We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Mitsis Alila Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Rodos Palladium(Kallithea)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Esperos Mare(Faliraki)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,779)
Filter reviews
1,779 results
Traveler rating
1,429
226
90
25
9
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,429
226
90
25
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewschampagne barbeach barburger barmain restaurantpittapita cornernight barbeautiful hotelblue domesa la carte restaurantspizza ovensea viewgreek restaurantcold towelsprivate poolnext yearasian sushi
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
931 - 936 of 1,779 reviews
Reviewed October 21, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the Alila for a week at the beginning of October as a couple. On arrival we were so impressed with the hotel and room we were given but unfortunately it did go down hill from then on. The other couple who came off the bus was told that there was no a room available for them for 3 days as there was a large party of Russians/polish, this seemed to be the case for many English guests so we did counted our lucky stars!!! We have been to 4 other Mitsis hotels and have loved them all but we certainly felt the British were not really wanted in this hotel. There was a HUGE work conference that overtook the hotel (Russians and Polish) in the week we were there we saw the restaurant times changed to accomadate them, one day they overtook the outside of the hotel with different team building games one of which was in front of the children's playground and they were making sexual positions!!! They also partied until 4 mist nights which talking to other guests we know caused many sleepless nights for others and calls to reception complaining....they had no respect for other guests in restaurants, bars or other areas just pushed, shouted and did exactly what they wanted!!..enough about them other negatives on this hotel was the pools were like ice water no one swam in them but was not allowed the indoor pool???? The champagne bar had run out of champagne way before we arrived and never got any!!, the layout of the hotel is a little bizarre....on entry there is the reception, main restaurant, indoor bar and outdoor bar but on this level there are no toilets you have to go down a level via stairs/lift very strange!! We saw no sign of daytime entrertainment and only has 2 nights of evening entertainment (both very good)
On a positive note the food in all restaurants was lovely but the staff were the main positive to the hotel we found them all friendly with smiles....the bar staff were fantastic and worked very very hard!!! Yannis,aussieman, gay boy and coffee boy we miss you....thank you for the laughs you are all brilliant!
So overall as someone who has been to Mitsis hotels I'm sorry to say this has been the worst one. It's not the staff or even the hotel it's who was there at the time, certainly unfair to the normal guests (esp if you had children!!) and after chatting to other guests this was certainly a lot of people's thoughts. Would love to know Mitsis view on this.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
6  Thank sammywhizz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2013

My wife and I have visited Mitsis hotels five times now and have recommended to friends who have also been. We first visited Alila in June 2013. We had a fantastic time and met lovely people and fabulous staff. We were so impressed that we decided to go back in October. This is the first time we have ever returned to any hotel - that's how much we enjoyed it.

We were shocked and disappointed at what we found upon our return.

Staff have been cut back to the bone. The staff that remained worked so hard and were so respectful and polite. However, we both got the impression that they were overworked and tired.

I arranged to meet the manager to discuss my observations. He failed to turn up. It is quite obvious that management do not value the wonderful staff that are hotel's greatest asset.

We expected the hotel to have a large number of Russian guests, but in addition to this, there were approximately three hundred Polish guests, who sang, shouted, got drunk, smashed glasses until 0430 in the morning. We had to contact security, as we could not sleep. This is not what we expect from a five star resort.

We feel that Mitsis does not value British custom and as a result, we will not be returning to any of their hotels.

Many thanks to wonderful staff, so sorry we won't be returning.

Room Tip: Book a sea view room or don't be disappointed when you aren't allocated one!
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank lynnandtonyCarlisle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2013

You walk into this hotel and it does look stunning and new however the poor service really let's it down!
We arrived on our first night to be told that there wasn't a room for us. Being nearly 5 months pregnant it didn't go down too well at all! We spoke to the manager and they told us there's nothing they can do and that we should go and enjoy our holiday, which I found very rude. We were the 5th couple that day who were all English and arrived with no room. It didn't matter what travel agent you used to book it was just the fact that we were all English. The reception manager Anna told us that they have a contract with a Russian travel agent and they have to give them every spare room over any other travel agent even if they booked yesterday! This is so wrong! We were offered a room in faleraki but we refused as I didn't want to be travelling back to alila every time I wanted food/ drink! Also they wanted to take you in a battered,dirty corsa that I doubt was insured as it wouldn't pass a mot- we didn't want to be driven in this car each time we wanted to go to our room. After 2 hours of discussions we got nowhere and took up their offer of a room in the hotel next door. It was ok but nothing that compared to alila and had damp smelling carpet in the rooms. We still had to walk back to alila each time we wanted to eat or drink, it's not fun in the heat let alone being pregnant.
The food in alila is nice and there is lots of variety however we went to the mitsis blue domes last year and there was so much more to choose from- I would reccomend blue domes!
The Russians over rule this hotel and are rude, they don't know how to que and push in front of you. The weather was very hot and lovely everyday but the staff told us it rained up until the day before we arrived and there has been a tornado since the day we left so we were very lucky.
The pools were freezing and that's not an exaggeration I mean like ice! Everyone swam in the sea.
I would not recommend this hotel for any English person!

Room Tip: Rooms are lovely
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank kmoss12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2013

This was our first package holiday in 10 years and with a young family, aged 3 and 5, we were attracted by the kids club, the mini pool with slide and the mini disco entertainment on an evening for our kids. After all, it's their holiday too. As other reviewers have said, the hotel is pristine. It is beautifully designed and our room was clean, spacious and worked well for our family having a door we could pull across to create a separate sleeping space for the children.
But...beneath the hotel's glossy exterior, was the feeling that young children were treated as second class citizens. The staff attitudes were split. Some obviously adored children while others, some of the waiters, were prone to disapproving scowls. On the first night the kids ran over to the entertainer to dance to his songs. They were dancing like toddlers do, not smooching to his crooning tunes. But did that warrant him to say: "Why don't you go play at the bottom of the pool kids?" over his microphone. On another occasion, the children were sitting on the immaculate sofas in the lobby. Their legs didn't quite stretch to the end of the seat. The security guard said: "Take your shoes off. No shoes," to them. (Another time, my husband was waiting for us and lay his head on the sofa arm and was told: "You cannot lie here, it is not a bed.")
We soon discovered the kids club had an open door policy with no sign in/or out procedure whch wasn't explained fully at the beginning. I looked up to find my youngest clambering over two rocks to get to the beach as i didn't realise they'd let her out of the club. The mini club disco was in a little theatre behind the hotel bins and was cancelled twice at no notice and on another evening moved to the beach shack and delayed by 35 mins while the waiter could be tracked down to open it up. When you're 3 and have been looking forward to the disco all evening it's a big deal when it's cancelled or having to wait half an hour when you don't know what's happening. When I complained I was met with a resigned stare. I suggested perhaps a board at reception to update guests about cancelled activities. 'Yes, that would be good' replied the manager, who was clearly uninterested. We later learned the kids DJ was needed to host a party for some Russians. These things are probably no big deal if you don't have kids. But why bother marketing yourself to families if you don't really want them to come? The Greeks usually love children so I was really disappointed. I used to be a travel writer for seven years and I've stayed in many 5 star hotels. The best ones treat all their guests with the same respect.
Other points include:
Good -
Food - good choice and good standard
Rooms - Clean, beautifully decorated, family rooms work well
Views - stunning

Bad
Like most others, our shower leaked too
Having to pay extra to use the indoor pool - the outdoor pool was freezing
Tiny sized cups of water at the beach bar leading to repeated trips
Entertainment - would have enjoyed more free sports classes
Should be free Wi-fi
Service - every day I had to find a waiter to ask for a coffee or a drink with lunch
Hotel sometimes felt stingy - had to ring up for an extra bottle of water for the room and was told I could only have one which goes against the all inclusive ethos. Also the way the dressing gowns disappeared the day before we left, like we'd have bundled them into our suitcases if they hadn't.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Lins44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2013

My wife & I have recently returned from a fortnight's holiday at the Mitsis Alila in Rhodes. 5 star hotels don't always live up to our expectations however this could not be said of the Mitsis Alila. The second you walk in you know it's going to be fabulous. You certainly get that wow factor!
This is one of the best hotels we have ever stayed in. The staff cant do enough for you. Without exception, every member of staff was very polite and attentive. The hotel itself is very new, opening in May of this year. As you would expect, the place is immaculate. The white & silver theme throughout the hotel works very well. There are 6 a-la-carte restaurants 3 of which you have to book. You can do this up to 48 hours in advance but places go very quickly. The Asian restaurant was our favourite. There is also a buffet restaurant which serves breakfast, lunch & dinner. The food quality & choice was of a very high standard. We loved the Champaign bar & the wine bar. its a nice touch. Guys be warned, its long trousers in the evening dining areas. A few guys had not read this before packing their cases and had to survive on the one pair of trousers for their whole stay. We quite liked this as it encouraged everyone to get dressed up a little instead of the usual shorts & t-shirts. The entertainment was also very good with a different professional act coming in every night although one or two were repeated in the second week. The sea on this side of the island is very calm & inviting. Although the pool is lovely its great to swim in the sea when you get the chance. It's a shingle beach so can be a little rough under foot so would recommend suitable foot protection. There are separate pool & play areas for the children & the animation team keep them reasonably well entertained by all accounts. Rhodes old town is worth a visit. We also hired a car & went around the whole island in a day taking in Lindos & some small towns & villages along the way. Its a beautiful island! Overall we had a wonderful holiday & would love to do it all over again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank CookinWiGaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews