We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great experience”
Review of Smaragdi Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Smaragdi Hotel
Ranked #3 of 40 Hotels in Perissa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 24, 2013

We stayed here for about a week in early June, and it was fantastic. After our free pickup from the port, we were brought to the hotel and given a wonderful introduction to the island, and shown to our room, complete with kitchenette, tv, air conditioning and daily cleaning, with bedding and towel changes. The staff were always extremely helpful with information, and the pool area was beautiful and well-maintained. On top of all that, they gave us a late checkout until 4pm on our last day so we could stay until our boat left.

If I had any complaints at all, it would with the wifi. There are wifi access points all over the hotel, probably about ten or more, however they are rather unreliable, and each access point seems to work for about ten minutes before you need to find a new access point, sometimes requiring you to walk around until you find one that works for another ten minutes, before that one too gives out. Also, the wifi didn't work at all in our room, a fact that seemed quite surprising to the girl at reception. Anyway, if you have a lot of work to do, it might be annoying, if not, it might not bother you at all.

Overall, I would guess this is probably the best value for your money on the island (although it appears as though rates have risen now for high season, I'd guess it's still as good as you'll find).

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank adhaglin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (772)
There are newer reviews for Smaragdi Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

329 - 335 of 772 reviews

Reviewed June 23, 2013

Just return from our holiday in Santorini & stayed at the Smaragdi hotel .The hotel is situated minutes from the beach.Hotel staff very friendly ,rooms cleaned everyday .If your only staying for a few days some rooms are ideal, for a longer stay your best to upgrade, as the budget rooms are very basic .ie. no kettle, one cooking ring, no microwave or toaster ,there is only the basic utensils & crockery. If you are on a limited budget and couldn't afford to eat out everyday you need the basic equipment when you are self catering. Overall a good hotel & would go back but would up grade to better room facilitys
.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank starerin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in a deluxe studio. This was a great size with a lovely balcony you can relax on.

The staff here are so friendly and are always helpful when you need them.
The frappes are perfect for brekkie and so yummy by the pool!

It is within walking distance to the beach, bars, shops and lots of restaurants. It's about a 10 minute walk to the coop and the lovely 24hr bakery and you get free transfer back to the hotel if you shop at the co op.

The bus stop is 3 mins away to go to fira. The bus goes towards the beach and then turns around to stop for you. Although make sure you wave the bus driver or he'll just drive past as we have experienced. €2.40 pp. each way.

Hope you enjoy your stay as much as we have!

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Oshen30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2013

We had a wonderful time at Smaragdi. From the time we first reached the port- the driver John (from Smaragdi) was waiting for us with a little sign. The ride over to the hotel went fast and John made it pleasant. Reaching the hotel- the place is beautiful but the thing that really made this place the best was a lady named Maria. What a sweetheart. The first day she gave all the newbies staying there a 'welcome meeting' and informed us of all the things on the island we could do, what not to do, excursions, etc. I've stayed at a ton of hotels and Ive never had such an informative greeting. She set up our rental cars, our excursions and was more than accomodating to us. Her only downfall was that she made it too hard for us to leave! hahaha

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AdventureCalledLife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2013

This beautiful hotel is not only well located less than 30 seconds from the beach, extremely clean, with updated rooms and a very nice pool area, but has staff that make you feel like family coming home. From the front desk, the bar staff and even the cleaners, it doesn't take long to get to know them personally and realize the care that they put into their work. Maria(manager) at the front desk sits down with all new check-ins in the afternoon and gives a detailed description of the island and things to do. The hotel owner after whom the hotel is named sits by the pool most days painting and sculpting artwork that is seen throughout. A very beautiful hotel that I would not hesitate to go back to.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Ted V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2013

WE have traveled extensively and stayed in many 5 star hotels and resorts, from as far as Figi, to Bora Bora, Moorea, Huahine to Cabo San Lucas, to Puerta Valarta, to Madrid, Barcelona, Athens, Delphi, Crete and Santorini.
WE have truly to favorite Beach Destinations and those are Tahiti and Santorini, each for their own reasons to my husband and I.
Santorini, there are four area to stay:
Oia which is very crowded, great views, shopping-high end stores and great restaurants, and a decent view of sunset and the Caldera. - No beach - just stunning views of the Agean Sea, beautiful.
Imergovili-Quite middle of the island, lots of great restaurants, amazing sunset views, stunning views of the Caldera (our favorite for cliffside). No beach - just stunning views!
Fira - A place to shop and eat - great restaurants, great views - cliffside.
Perissa-
The Hotel Smaragdi - A TRUE GEM ON THE ISLAND. This hotel is owned and managed by Maria and her husband, who truly make you feel like you are family. The welcome we received, the time we stayed, their staff could not have rated any higher, they were a TEN, not a FIVE! Good breakfast, great bar, good rooms, great pool and palapas and a short block from the beach. Our room had a view of the ocean and a patio with jacuzzi, we spent little time in the room, we spent the time at the ocean and the pool. In all of our travels this place will alwas hold a special place in our hearts and we will go back, I felt as if I was at home, I was.
Our trip to the Smaragdi was planned a year ago, the daughter of our best friends of 35 years was getting married on Santorini and this was the hotel they stay at every year. This was special, not only for the wedding but the place. The rest of the guests 33 had a variety of rooms, some large, some midsize and some small. Everyone was happy, none of us wanted to leave. WE WILL BE BACK!
IF and WHEN you go to Santorini and looking for BEACH AREAS, stay at the Hotel Smaragdi - you will have a great time and lasting memories.

Room Tip: Small to midsize and large, there is a variety to choose from, including suites.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Terri-LynnM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2013

The actual location was chosen by friends for a wedding celebration. The hotel location is almost directly at the vulcano sand beach, just 1 min. walking.
Otherwise there is a great pool and a nice room with kitchenette, in which I stayed.
This area is surrounded with lots of restaurants and beach bars to choose from.
If you don't need the high cliffs from the West side of the island, this location on the East side of the island is a nice choice to try - price and quality are much lower than average and worth it.
When you have many other locations to choose from, personal service and caring about details really matters: Maria (the manager) and her team try their best to welcome each guest personally and try to offer recommendations what to do on the island.
In case it matters: there is free wireless internet in all rooms and all across the hotel resort for mobile phones, tablets or laptops - quite important these days for many of us!

Room Tip: Choose the best rooms - the prices are fairly low
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Berlin-Mario-C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Perissa
2.6 mi away
Atalos Apartments & Suites
2.3 mi away
Anassa Deluxe Suites
Anassa Deluxe Suites
#2 of 75 in Kamari
374 reviews
5.9 mi away
Blue Dolphins Traditional Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Stelios Place
Stelios Place
#2 of 40 in Perissa
509 reviews
3.4 mi away
Petit Palace Suites Hotel
4.1 mi away
Apanemo
Apanemo
#1 of 12 in Akrotiri
690 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Smaragdi Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Smaragdi Hotel

Address: Perissa 847 03, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Perissa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Perissa
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Perissa
#4 Romantic Hotel in Perissa
Price Range: $35 - $152 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Smaragdi Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Smaragdi Hotel lies at one of the most famous beaches of Santorini, Perivolos. It is an A class Hotel, which follows the traditional Cycladic architecture at its exterior and interior decoration. The hotel offers all modern comforts to its guests such as a large swimming pool, pool bar, breakfast room, playground, currency exchange, Jacuzzi, Free WIFI high speed Internet etc.The hotel rooms are spacious, sunlit and well taken care to the last detail. They are all fully equipped in order to make your stay here more pleasant. The hospitable atmosphere, in combination to the trained and pleasant personnel, which is always at your disposal, will make you feel at home. Arrival Transfer Free arrival transfer from airport/port (08:00-23:00, minimum 2 nights stay is required). Please inform the hotel through email or fax (you will find these contact details on the confirmation email you receive after you make your reservation) with the arrival details at least 14 days prior to your arrival in order to be able to book your transfer. Free arrival transfer is provided only if you have prebooked transfer appointment 14 days in advance. Contact details can be found on the booking confirmation. Kindly note that departure transfer is upon extra charge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Smaragdi Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Smaragdi Hotel Perissa
Smaragdi Hotel Santorini/Perissa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing