We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great panoramamic views” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Panorama Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Panorama Hotel
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Petra
Certificate of Excellence
Mnachester
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great panoramamic views”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2011

Just returned form this hotel. We enjoyed a very peaceful holiday here in lovely Petra. the hotel was quite a walk from the village shops, the views were amazing as were the sunsets. Hotel breakfast not exciting[continental with not much variation]. Rooms comfortable with hot water each day, rooms cleaned 6days and towels changed twice. We didnt eat in hotel,as so many to choose in Petra[O Nikos and Marina our fav.]The staff are very polite and helpful. Wouldnt return to Lesbos[too many islands are as nice if not nicer]but we did enjoy our week in the sun.Go in Cocos cafe and say hi ....

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mickthegreek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    85
    57
    15
    5
    0
See reviews for
32
90
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
England
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2011

Me and my mum stayed at this wonderfully run hotel for seven nights as a last holiday before my baby arrives. WE had a truely great stay, all facilitated by the lovely owners and family.

The location is perfect, just a few minutes from the beach and the town, which we loved!!. Our favourite pastime was to sit and drink copious amounts of tea with the locals in a fab bar right on the beach, overlooking the sea. Take time to really explore the area as there are some beautiful back streets, with lovely houses and gardens.
Its a special place and I will return one day with my baby!!!

Room Tip: room with a sea view......
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank geru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pontefract, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2011

Our third visit to the beautiful Greek Island of Lesvos. We have stayed in Molyvos before but due to it being the start of the holiday season the choice was limited. The hotel is just out side of Petra about a 10-15 min walk to the Petra square and the area is good for birdwatching and walking.
On arrival we where greeted by the family owners. We found the owners polite, friendly and helpful through out our stay. The hotel is built on a hill side with the reception, restaurant pool and bar at the bottom and all the rooms stepped up above. Our room was on the fourth level and we had lovely views out to sea over Petra and the mountains. The room was very nice and clean and kept clean during our stay. We where staying at the hotel on bed and breakfast basis. Breakfast's are continental and only basic. As for the hotel restaurant we didn't eat in there as we ate out in Petra at the Reef restaurant most nights.
The only negative side to the hotel was the extra cost's they charge. 7 euros per week wi fi accesses, 1 euro per day for a safe key, 3 euros per day for fridge in the room and 5 euros per day for the air conditioning. Yes that's 70 euros a week. The t v in the room had only Greek channels.
We would stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MickWPontefract
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2011

I read extensive Trip Advisor reviews before booking this hotel and chose it because, although mixed, it had better reviews than the other hotels in Petra that still availability at this time. We also travelled with a respected British travel agency to ensure that we were well covered. The extremely steep hill on which the chalet-style accommodation blocks of this 'hotel' are located had been a point of complaint for many Trip Advisor reviewers, and when we arrived we could see that this was no exaggeration. The hill was roughly as 1 in 3 gradient so that it was more like scaling a mountain than a hill! The fact that the extremely surly management refused to help guests drag their heavy suitcases up it made this even worse. Yet we felt it may be worth this initial ordeal for the much-praised views. We were shown to a rather shoddy-looking room near at the top of the slope in which the air-conditoning unit, (for which we had paid a very high extra charge) was not working. The unbelieveably rude and patronising 'manager' (one of two brothers who help run the place with their parents, the other brother being the nice one) refused to believe that the aircon was broken, and treated both us, and the other guests who complained, with contempt, clearly assuming all tourists to be vastly intellectually inferior to himself! It took numerous trips up and down the mountainous 'hill' to try and persuade the aggressive management to come and witness the fact that the aircon unit WAS actually broken and we weren't simply too moronic to operate it! After a mighty battle, we were moved to a room with working aircon, but later discovered, from another, observant guest, that the management were deliberately setting the aircon unit temperatures at a high level and forbidding (!) guests to alter the settings on the remotes, in order to ensure that the units only started cooling the rooms when they reached temperatures above 20-25 degrees celcius, in order to save them the electricity costs! Naturally, the whole reason that British tourists pay for airconditioning when they travel is that they want to sleep in cool rooms, cool meaning BELOW 20 degrees, for those of us whose bodies are acclimatised to temperatures that the Greeks obviously consider to be unreasonably arctic! Um, surely if you run a hotel that caters to guests from cooler climates who have PAID EXTRA to recreate this in their rooms then you shouldn't attempt to bully them when they complain that you are tyrannically attempting to prevent them from accessing this! Unbelievable. Basil Faulty had nothing on this guy! His rudeness and childish tantrums were Oscar-worthy! But yes, the views are nice!!!!!!

  • Stayed September 2010
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank positive34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Faversham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2010

The Panorama was basically very good value for money. My wife &I stayed from the 30th sept to 14th oct .The hotel menue was a bit restricted on our 2nd week,there was only 3 couples in total staying at the hotel.The rooms were very good ,except for the 3Euro a day charge for the fridge,a bit steep I thought .The area of Petra is very interesting ,and the sunsets are quite spectacular.
There are numourous bars restaurants within a 10 minute walk from the hotel,which in my veiw are good value for money.
For what we paid it was a very good holiday.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank remote2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brentwood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2010

This is a great hotel with excellent friendly staff.
Rooms were clean and spacious.
Pool was clean, inviting and had loads of sunbeds with plenty of shade.
Beach is just a couple of minutes walk away.
Town has some good restaurants and is not too busy.
Bar does the best Mojitos in town.

We would definately think about visiting again.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lichfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2010

The arrival at Mitilini airport was amazing within half an hour of landing we had vacated the plane, collected our bags and were on our way to our hotel. We collected our car from bestcar which was also very efficient. Mitlilini is a nightmare to drive through and there are very few sign posts so be careful we got lost in the little back streets so make sure if your driving you print off some directions. It takes about 1 hour and 15 minutes to get to the hotel.
The Panorama hotel is sat on a hillside, for the best view request a room at the top! Its quite a trek up the hill but its worth it. The view over the bay is amazing both day and night. The hotel rooms are fairly large and very very clean, in fact the whole hotel is kept immaculate. The rooms were cleaned everyday except Sunday and the towels and beds were changed every other day. The fridge in the room costs 3 euros a day and the air conditioning costs 5 euros a day so about £100 for both if you stay for two weeks. You cannot pay with any cards at the hotel all payments are to be cash but there are 5 cash machines in Petra so its not a problem. If you need to call home we actually found that mobile calls (we are on orange) worked out the cheapest. The payphones only take cards which can only be bought at the post office which closes at 2pm and cost 4 euros. They don't last very long about 8 minutes!! and a lot less during the day.
If you like to read don't worry about using your baggage allowance with books the hotel has a vast selection to suit all tastes that you can borrow.
Breakfast at the hotel was very basic and was exactly the same every single day! It really did get a bit samey in fact it became a bit of a standing joke with us. We were disappointed that breakfast could only be eaten inside and also finished at 9.30. If fact if you stay half board you have to have your meals inside, you can only eat outside if you have the a la carte. We only ate at the hotel once, after reading the reviews we attended the bbq...it was very very low key and really no choice at all, there was no greek dancing after either....we did not go the next week! The hotel had no entertainment of an evening and was very quite, but with Petra and Molyvos only just down the road it did not matter.
The beach at Petra is lovely there is always somewhere to go if you want peace and quite. We used the beach at the bottom of the road by the hotel. The Coco Taverna opposite was excellent 'free beds wth consumption'! They set up an open bill and bought drinks, lunch snacks to you and you just paid at the end of the day....lovely. The sand here is slightly courser but we found that was ok as it didn't stick to you quite so much. The sea was a little stoney when you first got in but went to lovely soft sand a little way out.
Petra is a charming Greek holiday resort with lots of little cobbled streets too narrow for cars. There are lots of tavernas to eat at along the front but we found if you walk around the cobbled streets you come across some lovely places out of the way. There are no British type pubs or cafes selling English food just lots of traditional foods. You could easily stay here for two weeks and not eat in the same taverna twice. On average a two course meal with wine cost about 35 euros.
Above Petra is a tiny mountain village called Petri where you will find the Achilles Well Taverna....it was by far the best food we had....although all of the meals we had were good. The owners are lovely so warm and friendly, we ate here for our wedding anniversary and they saved us a table gave us wine and made the evening very special.
Molyvos is the next town and is well worth a visit, it has so many different areas to explore and is still going strong well after midnight, but the resort is very low key and there are definitely no lager louts!!! We loved the harbour square the atmosphere was amazing.
We visited the petrified forest it was interesting but we also did the museum at Sigri I think one or the other useless you really do love looking at tree stumps!
We loved Skala Erriosos the beach was very long, and in the evening the tavernas came alive there were lots of places to eat and drink and enjoy the ambience.
All in all we fell in love with Lesvos, it was the perfect place to go if you want to relax and enjoy a real traditional Greek holiday. We will definitely be going back and just pray that the developers leave it alone!!!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Brashers64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Petra
1.7 mi away
Clara Hotel
Clara Hotel
#2 of 13 in Petra
4.5 of 5 bubbles 107 reviews
1.4 mi away
Theofilos Hotel And Apartments
2.7 mi away
Aphrodite Hotel
Aphrodite Hotel
#1 of 12 in Molyvos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.1 mi away
The Kalloni Bay Hotel
The Kalloni Bay Hotel
#3 of 7 in Skala Kallonis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 169 reviews
2.5 mi away
Sunrise Resort Hotel
Sunrise Resort Hotel
#2 of 6 in Eftalou
4.5 of 5 bubbles 168 reviews
0.7 mi away
Alma Hotel
Alma Hotel
#4 of 13 in Petra
4.0 of 5 bubbles 63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Panorama Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Panorama Hotel

Property: Panorama Hotel
Address: Petra, Petra 811 09, Greece
Location: Greece > Northeast Aegean Islands > Lesbos > Petra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Petra
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Petra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Panorama Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Panorama Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Panorama Hotel Petra, Lesbos, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing