We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It was wonderful!!!!!!! :D”
Review of Smaragdi Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Smaragdi Hotel
Ranked #3 of 40 Hotels in Perissa
Certificate of Excellence
Athens, Greece
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“It was wonderful!!!!!!! :D”
Reviewed November 30, 2010

We enjoyed our stay in smaragdi hotel with my boyfriend so much. Rooms and the space outdoors were really impressive and cozy.We had the opportunity to stay in a luxurious suite of the hotel and that was a remarkable point of our vacation to be refered in my review... :) It was spacy with an enormous and comfortable bed, a small living room with a kitchenette, a great big bathroom, in which there was a jacuzzi except the shower and an attic like a livingroom upstairs.All rooms are decorated by Smaragda's wonderful frames which make the atmosphere there and the decoration of the room more beautiful and romantic. In the external space of the hotel there is a big swimming pool with jacuzzi too. The staff and admistration was quite friendly and helpful.All of them are willing to serve you whenever you want it and give you information on anything you need. Smaragdi hotel is near the "black beach" and close to the most famous beach bars of the island so it's easy for someone to have a nice time there. There is also a bus station nearby the hotel, so this fact facilitates the trasportation of the visitors in different places and sightseeings of the island.All in all, everything was wonderful and it would be my pleasure if i had my holiday in smaragdi hotel yet again!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank elina-kriti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

761 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    566
    148
    31
    9
    7
See reviews for
120
430
34
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Crete, Greece
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 30, 2010

We arrived with my girlfriend a Thursday night and George was there to greet us with a big smile and a welcome drink! Entering the Hotel we were surprised by the amount of handmade sculptures decorating the reception hall.. We were given a very comfortable deluxe studio, clean and tidy near the pool area! I liked very much the feeling of waking up and have a coffee near the pool at the sunbeds and i recommend everyone an iced Espresso Freddo from the bar or alternative a genuine english breakfast at the tables near the pool .. We also had the opportunity to spend some time in the jacuzzi landing near the bar and have a bath at the famous Black Beach, 50 m near the hotel.. I gladly suggest the hotel's restaurant where you can taste genuine Santorini's flavours alla handmade by native cooks! i really enjoyed the food! For any trip advises you can ask Maria at the reception, a very smart and helpfull manager willing to suggest you the ideal solution for every circumstance! Taverns, mini market, beach bars ant the hotel station are just five minutes away by feet and you can ask for car or motorcicle booking at any time of the day! We had the fortune to meet mrs Smaragda the artist of the hotel and mr Dimitris her inventive husband and we had a full conducted tour at hotel's sights.. I liked very much walking in the hotel's garden full of native flowers and herbs and last but not least i definitely recommend to spend at minimum two days at the suite!!! We had the Honeymoon suite and we were surprised by the perfrct furniture ant the relaxing colours!! mrs Smaragdas paintings were there to give her personal touch of perfection and the best personal jacuzzi i had ever seen with programs and music.. We also enjoyed the big double bed and it was very difficult for us to find the courage to abandon it every morning.. Living in the Hotel Smaragdi you have the opportunity to feel the warmth of a real hellenic family and feel like you are a part of them and not just a guest.. As we were leaving the hotel at the end of our trip i felt as i was coming out of a mrs Smaragdas painting and i feel sure to visit again and again this warm and hospitable hotel!!! :)

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank nikosmoires
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maitland, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2010

The Smaragdi Hotel is located near Perissa Beach down the South eastern corner of Santorini. It is about a half hour bus trip to Fira and a further half hour again to OIa however with teenage daughters it proved to be a real bonus to be staying just a short walk from the beach so we could come and go as we pleased from the beach and just planned day trips to the towns when we wanted. The pool area at the hotel was lovely and the restaurant served very nice meals all day. The family room was just big enough for the five of us but the bathroom was definitely on the small side. All in all it was very good value for money and a great place to stay with a family.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Monterey_Goods
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sevenoaks, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2010

We got married in Santorini this past May, and the Smaragdi was the perfect place to stay for the majority of our time. They arranged our reception out by the pool, and it was just perfect. The food was delicious - easily the best we had the entire time we were on the island - and the hosts, George and Maria, could not have been more helpful, accomodating and lovely. We had around 20 guests, as well as 3 under 2's, and this was the perfect place for everyone the stay. Reasonably priced, easy distance to Perissa town, beach nearby, lovely, comfortable rooms, and great food.
Our only (very very minor) critism might be that the breakfast was a bit iffy - the bacon was lightly warmed rather than cooked, and the coffee was usually not cold, but all the offerings for lunch and dinner were so delicious and reasonably priced, we found this very easy to forgive!
All in all we had a fantastic, magical time, and by the time we left, the staff had been so warm and welcoming for our entire stay we felt like old friends!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lemongirl77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nowra, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2010

We stayed at the Smaragdi in late September, early October 2010. For starters, our flight was diverted to Italy which made us about 6 hours late but that was no problem for the pick-up service & they kept an eye on how our flight was progressing & made sure someone was there when we landed.

This pretty much sums up the staff & how helpful & friendly they are. Nothing is too much trouble & they'll make phone calls & organise anything for you that you wish. The service itself from the bar staff is exceptional, especially compared to other restaurants & bars on the island! The rooms are serviced daily as well.

The rooms aren't flashy & modern, in fact they are a little old fashioned but that's what we were expecting out of our Greek island accommodation. We had a deluxe studio for which we paid a very reasonable rate. It was a large room with air conditioning & a balcony. It had a small kitchenette as well. The bathroom was ok but the shower went everywhere and flooded the floor.

The location is good - the beach and beach side restaurants & bars are all right there. It's a 5 minute walk to a mini market & the bus stop. Another 10-15 minutes walk gets you to a larger market, internet access, laundromat, ATM, etc. The bus takes 20 minutes or so to get to Fira and costs 2 Euros each way.

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Smaragdi & were made to feel so welcome. Would definately recommend it to anyone who would like an easy going, relaxing holiday but with some things to see & do as well.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank podsta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed October 20, 2010

Fabulous place to stay, we return year after year, as do many others. A wonderful friendly atmosphere with great staff, always willing to help.The owners make you feel a part of the family & treat all guests as special to them. The rooms are cleaned daily. Always fresh towels etc, nothing is too much trouble for the staff or the owners. Every year new items appear. The family are constantly improving all the facilities of the hotel. The beautiful black sand beach is a stones throw from the hotel and the owners even provide free towels to take to the beach or use around their beautiful pool. Love them all.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lynnsantorini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2010

This hotel is just great!



The staff are so friendly and very helpful. We were greeted very warmly and shown to our room, then we were offered a welcome drink whenever we were ready. The hotel & room was lovely, very clean and tidy fresh towels daily great value for money. The other guests that were in the hotel were very nice and friendly ( I can understand why they come back year after year)



After settling in our room we came down to have our welcome drink and we had a great chat to George, he told us all about the island and he arranged a car for us at a great rate too!



Just a minute or two walk to the beach, restaurants and bars are closes enough too! One restaurant on the beach was very nice but I can't remember the name it was just out of the hotel down to the beach and just there on the right, it was great value and nice staff & Food.

The nearest supermarket is about a 5 min walk from the hotel, there is a bus stop next to the shop where you can get the bus (they were nice air conditioned coaches not your average bus) to almost everywhere in Santorini.

The island is absolutely beautiful, the people are so friendly and the whole place had a great atmosphere.

I can not recommend this hotel enough as a great base for seeing Santorini or for a relaxing holiday.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank blueeyes123123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Perissa
2.6 mi away
Atalos Apartments & Suites
0.7 mi away
Stelios Place
Stelios Place
#2 of 40 in Perissa
490 reviews
2.3 mi away
Anassa Deluxe Suites
Anassa Deluxe Suites
#2 of 75 in Kamari
358 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Blue Dolphins Traditional Apartments
3.4 mi away
Petit Palace Suites Hotel
2.0 mi away
Cavo Bianco
Cavo Bianco
#5 of 75 in Kamari
426 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Smaragdi Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Smaragdi Hotel

Property: Smaragdi Hotel
Address: Perissa 847 03, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Perissa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Perissa
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Perissa
#4 Romantic Hotel in Perissa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Smaragdi Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Smaragdi Hotel lies at one of the most famous beaches of Santorini, Perivolos. It is an A class Hotel, which follows the traditional Cycladic architecture at its exterior and interior decoration. The hotel offers all modern comforts to its guests such as a large swimming pool, pool bar, breakfast room, playground, currency exchange, Jacuzzi, Free WIFI high speed Internet etc.The hotel rooms are spacious, sunlit and well taken care to the last detail. They are all fully equipped in order to make your stay here more pleasant. The hospitable atmosphere, in combination to the trained and pleasant personnel, which is always at your disposal, will make you feel at home. Arrival Transfer Free arrival transfer from airport/port (08:00-23:00, minimum 2 nights stay is required). Please inform the hotel through email or fax (you will find these contact details on the confirmation email you receive after you make your reservation) with the arrival details at least 14 days prior to your arrival in order to be able to book your transfer. Free arrival transfer is provided only if you have prebooked transfer appointment 14 days in advance. Contact details can be found on the booking confirmation. Kindly note that departure transfer is upon extra charge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Smaragdi Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Smaragdi Hotel Perissa
Smaragdi Hotel Santorini/Perissa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing