We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fortis is a star”
Review of Smaragdi Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Smaragdi Hotel
Ranked #3 of 40 Hotels in Perissa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 12, 2013

Stayed here with my husband 4th to 11 th sept 2013. What a lovely place. It is true the hotel is beautiful but for us it was the great staff especially fortis that made our stay good. He was always happy and willing to chat. Such a great character and in his own words fabulous. See you next year smaragdi . Vicky and dave. Nottingham

Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Vickyfoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (788)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

316 - 322 of 788 reviews

Reviewed September 9, 2013

My husband and I loved this hotel. We found the staff really helpful and friendly. They helped us to find our next hotel in Fira and let me use their phone to arrange a transfer from the bus station to our next hotel. The wifi worked really well and they had a laptop in the foyer available for their guests. On the first night, the owner/manager gave us an introduction the area, recommendations for tours, and suggested nearby restaurants to eat at. The hotel was 100m back from the beach and a close walk to the restaurant strip. As it was our first time on Santorini, we did find the hotel a little difficult to find from the bus stop (the local bus staff were not very helpful), but a local bar was able to give rough directions. It was about a 10minute walk from the Perissa bus stop near the beach. The outdoor pool area was very relaxing and we would recommend this hotel for anyone wishing to stay in Perissa, Santorini.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Kate B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2013

We stayed here for 4 nights last month and loved it! It is right across from the beach and in Perissa, so its not nearly as crowded or touristy as Thira or Oia. There are tons of restaurants nearby that you can walk to with great food. The staff was extremely helpful in giving recommendations and tips to see the island. We rented a moped for the day to drive around the island and really enjoying the mobility it provided.

The beach was right across the street but watch out, its a black sand beach so bring your sandals because the sand is too hot to walk on. You can enjoy chairs for free at multiple places and they have servers if you want to get drinks or food.

The pool at Smaragi was great too. This is definitely a family place, which didn't bother us, but we found ourselves sharing the pool with the kids.

They also helped us book a catamaran tour of the caldera which was one of the highlights of our trip!! A great way to watch the sunset and see that part of the island.

It's a great option if you dont want to be in the expensive and touristy Thira and Oia. We went up to watch the sunset one night and were reassured in our decision to not stay up there. While it's beautiful, it was a zoo of people and no beaches nearby!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amanda G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2013 via mobile

I just completed a stay here and can recommend it highly. Everything is clean and the staff are warm and inviting. The beach is only 2 min walk away where you will find many choices for food and drinks at much more reasonable prices than Fira. A nice sea breeze is welcome after a hot day exploring the towns of the island.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adrian D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2013

Nice, cosy and clean hotel with friendly and kind staff. They helped us with navigating the right restaurants, and planning activities. The beach is very close as well and there are lots of nice taverns and bars around.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank serdar d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2013

Only left Smaragdi this morning and continuing my island hopping trip but felt I should put up this review so soon after leaving. I received a complimentary pick up from the port, to arrive fifteen minutes later to a truly special place. On arrival, once again, Maria was there to welcome me. Every guest is treated to warm Greek hospitality from Maria and her team. Rooms as usual whether petite or deluxe are of the highest standard and including a safe at no extra charge. How often do you say you will return and never do, well I did and will be back again. Plus if you need to keep in touch with the outside world, the WiFi coverage is better than I get at home. It is excellent.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Louise C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2013

We spent almost a week at Smaragdi and it was a wonderful experience. The staff went over themselves to make our stay as pleasant as possible. The rooms which had recently been renovated were luxuriously furnished with all the necessary amenities. We stayed at a deluxe studio which was very spacious with a very comfortable bed and a superb bathroom. Moreover it was spotlessly clean as well as the rest of the hotel. The breakfast was delicious and incredibly rich including even cookies some days. Finally the hotel is ideally situated only footsteps away from Perissa Black Sand beach. Both the pool and the bar are spotless and the service more than satisfactory. Overall the place is highly recommended. We will certainly visit it again shortly. Many thanks to the whole staff and especially Maria for their efforts to cater for all our needs.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pjohn7233
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Perissa
0.7 mi away
Stelios Place
Stelios Place
#2 of 40 in Perissa
534 reviews
2.9 mi away
Grand View Hotel
Grand View Hotel
#1 of 7 in Megalochori
542 reviews
4.1 mi away
Apanemo
Apanemo
#1 of 12 in Akrotiri
722 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Villa Ilias Caldera Hotel
Villa Ilias Caldera Hotel
#2 of 22 in Firostefani
867 reviews
9.4 mi away
Oia's Sunset Apartments
2.3 mi away
Anassa Deluxe Suites
Anassa Deluxe Suites
#1 of 75 in Kamari
390 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Smaragdi Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Smaragdi Hotel

Address: Perissa 847 03, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Perissa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Perissa
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Perissa
#4 Romantic Hotel in Perissa
Price Range: $41 - $211 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Smaragdi Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Smaragdi Hotel lies at one of the most famous beaches of Santorini, Perivolos. It is an A class Hotel, which follows the traditional Cycladic architecture at its exterior and interior decoration. The hotel offers all modern comforts to its guests such as a large swimming pool, pool bar, breakfast room, playground, currency exchange, Jacuzzi, Free WIFI high speed Internet etc.The hotel rooms are spacious, sunlit and well taken care to the last detail. They are all fully equipped in order to make your stay here more pleasant. The hospitable atmosphere, in combination to the trained and pleasant personnel, which is always at your disposal, will make you feel at home. Arrival Transfer Free arrival transfer from airport/port (08:00-23:00, minimum 2 nights stay is required). Please inform the hotel through email or fax (you will find these contact details on the confirmation email you receive after you make your reservation) with the arrival details at least 14 days prior to your arrival in order to be able to book your transfer. Free arrival transfer is provided only if you have prebooked transfer appointment 14 days in advance. Contact details can be found on the booking confirmation. Kindly note that departure transfer is upon extra charge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Smaragdi Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Smaragdi Hotel Perissa
Smaragdi Hotel Santorini/Perissa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing