We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel in a great location”
Review of Smaragdi Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Smaragdi Hotel
Ranked #3 of 40 Hotels in Perissa
Certificate of Excellence
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great hotel in a great location”
Reviewed October 10, 2013

This is a gem of a hotel, family owned and loved. Our room was large with a fridge and mini kitchen area. Our balcony had a sea view and overlooked the swimming pool. The property is laid out almost like a mini village. Very clean and pretty with lots of bouganvillia, a photo around every corner. The breakfast was very good with a good choice of items. The location was perfect, with large selection of restaurants and bars backing onto the beach. Will definitely make a return visit. We were collected from the airport by the hotel courtesy minibus which was great and we were then at a small fee able to use it to take us back to the airport. Friendly helpful staff, met some people who had been going for years they loved it so much.

Room Tip: All rooms appeared to have their own appeal whether it be a sea view or mountain view. People with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christine J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

761 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    566
    148
    31
    9
    7
See reviews for
120
430
34
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, India
Level 3 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2013

The Hotel is at a through away distance from the Perissa beach that is the beautiful black sand beach with the swimming pool in the middle of the hotel and the rooms around it gives a very nice view from the rooms of the pool area.Clean and very well maintained Rooms and the add on facilities are great.
Some of the Rooms have the view of the mountain Proitis Illias ,Big Balconies....The Staff here in the Hotel is very helping and always wear a smile on their face...Always available to help....
Special Thanks to Maria and George for guiding us through the island arranging the Car and everything required.
Great Hospitality...Simply loved the stay here...
George, let me know in case you ever visit to India and we shall catch up....
Cheers!!!!!
Thanks for the Hospitality.....

Room Tip: All rooms here are well furnished in their own special way...Depends on the Room type you choose...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HimanshuWadhwa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henderson, Nevada
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2013

This is a trade off you have to make. Do you want to be near all the tourists, shopping and high priced restaurants in Fira and Oia? If so, then do not book a hotel in Perissa.

Smaragdi seemed like a nice family run hotel. Not a resort like I thought we were booking, but nice, clean and close to the beach.

Our room was large, we had a jacuzzi on the balcony. The breakfast was basic, compared to most European hotels we stayed at, although we do not have a comparison to other Santorini hotels so not sure if this was normal.

A very nice pool area where most guests hung out. They had a deal with one of the local beach restaurants for letting us use their beach chairs and umbrellas. The beach was beautiful.

We ended up renting a car one day to drive to Fira and then see the sunset in Oia. But these areas seemed so touristy and were loaded with expensive restaurants and shops. But there were some local mom and pop shops that we enjoyed looking in. So it was a tradeoff. We were far from the hustle and bustle but may have missed out on some good bars and shops. Other than a few restaurants, our location in Perissa had very little other activity, certainly nothing for tourists.

So the hotel was nice. There were other hotels actually closer to the beach that was saw that looked very nice and resort-like, compared to Smaragdi, but can not say if they were better or what the prices were.

We were not disappointed in our stay and felt the overall value was excellent. Just beware that you are in a quiet, remote part of the island with little to do other than beach and pool.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HendersonCMC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2013

A small hotel with character. I stayed here as a guest of a good friend for his wedding. All staff and the owners were friendly and extremely accommodating. Just a couple of minutes away from the beach, this is a great choice if you don't want to spend a fortune in accommodation. But trust me, the people are the ones who make the difference and this is a prime example. They will go out of their way to make you feel welcome and happy. Well done!

Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank AYPP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bilbao, Spain
1 review
Reviewed September 27, 2013

Smaragdi is Greek Hospitality at its best! Our room was beautiful and clean. Hotel’s pool area was very nice. The location is ideal, few meters to the best beach in Santorini with restaurants, minimarket and bus stop in walking distance. All staff were fantastic always smiling. Maria, the owner, was extremely helpful. She gave us sincere and good recommendations for the best places on the island. If you visit Santorini, this is the place to stay, enjoy!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carlos L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2013 via mobile

Great place to relax and explore the island. Close to the beach and plenty of restaurants nearby. The staff was very helpfull and friendly; We couldn't get picked up from the port due to our late booking, but instead they offered us a drop off, even though they don't normally provide this service. The budget room was ok and even though our bathroom was a little shabby, it is definitly worth the price considering your staying at a very nice hotel. If you're looking for an affordable place (away fron the caldera), this is a great option. You don't get better value on Santorini.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JackAMS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
worcester
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2013

We returned from this hotel earlier this week. We loved it - need i say more! I read the reviews on tripadvisor and was not disapointed. The only thing i will say is that i booked a budget room thinking, we dont spend much time in the room and if everything else was lovely it would not matter. However, when we arrived, we were not happy with out budget room. It was perfectly adequate and maybe it is our age (50 ish) but we want a little luxury now!!.( But it is good that Maria accommodates for all range)s so we told Maria, who immediately changed our room and in fact we changed 3 times during the week to which ever rooms were available. We stayed 3 nights in a deluxe, 2 nights in a studio and 2 nights in the budget room. This made our holiday and would definately go back. Maria and her staff are brilliant. They do everything to make your stay as wonderful as possible. Maria gave us brilliant advice on restaurants and the island in general. We have never stayed in a hotel with such brilliant staff. They were all so helpful and happy and would do anything for you. Well done Maria.

Room Tip: Depends on your budget and how important the room is to you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie741
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Perissa
2.6 mi away
Atalos Apartments & Suites
0.7 mi away
Stelios Place
Stelios Place
#2 of 40 in Perissa
490 reviews
2.3 mi away
Anassa Deluxe Suites
Anassa Deluxe Suites
#2 of 75 in Kamari
358 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Blue Dolphins Traditional Apartments
3.4 mi away
Petit Palace Suites Hotel
2.0 mi away
Cavo Bianco
Cavo Bianco
#5 of 75 in Kamari
426 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Smaragdi Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Smaragdi Hotel

Property: Smaragdi Hotel
Address: Perissa 847 03, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Perissa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Perissa
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Perissa
#4 Romantic Hotel in Perissa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Smaragdi Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Smaragdi Hotel lies at one of the most famous beaches of Santorini, Perivolos. It is an A class Hotel, which follows the traditional Cycladic architecture at its exterior and interior decoration. The hotel offers all modern comforts to its guests such as a large swimming pool, pool bar, breakfast room, playground, currency exchange, Jacuzzi, Free WIFI high speed Internet etc.The hotel rooms are spacious, sunlit and well taken care to the last detail. They are all fully equipped in order to make your stay here more pleasant. The hospitable atmosphere, in combination to the trained and pleasant personnel, which is always at your disposal, will make you feel at home. Arrival Transfer Free arrival transfer from airport/port (08:00-23:00, minimum 2 nights stay is required). Please inform the hotel through email or fax (you will find these contact details on the confirmation email you receive after you make your reservation) with the arrival details at least 14 days prior to your arrival in order to be able to book your transfer. Free arrival transfer is provided only if you have prebooked transfer appointment 14 days in advance. Contact details can be found on the booking confirmation. Kindly note that departure transfer is upon extra charge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Smaragdi Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Smaragdi Hotel Perissa
Smaragdi Hotel Santorini/Perissa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing