We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“what a brill hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Sun Palace Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sun Palace Hotel
Ranked #5 of 72 Hotels in Faliraki
Certificate of Excellence
liverpool united kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“what a brill hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2009

Have just arrived back from Sun Palace hotel in faliraki. Brilliant resort for families with young children. Hotel really clean, the staff are fantastic, and work really hard to ensure you have a good time, the apartment we were in was balcony / sea view which overlooked part of the pool area but gave us ample space with our own balcony and as it was only 2 floors high, no one above us and not overlooked by any one else. The weather is absolutely fantastic at the moment between 35 - 42 degrees which we believe is going to get hotter from next month onwards, make sure you take enough insect repellant and keep your air conditioning on.
Food was great and was never in short supply, even round the pool area for snacks, ice creams refreshments.
There are more than enough sunbeds if you want to spend your time around the pool area. Not allowed to save sunbeds before 8am, and if you do towels will be removed and you collect from reception. But as stated theres no need to try and save a sunbed.

The Entertaiment was really good especially for the children so a "Great Big Thank you" to Wesley, Monika, Ralouco and Lynsey for ensuring that as many children even the adults were given the opportunity to participate in lots of day and night time activities. You really are a credit and work really hard. My grand daughter loved the clown and mini disco, and looked forward to the entertainment with yoursleves each night.
"Respect" to Wesley and co and hope you have a really good summer season.
If you are looking for entertainment away from the hotel and are considering to book activities, you can book them from your tour rep but we did the greek night which was not best value for money. We hired a car outside of the hotel for 3 days and visited Rhodes old town and new, Lindos beach (which is a must !!!!!!) the hottest day we had there.
travelled around the island and visited pefkos, kalithea, afandou. The Greek people are very friendly and welcoming and helpful. If you go to Rhodes old town and have a meal in the castle try the Archpelagos rooftop graden restaurant the food is absolutely lovely.
Like everywhere else it can be really expensive if you are buying gifts even some items in the airport which is duty free can be more expensive than on the aeroplane (perfume etc) than back home. The Sun Palace hotel is about a 10 minute walk from the main nightlife of Faliraki which is no where near as bad as what was portrayed a few years ago. Would I recommend this hotel MOST DEFINITELY.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank maggsie2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,523 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    742
    468
    220
    56
    37
See reviews for
963
237
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (321)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
norwich
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2009

We were a party of 4 adults, 3 teens and a 10 yr old staying for 2 weeks. The hotel was clean and comfortable and any problems were quickly rectified by the staff.The food was repetitive but no-one went hungry and some of the theme nights were excellent. We had brilliant weather, very hot and only one cloudy day.The entertainment team was very good - the 3 girls Raluka, Monica and Lindsay worked so hard and were great fun - we brought some new 'catch phrases' home with us! Our only complaint was that the night time entertainment was very loud and although it didn't go on beyond 11.30 if you / kids want an early night sleep is impossible before midnight. It would help if Wesley spoke into the microphone instead of eating it.
The location was ideal for us - far enough away from the centre to be peaceful but the bars and clubs were easily accessible for the young uns!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank uvilla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2009

Great holiday fun hotel, weather sun, sun, sun. There is food to suit anyone for almost 15 hours a day and drinks for 14 hours,nice lager, spirits, white wine is nice but red takes getting used to. The animation team work really hard and are very friendly there's something for everyone, Raluka is the best animator i've ever met, she is infectious in her outlook and attitude, a smile and a laugh with everyone. All the hotel staff work hard and are friendly, rooms very good for Greece, all in all a great place in the right spot, close enough to the clubs and bars if that's what you want and far enough away to have no disturbance.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jadeca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WELSHPOOL,WALES
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2009

Stayed at this hotel from 20/05/2009 til 27/05/2009 with a group of family 14 in total. As for the hotel itself eveything is kept very clean & tidy,ideal pool for adults and children,kids will love the mushroom shaped fountain in the kiddie pool !!!
Food - Always able to find something to eat even if you are a fussy eater.
Rooms- Most of them i think have been re-furbished to a good general standard, BUT BEWARE OF STAYING IN THE BLOCK ADJACENT TO THE HOTEL !!! We had a BIG problem with the rooms flooding with the toilet overflowing (human excrement eveywhere) not nice at all . In the process of serious talks with THOMAS COOK & HOTEL MANAGMENT !!!!
All in all you will have a great time at this hotel,the evening entertainment is needing some serious thought !!!! the worst i have ever seen,but you make you're own fun

  • Stayed May 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lklr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amesbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2009

Me and my partner just returned from 2 weeks holiday there,and we must say that everything was perfect.
there was absolutely great.room very clean,towels changed daily,people working there were great,they doing very good job there.all staff is doing everything to make you feel good.food was very good,they have very good average,lot of meats,vegetables,sweets,salads-something for everyone.
enterteiment during the day and evening very good,perfect staff is in animation team-great people.
on the pool lot of lounges,on the beach (just cross the road about 300m) you have to pay for it but on the hotel pool is free of course.
very goodplace for families with children-very good mini club,but not only.this place will suits everyone.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank justek86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
barnsley
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2009

1 SO FRIENDLY

Me and my boyfriend have just got back from a fantastic holiday. When we first got on the coach and started heading through the island I was a little worrid,some places were run down n looking a bit dirty. As you got further in the place got more up to date. When we pulled up to our hotel we were very pleased and wen we got in we were surprised with how nice it was,we had seen the pics but didnt think it wud be that good at all. Our room was identical to the pics as well and the pool,which was always being cleaned.
The weather was wel in the 80's I was worried it was guna be mild, but the greeks even said it was warm but was only guna get warmer. In the day we just chilled round the pool,where the animation team tried to get us to do various activities like darts, yoga,water aerobics, water basket ball, water polo, and other little activities round the pool and you have to get up for the club dance. We use to have a little walk to the local shops and bars where they always said hello and were nice, theres nothing more refreshing then a mythos,the greek lager, back to digs then dinner at 6:30.
Night entertainment started about 8 with a kids disco with the club dancr again, then a bingo where for 1line was about 40euro and for a full house 120+. Then they have some more entertainment. When we was there,there was greek dancing, elvis,Mr and Mrs(very funny),karaoke,sketches from the animation team. All good if your drunk on the free stuff. Then to round the night up the club dance and other dances, believe me you'll be up they made me and my bloke.
After that head out although in may not all clubs and pubs are open. This doesnt spoil things, bar street is busy, but the people from kelly's,the loft, the underground and qube were the warmest and we made them our regulars and they sorted us out for drinks, They are the closest too. Kelly's was by far the best though with the irish lottery where you get a free drink straight away and karaoke and the christmas do. Even the animation team turned up here. All bars said they are kid friendly as I'm thinkin of coming back next year with my kids who will be 3-4. Also for families there is a family centre across the road I couldn't tell you what it was like as without the kids I had no reason to go in.
Definately go to the waterpark it is great plenty for all the family. While we was at faliraki they were doing a lot of improvements,like planting trees,repaving pavements and putting lights up. We found it a lovely charming place and I can only see it getting better,they were no trouble while we was there. Allthough in season I can imagine it being very busy.
Anyway back to the hotel, all staff work extremely hard and it shows with how clean the place is. As soon as you have finished a meal or drink they take your plate and glass,so if you want seconds keep hold of your plate he he. Food was average,but you get that with all inclusive. They have themed nights which they dont really stick to. If your a fussy eater and just like the basics be prepared for chicken, pork,chips, pasta and pizza. I tried everything it wasn't too bad with my stomach. There homemade icecream is gorgeous,my kids would feel up on that has did my boyfriend. The accomodation and hotel makes up for the food. I am really impressed and am definately thinking of booking for 2010. Try andd get a room in the main block with a pool view. We got given a curtesy room for a shower on the lasr day in the block at the side and this wasn't as nice. If you have a bad flight it will cost you 50euro to keep your room,but they do provide you a curtesy room,but you have to book a 1/2 hr slot that day.

All the best for your holiday,we really enjoyed this holiday and hotel and the people made it the best,hope you enjoy it too.xxxxxx

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tobyyke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
north east
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2009

Just had a fabulous week at the sun palace hotel with our grandsonsand and we would definately recommend this hotel. We could not fault this hotel or the staff who were very attentive and helpful to all guests, especially the animation team who's sole purpose was to make everyones holiday a one to remember, both young and the not so young ones.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nurseNorthEast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Faliraki hotels
0.7 mi away
Blue Sea Beach Resort
Blue Sea Beach Resort
#6 of 72 in Faliraki
4.0 of 5 bubbles 792 reviews
0.6 mi away
Pegasos Beach Hotel
Pegasos Beach Hotel
#3 of 72 in Faliraki
4.0 of 5 bubbles 594 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mitsis Faliraki Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Mitsis Alila Resort & Spa
1.1 mi away
Esperides Beach Family Resort
1.0 mi away
Grecotel Rhodos Royal
Grecotel Rhodos Royal
#9 of 72 in Faliraki
4.0 of 5 bubbles 489 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sun Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sun Palace Hotel

Property: Sun Palace Hotel
Address: Faliraki Road, Faliraki 851 00, Greece
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Rhodes > Faliraki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Faliraki
#9 Family Hotel in Faliraki
#15 Romantic Hotel in Faliraki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sun Palace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 350
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
ACCOMMODATION: Total number of rooms: 322 hotel rooms, bungalows and family rooms. They all feature individually controlled A/C, mini fridge, direct dial telephone, satellite T.V, bath/shower, balcony or patio. RESTAURANTS AND BARS: Snack Bar: Serves a wide choice of home made snacks. Main Bar: Enjoy a great variety of exotic cocktails, long drinks, coffees and cakes. Pool-side Bar: Directly on the pool offering all kinds of cool drinks and exotic cocktails. LEISURE AND SPORT FACILITIES: Large swimming pool, children's pool, sun terraces with umbrellas and sun beds, tennis court, table tennis, children's playground, billiard, backgammon and chess. WATERPARK FACILITIES: Speed Slides Three Lane Multi Slide Open Body Slide Enclosed Body Slide Open Tube Slide Bowl Ride Mini Sidewinder Children's Play Swimming Pool Wave Pool Lazy River OTHER FACILITIES: Reception, foreign exchange, mini market, safe deposit boxes, full excursion programs, car hire, parking area and internet corner. ENTERTAINMENT AND ANIMATION: Various weekly animation programs including Greek and other theme nights. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Bookgreece.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sun Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sun Palace Rhodes
Hotel Sun Palace
Sun Palace Hotel Faliraki, Rhodes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing