We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best home cooked food!”

The Women's Co-Operative
Ranked #1 of 40 Restaurants in Petra
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Dining on a budget, Large groups, Kids, Special occasions, Families with children, Local cuisine, Scenic view
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Cash Only, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Dymchurch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Best home cooked food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2013

We always go into Petra to eat at the Women's Co-Operative, it has the best home cooked Greek food on the island, The beetroot with garlic sauce is to die for. The chicken and lamb dishes are lovely. The staff are very friendly and service is great. Always best to book a table as it dies get very busy.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank ASLucas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

475 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    307
    119
    39
    7
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Worthing, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Overrated”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2013

Nice restaurant with good food but totally overrated there were much better ones in town.
Only outside area was on the balcony where there were only two tables which were in very high demand.
No menu available outside. Not disabled friendly.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Annegc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Level Contributor
149 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Another lovely meal with friendly service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2013

Always a chilled out experience with very friendly staff and excellent. We would always make the effort to have a meal here if we return to Petra.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank TwinknChumb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great local food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2013

Friendly restaurant with good choice of local foods. The quality was excelent and it was reasonably priced

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank suerabbitt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lowestoft, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“am i just unlucky?”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2013

i appreciate many will consider this sacrilege but in three visits i have yet to have a good meal here. really needs to up its game if it is to maintain its reputation. it seems to have a very loyal clientele and also have been one of the better tavernas in the past, but a number of fellow visitors i spoke to who had tried it for the first time thought it rather ordinary... sorry.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank rocdoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Women's Co-Operative also viewed

 

Been to The Women's Co-Operative? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing