We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Jewel in the Crown”
Review of Nakellis

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Petra
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Nakellis
Ranked #5 of 13 Hotels in Petra
Reviewed July 2, 2012

Greetings, I have just returned from Lesbos were we stayed in Petra for the first time in 14 years.
We have been going to this Jewel in the crown for 14 years & are never let down. The Nakellis is run by a greek family who look after the propery & the gardens with love & care.
We spent 3 weeks & had a brill holiday. I cannot recommend it highly enough both the Nakellis & Lesbos in general.
Having travelled extensively around the world, i always look forward to my time in Lesbos.

Please bear with me while i have a rant for a moment.
Thomson holidays (thursday flights) pulled out of Lesbos this year leaving about 10,000 people per season trying to get onto the only 2 flighs left per week. The result is that these 10,000 people have joined the other 10,000 who fly with Thomas Cook (saturday flights). This great demand has made it almost impossible to get to Lesbos from the UK. I have had to book 12 months in advance in order to get to Lesbos next year. Thomson Holidays have tried to get Lesbos to go all-inclusive but it won't have it, so they pulled out. This has meant a loss of some 20,000,000 euros per season. The island is suffering as a consequence with lots of empty studios & hotels. We are praying that some company takes up the demand for this jewel & we can get there a lot easier. (If you clik on the T.Cook sight it jumps to 2013 as Lesbos is sold out for 2012 such is the demand).
Thank You for listening to this story. You can climb Everest but it is harder to get to Lesbos.
Peace & Love
Paulo.

Room Tip: Top floor pool view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank paulo66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (76)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

57 - 63 of 76 reviews

Reviewed January 29, 2012

went to lesvos in July 2011 and had a wonderful time. from the moment we arrived and had a mythos in reception to the last day and another beer in reception. This is family run accommodation and the owner, wife and daughters cant do enough for you. the pool is reaxing and we had it to ourselves a couple of days. plenty of sunbeds and only a short walk to the tavernas and bars. If traditional greece is what you are looking for this is your place. We visit a different island each year and have seen some lovley places but here will always have a place in our hearts. We would go back tomorrow but still a couple of islands left to see, this year we have booked to go to Samos but really wanted to come back here. please try the womens institute restaurant above the coffee bar on the front- the food is amazing. there is a nice/small english bar and the owners are so lovely. everyone here was so helpful and will stop and talk to you. you have to try it , you wont regret it.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank reina l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2011

We have just returned from Nakellis, another great holiday, three weeks this time. Niko the owner has improved his English, every year it gets better. The olive trees in his garden, are loaded with olives this season, he will be very busy come November. Each year he seems to make some improvement to make his guests more welcome. The prices at his bar are very competitive with other bars in the village. There are several photos showing, bad light fittings, no paving around the pool area, work top in bad condition, and dirt behind the toilet. I would like to put the records straight. All these photos are now well out of date, light fittings are new, the pool is very nicely paved, ( please view more up to date photos ) work tops are also new, and the bathrooms are kept very clean. I hope this helps, as looking at the bad photos could put people off.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
7  Thank NAKELLIS8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2011

This hotel is perfectly situated off the beaten track, yet is only a short walk to the main square where most of the tavernas are. The rooms are basic but clean exactly what you'd expect from a Greek hotel. The balcony overlooked fruit trees and an olive grove. Previous reviews commented on the donkey although we heard the donkey on occasion it certainly did not disturb us. There were ample sunbeds available at the pool and never any more than 14 people there at any one time. Cold drinks were available if Nakellis wasn't around you could help yourself and pay him later. He was a quiet and reserved man which could be interpreted as standoffish but he definitely was not. Petra itself was beautiful, unspoilt Greece. This is somewhere we would definitely return to.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank BenKid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2011

We have just returned from 2 weeks and will definately return. The pool area is superb - clean, spacious and very generally very quiet with no shortage of sunbeds. The only slight minor downside was when the owner had friends round occasionally and then the chatter could get quite noisy during the day. We were also kept awake a couple of nights (1am) by the late returners drinking on the terrace with the owner. Having said that, on the whole this was a totally relaxing holiday. Yes, the rooms are basic, but clean and good value considering the price. I would recommend taking a dish cloth and small bottle of washing up liquid as these are not provided and expensive to buy locally. Petra itself has a fabulous selection of restaurants. If you are looking for a lively holiday this is not the place, but if you want peace, quiet and relaxation in lovely surrondings, try it!

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank 190791Helen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2011

O.k it is not the ritz, but a quiet haven, away from places that have been spoiled. I think a lot of people forget they are in Greece. The Greek people are more reserved than our younger generation, and it takes a little effort on our part to get to know the owner of the Nakellis. Once you do, you realise, he is as friendly as he can be with his limited knowledge of English. How is your Greek? We are visiting Nakellis for the sixth time this year, no we are not boring people, we do go to other destinations. We will be meeting several friends, who we have met while at Nakellis, in previous years. They too love the place, infact it suits us fine, for the moaners not to return. Keep trying you may find your ideal place in the sun.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
6  Thank NAKELLIS8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2010

Just returned from lesvos stayed at the Nakelis Studios Brilliant.
Met some really lovely people staying at the Nakelis all great fun.
Lovely studios , Great hosts,Brilliant setting, Perfect.
Been all around the world but this was paradise just perfect.
Would recommend to anyone 5*.

PAUL & LOUISE

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank pablo186337
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Petra hotels
1 mi away
Panorama Hotel
Panorama Hotel
#1 of 13 in Petra
185 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ourania Studios
Ourania Studios
#10 of 13 in Petra
109 reviews
0.3 mi away
Theofilos Hotel And Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Blue Sky Hotel
Blue Sky Hotel
#4 of 28 in Petra
153 reviews
0.2 mi away
Niki Studios Seafront
0 mi away
No photo provided
Dimitra
#24 of 28 in Petra
2 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nakellis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nakellis

Address: Petra 81109, Greece
Location: Greece > Northeast Aegean Islands > Lesbos > Petra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Petra
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Nakellis 3.5*
Number of rooms: 281
Also Known As:
Nakellis Hotel Petra
Nakellis Hotel lésbos
Nakellis Petra, Lesbos, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing