
Billy's Studios
Billy's Studios
#4 of 70 in Faliraki
4.5 of 5 bubbles 262 reviews
0.9 mi away
Zoes Hotel
Zoes Hotel
#9 of 70 in Faliraki
4.5 of 5 bubbles 310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Pegasos Beach Hotel
Pegasos Beach Hotel
#3 of 70 in Faliraki
4.0 of 5 bubbles 620 reviews
0.7 mi away
Mitsis Faliraki Beach Hotel
1.7 mi away
Blue Sea Beach Resort
Blue Sea Beach Resort
#7 of 70 in Faliraki
4.0 of 5 bubbles 813 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rodos Sun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rodos Sun

Property: Rodos Sun
Address: Aegea Street, Faliraki 851 05, Greece
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Rhodes > Faliraki
Amenities:
Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Faliraki
#1 Romantic Hotel in Faliraki
#19 Family Hotel in Faliraki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Rodos Sun 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Bookgreece.com, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your Rodos Sun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rodos Sun Faliraki, Rhodes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing