We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel with hard working staff = fantastic holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mitsis Alila Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 72 Hotels in Faliraki
Certificate of Excellence
yorks
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great hotel with hard working staff = fantastic holiday”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2013

We only booked 2.5 weeks before on a special introductory price which was hard to beat.

A twin room and a double to accommodate our family needs they were beautiful rooms. Rooms next to each other with plenty of space and sea view.

Nothing was too much trouble by all the staff from finding us a table with little notice to giving more toiletries.

Kids club great at entertaining the children offering face painting, cooking and dance routines etc.

Mexican was a hit and Asian resturants

We would definitely recommend this hotel

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bridg13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,385 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,110
    173
    71
    25
    6
See reviews for
576
534
7
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (320)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2013

Stayed in Mitsis Alila for 1 week and was very impressed. Hotel is new, very clean and great location right on beach. Kids pool has a few slides which kids loved. No issues with getting a sunbed, plenty of them and no need to get up at 6am to bag your space! Hotel full of Russians but hotel catered for all nationalities.

Main buffet restaurant has great breakfast but dinner buffet can be a bit same same after a few days but no need to worry as you can book in advance for the hotels restaurants, (Greek, Italian and Asian). Tried them all and food was outstanding. (Especially the Italian). There are also some smaller restaurants you don't need to book like Mexican, creperie, burger and tapas style. Tried all and can highly recommend!

Entertainment team work very hard with aqua aerobics, dancing, volleyball, kids discos, etc etc Evening entertainment is not the liveliest but staff do their best to entertain. Falriaki water park is a 5 euro taxi journey away and worth a visit. Rhodes town is a 15 euro taxi journey away. Very busy and touristy but worth a look.

Water sports are available on beach at hotel. Would recommend having a chat with kosta there and going out on the banana safari. Great fun for kids of all ages.

Having travelled extensively worldwide, I can honestly say that this hotel is worthy of its 5 star rating! Don't normally travel to same location twice but I will definitely put this on my short list for future vacations.

Enjoy!!!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Enyanour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gb
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2013

We really wanted to like this hotel, but some things are just a little off and it's difficult at the moment to say this is anywhere near a 5 star resort. If you like a busy all inclusive experience it's not bad, we had a decent break, but it's not perfect.

Some of the staff are fantastic, we had plenty of positive experiences, but there were a few bad ones too. One member of staff who I won't name really upset my wife and she's normally very placid and easygoing.

If you want a drink at the pool it's a right pain to get one, there's no waiter service and the beach bar is a fair trek 9beach bar isn't big enough to cope in my view, not enough staff). They either need to stick a pool bar in or get pool waiters immediately because it's a huge issue if you just want to laze on a bed. Not only that, the beach bar uses tiny plastic cups which are a complete waste of time. It felt like penny pinching especially as half your cup will be ice.

The main pool is a bit small and there are some pools inside and on the upper levels that are rarely used and seem a bit pointless. Somewhere in this the design has taken over from the reality of how guests would use the place. There is also no shallow part to the main pool which is probably deliberate to deter kids but the kids pool is salt water and some people won't like that.

Another slight disappointment is the lack of variation of dishes in the main restaurant. The themed dining books up fast, leaving most people to eat in the main room, but I can hardly recall a change to any of the dishes at breakfast lunch or dinner. I'm not a huge fan of all inclusive mainly for this reason but I stayed at two recently that would put this place to shame. They really need to have a greater variety of food stations and have changes to the menu at least twice a week. The food is on the whole good, some is excellent but the main restaurant is a bit bland on taste choices.

Another irk was the internet, the free connection only works in a small space close to the shops and you'll find loads of teenagers sitting around on couches playing on their phones and laptops (and it's a really slow connection). The main wi-fi is not free and the charges are ridiculous in this day and age. For a 9 night stay from memory you'll be looking at 48 euro. That's just plain mental when you can have as much free champagne as you like but you can't get your email once in a while. Take a lan cable (I didn't) they say you can access the internet via a cable in your room.

One last thing, on the night before we left we noticed they'd not given us any new shampoo and removed the dressing gowns. Whilst I appreciate some guests may take this stuff, for those of us that like to use it and have no intention of stealing your bedroom contents it smacks of being rather distrusting and cheap.

On the plus side our room was clean, towels changed twice per day the mini bar restocked daily and it was kept spotless by housekeeping. The catering team in the main dining room do a great job and there are some excellent staff in some of the specialist restaurants, the creperie and the champagne bar, the waiter in the pita bar deserves a special mention, he's an absolute star.

Lastly, we'd like to mention that we visited the Mitsis Memories hotel near Lindos whilst on a drive around the island. I asked if we could use their pool restroom as we'd been on the beach nearby and were welcomed into their hotel. It's a really peaceful place and we couldn't help thinking we'd booked the wrong resort. The hotel felt friendly & what we saw was clean and well kept and the staff we met were great. A special thank you to Chrissa at the pool for your help.

I don't doubt at some point most of the stuff at the Alila will get fixed, it's on the whole well run and that staff are in the main very good and there are plenty of nice touches. At the moment as much as we liked some things there were too many niggles that took the edge off it. That said, I think we just chose a hotel that was too big and still finding its feet for our tastes.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank eliseGb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2013

brand new hotel with very nice design ,very nice room and nice staff , for eg Vaggelis maniskas from the mexican resaurant , people at the beach bar ....they do their best to make you happy -
But for a five star resort hotel very important things are missing :
- very poor water sport ( no windsurf , ....)
- one tennis court only
- no large pool
- finess center with 2 bicycles and one stepper only !!
-the Spa is very expense for poor service
- no quality show in the evening
- no animation during the day for kids or teens
- food need a lot of improvement but we still have to test some.of them during pur stay
- no concierge to inform you about activity

more to come in one week afer our first 8 days .....if we stay ...

Pascale

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank minoal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2013

We arrived at the hotel after a delayed flight around half 1am. We were warmly welcomed and shown to room 507. After advertising that all rooms are spacious with either a balcony or terrace - (see hotels own website) the room we were allocated was an utter disgrace. The room was very very small with a small window overlooking the main road. NO Garden or sea view as promised! After returning to the receptionist we were advised that nothing could be done as it was the middle of the night. He also made a remark that we had been given this room as we are on a 'cheap deal' which was very insulting and did nothing to lift our disappointment. We may well have booked a late deal but literature clearly stated all rooms have balcony/terrace. He advised us to come back at 10am the next day to talk it over with his manager. On returning to the room we reluctantly went to bed only to find that the traffic noise from the main road was extremely noisy. We tried to close the window, only to find that it was actually broken. This attempt also resulted in one cut finger! We tried to sleep but it was so loud that I decided to go back to reception. When challenged about this problem, the receptionist replied, "ah yes, room 507, there is a problem with the window in that room, you need to ask us when you want the window open or closed".  Eh what!!!!!! So the time is now nearly 3am and a maintenance man comes up to the room with his tools to close the window! To be honest, the noise is still bad. The room is also permanently illuminated through the night from the front of the hotel.  In the morning I went to see the manageress who although polite just kept saying you are on a cheap deal so basically deal with it. We later find out she is not the manager but the lady in charge of reservations.  She is called Anna. After referring to the hotel web site which indicates all rooms have a balcony or terrace, her response 'yes but we have to market the hotel in the best possible way!!' I asked if she thought it was fair to sell the hotel under the pretence of all rooms having balcony/terrace. Her response, 'you are on a cheap deal." She explains that she will let me know by the evening if she can relocate us. Having heard nothing by the next morning, I pay another visit to Anna at the reception desk. She appeared annoyed and abrupt and tells me she will tell me if a room becomes available. I didn't return as it dawned on me that she really didn't care that the hotel had ruined our stay and she really wasn't going to help. So we have spent a week in a very small room, with no air (we really couldn't be bothered to ask for assistance every time we needed to open window and thought this was totally unacceptable), wet clothes as nowhere to dry swim suits or towels, and very little sleep due to traffic noise. Mysteriously, somebody did come into our room whilst we were at dinner on the second night and put up a black out curtain. Ironically enough, the light issue was one thing we didn't complain about! The room had the thinnest curtains available! Another negative about these rooms are that they are right next to the cleaning cupboards or maintenance lifts. On numerous occasions, usually around 7am we would be awoken by noise and loud voices coming from this area from cleaning staff.  Our advice? Lovely hotel but be very prepared to have your whole holiday ruined by deceptive marketing and no real care shown towards their hotel guests. After reading previous reviews we were really looking forward to this hotel stay. We have returned very disappointed, extremely tired and not feeling very relaxed at all. 

On a plus side (and the only reason I haven't given this the lowest of ratings) is the staff at this hotel. They are incredibly hard working and will do anything to make sure you are having a good holiday. In particular, the bar staff at beach bar, the poor guy in the hot pizza oven and the restaurant staff. The exception to this was some of the reception staff  and the reservation manager. They could maybe learn a few things from their colleagues when it comes to customer relations! 

To the management, you do have a beautiful hotel. Please reconsider looking at the website, providing the correct information to your guests at time of booking and also improving communication between yourselves and tour operators. You should make it explicit which room guests could potentially get. If not you can ruin holidays. 

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
23 Thank GeordieTraveller2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2013

We stayed in july and absolutely loved the hotel, very clean, top service from the staff. The quality of the rooms and decor was fabulous. Really comfortable beds. The room fridge was refilled every day with soft drinks and beers and for free of charge. We had a lovely room with fabulous views from the balcony.Entertainment was very good every evening. 7 restaurants.Fantastic good service from the waiters especielly Mr Stamatis,( Stamos )very professional guy ,top service every second. The beach is amazing, complete with lovely sun beds, umbrella and table and every evening the beach is cleaned and all the beds are all positioned ready for the next day.We had a fantastic holiday and we would return there anytime,maybe next year.We would recommend this hotel highly, definitely a 5 star hotel, we will definitely return.

From Family Jensen. :-)

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 467Jan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2013

Fur coat and no knickers isnt meant as a bad review !!!! just abit of imput .... This hotel is amazing , decor and furniture truly lovely !!! very clean and amazing staff .... stamos and the chap behind the top bar with glasses .... sorry forgot how too say ur name and waitress betty and another girl whose name i cant prononce , every1 was pleasant helpful and always smiling,
Just a few things ..... more suggestions than complaints ..... SO MUCH WASTED SPACE ...... there is a lovely pool on the top floor near the all day bar .... what a bloody waste ... this pool is just for decor , this pool would be great as a adults only pool right near a bar and in a chill out area , they have 2 pools one for children and the other one for adults which usually as little children hanging around the steps (nothing against children had 3 of my own) , u need to get out by steps as the pool is same depth all over which being 5ft 6 at to stand on tip toes no way u can pull urself out, need a pool for a quick dip!!!! also whats with hardly any toilets , top bar no toilet all day bar no toilets, 2 flights of stairs too toilet... not good wen drinking , and maybe another bar on all that wasted grass, save on the queues at beach bar , and also the all day bar entertainment at night please , so you have a choice of two and not one where you have to fight or get there early for a seat, rant over , would defo go again if abit of change happened !!!! also food good but not much change day to day .....

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 1happyp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Faliraki
2.3 mi away
Mitsis Faliraki Beach Hotel
4.1 mi away
Atrium Platinum Hotel
Atrium Platinum Hotel
#4 of 129 in Rhodes Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,390 reviews
0.1 mi away
Elysium Resort & Spa
Elysium Resort & Spa
#1 of 15 in Kallithea
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,484 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Rodos Palladium
Rodos Palladium
#3 of 15 in Kallithea
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,321 reviews
25.7 mi away
Princess Andriana Resort & Spa
1.3 mi away
Pegasos Beach Hotel
Pegasos Beach Hotel
#3 of 72 in Faliraki
4.0 of 5 bubbles 594 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mitsis Alila Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mitsis Alila Resort & Spa

Property: Mitsis Alila Resort & Spa
Address: 8th Km Rhodes Faliraki, Faliraki 851 05, Greece
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Rhodes > Faliraki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Faliraki
#1 Family Hotel in Faliraki
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Faliraki
#1 Spa Hotel in Faliraki
#2 Romantic Hotel in Faliraki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Mitsis Alila Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 314
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
He largest privately owned hotel chain in Greece, Mitsis Hotels is proud to announce the entry of MITSIS ALILA EXCLUSIVE RESORT and SPA on May 2013. ALILA EXCLUSIVE RESORT and SPA offers true 5 star services on one of Greece s most popular islands, Rhodes. Rhodes (ro-dos in Greek) is the jewel in the Dodecanese crown. It combines all that is needed in a holiday island: beaches, nightlife, culture, scenery, greenery and comfort. Our approach is life style oriented, modern and fresh. We aspire to values such as genuine Mediterranean hospitality, an authentic Greek isle experience and exceptional cuisine focus on Mediterranean, International and Asian traditions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Bookgreece.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mitsis Alila Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mitsis Alila Resort & Spa Faliraki, Rhodes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing