We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Ourania Studios
Nearby Hotels
Michaelia Hotel(Petra)(Great Value!)
$37
$36
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Panorama Hotel(Petra)(Great Value!)
$111
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Miramare - Petra(Petra)(Great Value!)
$41
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Internet
$72
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Alma Hotel(Petra)
$77
$72
bedfinder
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sunset Hotel(Petra)(Great Value!)
$47
$45
bedfinder
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$57
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Niki Studios Seafront(Petra)(Great Value!)
$428
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (110)
Filter reviews
110 results
Traveler rating
34
37
20
11
8
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
34
37
20
11
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsplenty of sunbedsfresh towelsrelaxing holidayexcellent chefair consurrounded by fieldsminute walkrural settingprepare foodapartment blockbar and restaurantmain buildinghalf waybig balconyfamily runhome madegreek holiday
Filter
Updating list...
75 - 80 of 110 reviews
Reviewed August 20, 2012 via mobile

This place was fab and petra is beautiful. Having never been we weren't sure what to expect but it was friendly, low key, chilled and there was plenty to do. The town is lovely and it's nice that it caters to tourists but is not dominated by them. The pizza place to the right of the dirt track is amazing! The apartments are basic, like staying in someone's house, but they are fine for what you need! The pool and bar area at lovely and the family really look after you. We loved victor the boxer dog!! Cheaper than I expected and most businesses seemed to be doing well. The fish platter at Zorbas in the covered shopping street was great value and so fresh! 20€ for basically all we could eat and wine. All in all total relaxation and barely a child in sight!

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Bluestoops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2012

We have just returned from the most perfect 3 week holiday in beautiful Petra and could have stayed for 3 more weeks!!! The Ourania Studios are lovely, as are the owners and would definitely be my choice the next time we visit petra. I disagree with previous reviews about Christos being grumpy etc. he was most welcoming at all times to us. Maybe the fact that we try to speak a little Greek helps - just try asking for the bill in Greek and watch him smile from ear to ear! The pool is wonderful, with more than enough sunloungers for the number of rooms. During our second week we were often the only people round the pool - heaven! The taverna is one of the best in Petra and really good value for money - the portions are huge. It was lovely to watch Christos tend to his crops in the surrounding fields and see the change over 3 weeks. The only negative point about the rooms is if you are intending to self cater the facilities are very limited ( just one large ring to cook on and a kettle) and no work tops to prepare food on. As we go on holiday to sample the local cuisine of the tavernas this was not an issue for us.

Petra is a lovely village that has a wonderful local community feel to it. There are lots of excellent tavernas and I can honestly say we never had a bad meal at any of them. Our favourites were Thalassos, Reef, the Women's Co-operative, Zorba's and Malahas. If you like pitta gyros go to To Steki on the square.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank purplenix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2012

This was our second stay at Ourania and, despite the owner's serial grumpiness, feel it deserves its 'excellent' rating. A five minute walk from the beach, restaurants, bars and shops, Ourania's apartments are clean, spacious and well serviced.

The pool area is really nicely laid out, with plenty of sun loungers. The bar / restaurant overlooking the pool serves some of the best food in Petra (the family are amazing cooks) and offers great views of the surrounding countryside.

The overall vibe is a very calm and relaxing one, with most people looking for peace and quiet. The louder, brasher holidaymaker (desperate to let everybody else know they're there every five minutes) should look elsewhere.

The owner, Christos, seems to divide critics. He's miserable, appears to view English guests as something of an inconvenience and has little time for pleasantries. Despite this, the rest of his family can be lovely and all work exceptionally hard to provide a first-class service for guests. One reviewer suggested "buying (Christos) a first night drink" softened him up. I'm pretty sure several drinks wouldn't even get you the faintest hint of a smile.

Our Thomas Cook rep', rarely seen (despite many guests needing reassurance / guidance following a spate of power cuts across the island during our first few nights there), seemed to be under the impression he was chivvying along the new intake at Pontins. After a very early start, very few on the airport coach seemed impressed by his suggestion that we needed to "cheer up". Staying off the microphone would have helped the mood enormously.

One last thing - Fortis, the family's dog, was a star. He even came to wave us off on the last day.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Ross C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2012

We think to tell people to ignore bad reviews is irresponsible,if there were only good reviews there would be no point in this site.Everyone's experience is different and all are valid.We stayed at the Ourania in 2010 and 2011 first time good second time not good .we have been going to Petra since 1993 and have stayed in many properties all good.We love Lesvos and will be back there in August for three weeks cant wait.(This property i s not rated for personal reasons )

Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
6  Thank swanjack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2012

We have just returned from our first time at Ourania studios in Petra. Contrary to some reviews, there is absolutely NOTHING to moan about at these studios! The rooms are a tad on the small side, but there is plenty of storage space, a decent bathroom with plenty of hot water, and something that is important to me..... lovely big comfy pillows!!! The towels were changed twice a week, the bins every other day, and the room was cleaned and mopped twice a week. There was an abundance of insect life around, but after a couple of days with the insect repellant plugged in, we didnt have much of a problem in the room. The upside to being situated in the countryside was the amount of birdlife all around, we had sparrows, house martins, swallows and a couple of doves there all the time.

The pool area was lovely, beautiful countryside views, plenty of sunbeds and parasols, and cleaned every morning by either Christos or Giorgos ( the owner and his son ).

The on-site Taverna was really good, providing breakfasts, snacks and full meals at night, and I do mean FULL meals!!! Make sure you are hungry when you go there!

The owners are NOT rude or grumpy as previously reported. They are just honest, hard working people who do not make a big fuss of you, but are always there if you need anything. All they ask is that guests respect the "House Rules", none of which are unreasonable!! Altogether a beautiful, relaxing place to stay and I would have no hesitation in booking there again.


A BIG HELLO! to the fanily from Wrexham who helped us to find our feet in the first couple of days, and also provided evening entertainment in the Taverna!!!! Also to the nice people who came in on our second week, hope you enjoy the rest of your holiday!


Petra, by the way is an absolute little gem of a place!


Jackie, Earl and David.

Room Tip: lower floor rooms have larger balconies
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JackieLancashire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews