We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“awesome little place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Gaia Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Gaia Hotel to your Saves list
Gaia Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Perissa 84700, Greece (Formerly Ira Studios & Apartments)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #38 of 42 Hotels in Perissa
here there everywhere
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“awesome little place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012

ira studios is a family run hotel, very central in perissa, close to the beach and the town centre. (2 min by bicycle or 10 min walk).
the rooms are cute and spacious and clean. they have a little mini kitchen and a fridge, which helps you save some cash, since you can have breakfast and coffee and whatnot at home. (eating out all the time can be pricey).
nikitas, the owner is a super friendly and helpfull guy (he came and let me in, in the middle of the night, even though the hotel doesnt have a 24 hour reception. and he was generally very nice and welcoming.
i totally recommend anyone staying there.

Room Tip: as always, travelling alone is always more expensive than to travel 2 or more, since they never real...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dreadream
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    18
    11
    3
    6
See reviews for
6
25
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012

7-15 min to shopping, food or beachlife. In Perissa it's windy so often it's not to hot when you lay beside the pool. The hostes are very serviceminded and serve drink, beer at the poolbar different times under the Day. Every evening you can join the hostes and other gests at the pool. They clean the rooms every day from monday to friday. Take a canopener and something to stirr with in your luggage. Very nice place.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Helena J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

This hotel is conveniently located behind the Perissa's main street with peaceful and colorful surroundings. And you get real feeling of being in Greece. The family who runs it lives there year round and can not help you enough with whatever it may be. We lived in the 2nd floor with a view straight down to a quiet pool area. We had a studio apartment and did not expect more than what we paid for, but the apartment was certainly much more than that - we paid aprox 50 euros per person for a week on a 2 star hotel and got the same return of what has previously been given as a 3 - (4) star in Greece.

It is close to Perissa's main street where one can visit one of the many bars and restuarants that are lined up down the street all the way to the mountain and then down along the seafront. I recommend taking a visit to the Meltemi bar (main street) - with refreshing drinks made ​​from real ingredients, good music of all kinds - served within a cosy atmosphere.

The hotel may be best suited for the independent tourist, as it is not a typical charter hotel, this is for those who want to live quietly without too much noise from other guests. It's perfect touhg! This is sertently a hidden treasure. Thanks for a great week!

Room Tip: Studio apartment nr 1 (2 floor) with view to the quiet pool area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Joo23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, Dubai, United Arab Emirates
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2012

I do recommend Ira Studios if you want a peaceful and affordable place to stay.... It really feels like home. The owner is so friendly and always there to give what you need. It is not a fancy place but very comfortable place to stay.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank She30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thíra, Kikladhes, Greece
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 29, 2012

i rent my appartment with my girlfriend at the end of the season and really i did not expect to have such a nice place so cheap... the owner is amazing guy and i really die from fun with him he total renovate the hotel and really i enjoy the view and my stay.
swimming pool is huge and very clean and i think they absolutely have already fix also the problem with the water...

i highly recommend ira studios...............

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Drosos A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clare
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2011

There are definately 2 Ire Apartments in Santorini, the Ire in Kamari is where I stayed. The apartments are approximately 20min walk from the centre but it is one of the best 3* self catering I have ever stayed in. Its clean, quiet, great pool, small family run with great personal service. I would definately recommend a stay there and hope to some day go back. Kamari is also a great resort and very unspoilt by tourism.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Luciasha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yorkshire
Level Contributor
65 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2010

Have just returned from a week in Perissa, Santorini staying in the Ira Apartments. Very basic supposed Self Catering apartments. There wasn't even a carving knife to cut bread for a sandwich. This apartment block was in need of a makeover. Staff pleasant and not too far from beach and there was a pool. However, we chose to eat out and spend as little time as possible at the apartment.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dustieYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Perissa hotels

4.5 of 5 stars
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 stars
Show Prices
4 of 5 stars
Show Prices
4 of 5 stars
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Perissa
4.9 mi away
King Thiras Hotel
King Thiras Hotel
#37 of 78 in Fira
4.0 of 5 stars 170 reviews
3.6 mi away
Kalimera Hotel
Kalimera Hotel
#10 of 12 in Akrotiri
4.0 of 5 stars 193 reviews
3.2 mi away
Blue Bay Villas
Blue Bay Villas
#3 of 3 in Monolithos
4.0 of 5 stars 82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Naxos Holidays Hotel
Naxos Holidays Hotel
#119 of 127 in Naxos
3.0 of 5 stars 32 reviews
0.0 mi away
Atlantida Holiday Club
Atlantida Holiday Club
#12 of 13 in Akrotiri
3.5 of 5 stars 42 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hotel Star Santorini
Hotel Star Santorini
#4 of 7 in Megalochori
4.0 of 5 stars 132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gaia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gaia Hotel

Property: Gaia Hotel
Address: Perissa 84700, Greece (Formerly Ira Studios & Apartments)
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Perissa
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 42 Hotels in Perissa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Gaia Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 220
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Gaia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ira Studios And Apartments
Ira Studios & Apartments Hotel Perissa
Ira Studios Apartments Perissa
Gaia Hotel Santorini/Perissa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing