We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sun Palace Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Lagonas(Faliraki)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Nefeli(Faliraki)
View Hotel
Orion Hotel(Faliraki)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Maroula Studios(Faliraki)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Billy's Studios(Faliraki)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Artemis(Faliraki)
View Hotel
Stamos Hotel(Faliraki)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,713)
Filter reviews
1,713 results
Traveler rating
832
517
256
68
40
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
832
517
256
68
40
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswater parkwave poolsplash worldfirst choicepizzalife guardssnack baranimation teamlazy rivernext yearmain poolentertainment stagemexican nightgreat holidayfamily rooma la carte restaurantwater volleyball
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
944 - 949 of 1,713 reviews
Reviewed October 30, 2012

I sit in the lobby of the hotel on my last day to write this. I have to say the hotel and it's staff are great it is a very clean place to stay and the food is well cooked, plentiful and varied. All in all great, shame we can't say the same about the town a real dump, dirty and shabby it is old and worn out. Would stay at this hotel again if only it could be moved. We had one issue with the hotel, we stayed at the same time as can only be described as a amily from hell who ruined the early part of our say and the issue with the hotel was thief inability or reluctance to deal with it. However they did eventually and thins were much better if only they had done it earlier .
As far as fully inclusives go this has been very good, can't fault it. Shame about the town and kids from hell

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank paulyjh50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2012

Not long back from a lovely 2 week holiday to Sun Palace & how we wish we were still there!
Good points
1. Pretty quick transfer, quick check in and English receptionist.
2. Food was great! We dont get all the other bad reviews on here - if u dont like fresh, healthy (not repetitive) food dont go here. We had chicken breast, grilled courgettes/peppers, halloumi cheese, thai beef curry, stroganoff, moussaka, spicy wedges, cauliflower cheese, rice, potatoes etc - spoilt for choice. Full english breakfast, croissants, fruit. We were constantly full for 2 weeks!
3. Water park was brilliant, great big slides, lazy river, wave pool, childrens slides/water area. Snack bar served fresh home made pizza, hotdogs, chips, fruit, salad, ice cream, drinks everyday :-) Life guards are friendly & great at their jobs (may not be same staff next year)
4. Drinks - cocktail bar was lovely (Andreas does a mean strawberry daiquiri & calypso coffee) Help yourself to all hot and soft drinks so no queuing! (Beer wasnt great though)
5. Entertainment was good - some of the sing-along songs got a bit annoying after 2 weeks but all good fun when youve had a few drinks! Comedy sketches/Water activities by the entertainment staff, greek night, Beatles & Drifters tribute bands which were brilliant! Bingo most nights.
6. Staff - all the staff were so friendly and couldnt do more for you. Especially as we had a 10 month old... First Choice reps were all brilliant, very good from airport transfer to hotel rep Rachel.
7. Location - short walk to bars, shops and beach. Recommend the sofa (large dingy) for some water sports!
8. Cleaners - come in everyday to change towels & make beds. Changed bedding every other day - cant complain there!
9. Complimentary room to get showered and changed as we had to be out of our room at 12pm and didnt leave till 9pm - so no need to pay for late check out.
10. The weather was gorgeous considering it was 6-20 October! :)
Bad points
1. €20 per week for a safe! We didnt bother getting one, reception kept our passports anyway.
2. Flies in the restaurant were irritating but theres not much that can be done about that.
3. Rooms - our room was in the main block looking out onto the pool. These are the old rooms and are quite small for a family - and also pretty noisy until Midnight. If you can - book a room by the water park as they are new and bigger!

Overall we had an amazing holiday and didnt want to come home. The waterpark was the highlight for us as it made the holiday more exciting. Make sure u have access to this as we heard that Thomas Cook use it as a selling point but its only First Choice customers that can use it.

Enjoy your holiday! We certainly did.

Room Tip: Rooms by the waterpark are new and less noisy.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank shells14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2012

Disappointments:
Lunch/dinner bouffet choices very limited
Roast chicken too salty to eat
Alcoholic drinks very poor - no sparkling wine (unlike equivalent hotels in Canaries)
Restaurant full of flies - landing on the buffet food
A la carte restaurant mediocre
Live rat found in one of our bedrooms
Smoking allowed in all outside areas (this is normal, but still a bugbear for me)
Waterpark cafe full of wasps
Not good value for money - most expensive all-inclusive holiday ever!
Safe costs $30 per week
TV Channel choices mostly German - CNN and BBC World only English channels available
Shop shelves look half empty (austerity, anyone?)
Very few shaded areas in and around the pool

Highlights:
All staff extremely professional, helpful and accepting, especially of high-spirited children
Excellent air con and fridge in bedroom (fridge was needed for the sparkling wine I ended up buying locally)
Shop opening hours good
Resident artist is excellent - his drawings are good value for money
Sahara car hire in reception - excellent - $60 for 3 days
Animation team - very lively, high level of energy (not our cup of tea but provided acceptable evening entertainment)
Waterpark was hours of fun for the kids - husband and I found some of the rides quite sore
Location good - 10 min into Faliraki, 5 min walk across the road to the beach (great for swimming and snorkelling)
Waterpark snackbar good place to sit in the shade and eat snakes (waterpark has best snack food)
PCs/Internet available - 1 Euro for 16 mins - relatively good value
Hotel only has 1st and 2nd floors, and balconies secure
Staff efficient in dealing with rat situation and relocating us to another bedroom
Hotel clean
Beds comfy - nice soft cotton sheets
Front bedrooms nice and quiet - back bedrooms noisy till late
Restaurant staff made good effort to help with gluten free diet for member of our party with Coeliac disease

In summary: If this had been our first experience of all-inclusive and it had cost half of what it did, we would probably have been delighted (aside from the rat). But, as it is, it has put me off going all-inclusive in Greece. I'll stick to the Canaries - food and drink far superior in our experience.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front of the main hotel building are quieter than the back
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karen A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2012

just got home after 10 days that ill allways remember. weve been on lots of all inclusive holidays but this one was the best. Booking in ... receptionist was very fast and helpful with everything very pleasent with good english . Our room ... we was pleased with our room it was clean bed a bit uncomfortable but no bed is like your own, needed minor tidying up around the bath ect , we was in room 103 which was just behind the stage which was a little noisey but it didnt matter to us cos we was out every night watching the entertainment, the cleaner came in every day to do the beds top up the loo roll and left us clean towels every day. The food ...was nice it wasnt gormet by no means but there was something decent to eat every meal time the best AI ive been to, the staff in the resturant was really nice there was nothing that they wouldnt do for you. we went to the al e carte one night that was really nice, the drinks was also good lager was a bit dodgy but all the spirits did the job. Entertainment team well what a job they did they really made our holiday so a big thanks to them , they had me crying with laughter on at least 3 occasions, they all did so well and worked all day doing different activaties, the kids club was also a welcome break for us the kids was welcomed as soon as we arrived and they loved it. Water park was good the kids loved it ,it was extremley clean with a lovely snack bar serving pizza hot dogs burgers chips sandwiches all that stuff and was really nice. overall this is a nice place to stay your not to far from the beach shops ect, really enjoyed this holiday so a big thankyou to ALL the staff at sun palace.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank suzzanne h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2012

Stayed here for two weeks in October as a family with two children on our first All Inclusive Holiday. We really enjoyed the holiday!!

ROOMS: We had a family room in the new block, there were very spacious, two seperate sleeping areas with a bathroom section in the middle and a sliding door so you could make two bedrooms, rooms were cleaned every single day. Good sized balcony although we only used it for drying towels etc!! We saw one of the older rooms and I am glad we had the newer block as the others do look a little dated. Only one complaint about the rooms which was that the kids sleeping area was next to the door and there was nothing on the door to stop them from opening it and getting out, so at night we had to barricade the door with our pushchair and whatever else we had to make sure they couldnt get out. Other families we spoke to had similar problems with kids escaping, the doors could do with a small bolt or catch on for parents peace of mind.

HOTEL: Generally very impressed, kept very clean at all times and the staff could not do enough for you I have never been anywhere where they were so friendly. The waiting staff in the dining room were quick to clear plates and loved the kids, Andreas the cocktail barman was lovely and remembered what you liked to drink so it would be ready when you got to the bar, the staff really contributed to how good our holiday was. I do agree with other reviewers about the main toilets, the glass doors and having no locks on them makes them uncomfortable to use. Reception were helpful when we needed some information about local hospitals / doctors and arranged taxis for us when we needed them.

ENTERTAINMENT: Could not fault this!! The team work so hard six days a week, they are at the main pool throughout the day with plenty to do, our eldest son loved Jodies Junior activities and it gave us a bit of time to relax whilst he was busy! It got to the point where he did not want to go up to the waterpark incase he missed something!! Evenings shows were really good, Auriel was very funny and always put on a good show. Both kids enjoyed the mini disco which was spoiled only by the ridiculous amounts of kids with laser pens shining them onto the stage and at kids and members of the entertainment team, the hotel shop should really stop selling these.

FOOD: Generally very good although could have been a little hotter. Breakfast had a good choice, lunch was good as every day there was a chef making fresh omlettes, dinner was good but sometimes the choices were a bit mismatched, we never went hungry though! Breakfast in the water park was again good, lunch there was the best food we had, homemade gyros, souvlaki and gorgeous pizzas. One gripe I had with the food was that kids were allowed by some parents to help themselves, this was a problem especially with the ice cream as the kids did not clean the scoop and mixed the tubs up to the point where you couldnt get a scoop of vanilla as it was full of other flavours. I also saw kids picking up pizza slices withe their fingers and the putting them back.

WATERPARK: The main reason we booked this hotel. Lifeguards were great, again friendly with the kids, the lady who looked after the splash pool would come over and play with the little ones. All lifeguards were stern if kids misbehaved but other than that were pretty laid back which was good. All the slides were great and there was a good selection for all ages. Lazy river was my favorite. I would reccommend taking pool shoes for the kids as the wave pool was really slippy.

SURROUNDING AREA: Faliraki beach is lovely for the kids and 5 mins walk from the hotel. The hotel itself is in a bit of a run down part of town which on the first day put us off but you soon find nicer parts. King Arthurs Bar down the road is good for sports on tv and they were brill with the kids, free drinks snacks etc. We did the boat trip to Lindos which was well worth it and also took a taxi up to Kalithea Springs which was gorgeous. Sophias Travel over the road are much better priced than the Reps trips.

Would come back here tomorrow if First Choice hadnt whacked the prices up so much for next year!!!!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KieransMum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews