We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value for money”
Review of Villa Clio

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Villa Clio
Ranked #12 of 40 Hotels in Perissa
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good value for money”
Reviewed July 31, 2011

Me and my Greek husband stayed there for a week in June 2011.
The hotel is basic, but has all the necessities - aircon, fridge, always hot water and the room was cleaned everyday.
The breakfast every day- coffee/ tea bread butter and jam.
The owners - polite and helpful, but I believe more towards the foreign guests who could come back again. An example is when I phoned before we arrived and asked if they could pick us up form the airport I was told the hotel did not provide this service, but I only asked because I had read in the reviews that they did provide it and having stayed there for a week I saw they indeed had a taxi service.
Anyway I definitely will recommend this hotel cause it's great value for money, clean, close to the beach, bars and restaurants.

Room Tip: West looking first floor rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kostinche
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    96
    50
    13
    3
    3
See reviews for
29
98
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2011

We stayed in Perissa for a week and this place was just divine. It is not flashy accommodation but we had everything we needed: kitchen, fridge, shower, bed and most importantly air conditioning. There is wi-fi, but it drops in and out of the rooms so you're best off sitting in the lounge and using it there - if you must.

The pool was spotlessly clean everyday and we loved lounging by the pool on the hot days here. Heleni and Adonis were lovely. Heleni cooks up some amazing lunches if you ask her - she is happy to help. Definitely try some Greek Salad and bread - it's really Yummy! There is also beer, wine, soft drinks and water at the B&B so you won't need to go far if you need a snack or drink. This place is great value for money, only a 5 minute walk to the beach and the main beach road in Perissa with great restaurants and shops.

This place may be a bit hard to get to if you decide to take the bus from the Ferry, so make sure you take a map or get directions from Heleni before arriving. Other than that i can't fault this place! Thanks so much for an amazing stay! We will be back..

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janiero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
37 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2011

We chose Villa Clio on the spur of the moment, after staying one night in Oia (and being disappointed by the claustrophobic damp cave accommodation, and the maddening tourist hoardes!). So when we got off the bus and walked into Villa Clio we felt a wave of relief! The surroundings were simply beautiful, and we felt like we had found the real Santorini. Villa Clio feels like its in the middle of nowhere, but really it's only a 10 minute pleasant stroll to Perissa beach (the best beach on Santorini), and an endless row of (really good value) restaurants. There's also a couple of supermarkets in Perissa. Its a very safe area too.

We paid 40 euros per night for a studio. There was a little kitchenette in the room with a bar fridge and you could easily cook for yourself if you wanted to. The furniture was tasteful and looked reasonably new. Bed was comfy. The balcony was quite big and had great views towards the cliffs, and around the surrounding rural scenery. Great for a drink in the evenings. The bathroom was fine, the only strange thing was the shower curtain ended about 60cm from the floor so getting water everywhere was inevitable, but hey you're in Greece and it's hot so it dries up in no time. The shower head was traditional greek style in that there was no hook for it and you must hold it up for yourself (or if you have a very nice partner, bribe them to hold it for you!!!). I wouldn't let that put you off staying here though. There was airconditioning for the hot nights and it was really quiet at night.

The pool area is quite probably the highlight of this place. It is beautiful, and kept immaculately clean, and there are plenty of lounges and umbrellas. The environment is very relaxed, and the lovely elderly owners, Heleni and her husband Adonis were always nearby, chatting to guests, and bringing drinks and snacks if asked. They really were the most thoughtful couple, and we felt like we were treated as family.

If you want to experience true Greek hospitality, and have a REAL relaxing holiday without sharing it with a million other tourists (as it seems you do in Fira and Oia), I would not hesitate in recommending Villa Clio. You will find time to relax, soak up the atmosphere, and be looked after like family, and in my opinion, that is what a real holiday is about - not 'Made in China' souvenirs and tourist traps. Of course you can't visit Santorini without visiting Fira and Oia - we hired a quad bike to visit them and take our token photos, but coming back to Villa Clio felt like home, and we felt like family there, not one of the ripped-off tourist masses in Fira and Oia.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PumpernickelPickle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2011

This is the second time we've stayed at this hotel and if we ever come back to Perissa it won't be the last! The owners treated us like family and are so attentive ensuring we had a relaxed time. We went as part of a larger wedding party which included children and they couldn't do more to ensure everyone was comfortable during their stay.

The hotel itself is fantastic value for money, the rooms are spacious and clean with their own balcony (recommend you try and get one overlooking the pool!). I've stayed in some impressive hotels but never a hotel that is so clean, the rooms are cleaned every day and even the beds made. You can also ask for air conditioning if you need it and although we never did, a couple of other people did and the charge is very reasonable and the air conditioning works very well

The pool area is great, plenty of sun loungers and a shaded area with table and chairs if you want to get out of the midday sun. As for the pool, it is a great one to dive into as it's 3 meters at the deep end and slopes up to a around half a metre for the little ones.

As for the location you are five minutes walk from the beach and bars/restuarants. For the money, you couldn't ask for anything more from the hotel and owners. Thanks Heleni and Adonis.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the pool!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chris5cott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 18, 2011

Most amazing welcome. Heleni and Adonis made our stay in Santorini so incredibly enjoyable. No complaints at all. Spotlessly clean, good pool, but above all the perfect hosts. Thankyou Heleni and Adonis

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cracknells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2011

We spent a week here this July in a studio room. Our room was basic but had everything we needed, and was right on the pool- we spent many an evening just sitting on our balcony in the warm summer night.

Heleni and Adonis (the owners) are definately the highlight- they are so friendly and welcoming, you really feel like a member of their family. It truly is a home away from home. The pool is also amazing- very clean and cooling on those hot greek days!

Its 5 minutes from the beach and from the main road (24h bakery, supermarket, shops and bars further down the road). Hard to find if you don't know perissa- look for a sign on the main road near the bus stop/bakery (Irini- there's another 24h one further down the road).

Would definately come back!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank exmason
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, California
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2011

The couple who manage this place, Heleni and Adonis, are lovely - and are really good at making sure you're comfortable and have everything you need. The room was nice, sort of minimal, but had everything we needed.
We probably would stay closer to Fira if we went back to Santorini again, but Perissa beach (where Villa Clio is) is gorgeous too - and has excellent swimming. Oh, and plenty of restaurants. We had a car so it was easy to get from Clio to the beach, it might not be the best if you don't have your own transport.
The pool is fantastic to have after a long day when you come back, but in the end it's the personal touch that Heleni and Adonis bring that makes this place so memorable.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank F_Garvey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Perissa
2.4 mi away
Atalos Apartments & Suites
0.2 mi away
Smaragdi Hotel
Smaragdi Hotel
#3 of 40 in Perissa
761 reviews
0.2 mi away
Santa Irini Hotel
Santa Irini Hotel
#15 of 40 in Perissa
132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Anny Studios
Anny Studios
#30 of 40 in Perissa
203 reviews
0.7 mi away
Roula Villa
Roula Villa
#11 of 40 in Perissa
250 reviews
0.0 mi away
Emmanouela Studios & Villas
Emmanouela Studios & Villas
#9 of 15 in Karteradhos
39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Clio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Clio

Property: Villa Clio
Address: Emborion, Perissa 847 00, Greece
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Perissa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Perissa
#16 Romantic Hotel in Perissa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Villa Clio 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your Villa Clio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Clio Hotel Perissa
Clio Hotel Perissa
Villa Clio Santorini/Perissa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing