We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Absolute Best!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Smaragdi Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Smaragdi Hotel
Ranked #3 of 40 Hotels in Perissa
Certificate of Excellence
Quebec, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“The Absolute Best!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2012

This past May/June 2012, we stayed at Smaragdi Hotel in Perissa, Santorini, Greece for eight days. We had stayed there for a week in 2010 and were really looking forward to returning. It was like going home to visit family. There is nothing impersonal about the hotel or its personnel. They are all just lovely people, from the owners, George and Maria and their parents, Dmitri at the front desk, the cleaning ladies to the lovely lady who works in the kitchen. Their smiles are as warm as the Greek sunshine. If you need anything or have any questions, your satisfaction is guaranteed.

The rooms are spacious and bright and tastefully decorated. Each one has a place to sit outside to eat or relax and the bathrooms are spotless and modern. The beds are comfortable and there is air conditioning and Wifi in each room. There is a bottle of water in your room when you arrive and there is a grocery store a 15-minute walk away. There is a kitchenette in each room.

The common areas around the hotel are welcoming and clean. There are gardens and walkways and the pool is beautiful. It is so relaxing to sit on a lounge chair under an umbrella and read or just relax. There is a good library of books in many languages that past guests have left behind.

Maria takes time to explain about the hotel and what to do around Santorini. She can organize airport/port pick-up and drop-off, excursions and car rentals. The public bus stops by the beach in the summer, a short walk away from the hotel or a 15-minute walk away at other times. The schedule is at the front desk. Fira is about 30 minutes away by bus, with a change for the bus to Oia. It’s easy and inexpensive.

While in Santorini, I can recommend a catamaran tour . We have done it twice and would do it again without hesitation. Maria will look after the reservation and recommend a company. You are picked up and returned to Smaragdi. Take the sunset tour rather than the morning tour. That way you get to see beauty at its best. I also recommend doing the walk from Fira to Oia. It’s about five miles long. Do it around 3:00 when it's cooler and wear comfortable walking or hiking shoes. The views are to die for and sometimes you have a view of the water from to your right and to your left.

If you have never been to Santorini, you will be pinching yourself to be sure that you are really there. If you have never been to Greece, you will find that Greek hospitality is second to none. The warmth of the Greek sunshine is but a reflection of the warmth of the Greek people. George and Maria are the epitome of this warmth.

You will not be disappointed.

Room Tip: All of the rooms are great. Rooms in the back are quieter than those around the pool when the hotel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank thetravellerstoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

716 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    533
    137
    30
    9
    7
See reviews for
112
406
31
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2012

We stayed here for 4 nights and had to change rooms after the first night. The changeover was seamless and the rooms were both excellent. Maria, the owners daughter is as charming as she is friendly and will make you feel like one of their most important guests. She is also an encyclopedia of local knowledge - from good beaches to local wine! The hotel is beautifully decorated and the poolside area is calm and tranquil even during full occupancy periods. Most rooms have little patios where you can enjoy breakfast or dinner if self catering. We arranged car hire through Maria which was also seamlessly transacted as was our catamaran tour of the southern part of the island including the caldera. I would recommend however that if you choose the catamaran tour that you choose the cheaper option as it was very well catered and included a buffet meal, water and alcohol throughout and pick up and drop off at the hotel. Do also consider making your own breakfast as it is cheaper and you can sample lots more items from the supermarkets or numerous bakeries. We would definitely stay again. Bravo Hotel Smaragdi!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank smarlisg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2012

Looking for a relaxing and quiet holiday to swim, tan and sightsee we stayed in Smaragdi hotel for 10 days and were very happy with our choice. The hotel offers a relaxing and carefree atmosphere and is run by competent and very friendly staff. Áll necessary infrastructure can be found nearby, beach, restaurants, shops, bus stop et al. I can really recommend this hotel and would like to return, maybe next year.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Eva M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2012 via mobile

This hotel is one the most hospitable, welcoming and fun place i have ever been. The people who work there are super helpful. Maria, the owner is extreemly helpful in guiding you around the island and renting you a car or a boat ride, its in the heart of all the best santorini beachs, 30 minutes from Fira and 50 minutes from Oia. Its in a very quite area with no noise what so ever, right next to the mountains with a beatuful view of the beach.

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank MahmoudN36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2012

After coming from ios all we wanted to do was have a place to relax and work on our tans...and this is the perfect place to do it. The surroundings of this hotel is amazing, the pool and garden area is well kept and brings a great feel to it as soon as you walk in.

Maria and the rest of the staff here are always here to help. This was the first place I have ever been that has given you a welcome meeting if wanted, they give you a map of the island and tell you about all the places to see on the island and any extras you would like to do. Maria is amazing this woman would do anything for you to make your stay brilliant...very welcoming and always greeted you with a smile.

Would defiantly come back to this place again! Thanks to all the staff :)

Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
4 Thank Lauren L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2012

We go to Santorini yearly and have always stayed at Smaragdi. This was my 4th time in this wonderful hotel. In fact, if it weren't for Smaragdi and Santorini I might not be where I am today. My fiance and I started our romance in Santorini at Smaragdi and it is a very special place for us. We will be getting married here next year and can't wait to share this magical hotel and island with our family and friends.

This year we stayed for 5 weeks, which was the longest duration yet. To be honest with you, I really wanted to stay longer. Over the years we have stayed in many of the different rooms and they all have their own charm and uniqueness. This year we stayed in a Deluxe Studio and it was perfect! It was spacious and comfortable. As we work alot when we are in Santorini the internet is very important and the wifi works great. The bathroom is updated and gorgeous and we had a nice view with a patio overlooking the pool. The garden is always well kept and they grow a lot of different fruits around the property. Grapes, Figs, tomatoes, herbs, capers, sunflowers, and other stuff.

Besides how wonderful the hotel is, the people who run it are very special! It's family run and you can feel that. They treat you like you are a part of their family. They go out of their way to do everything for you and make sure you are happy and comfortable.

Maria is one of the sweetest people I have ever known and she is very funny. You will agree! George, who if you are a night owl, you will get to know, is also hilarious and very smart. Some of my greatest memories are from my nights in Smaragdi hanging out with George, Maria and other friends we have met there.

Another thing you can count on is returning guests. That speaks highly for a hotel in itself. We have met many people through the years who also go year after year. While we have been 4 years in a row, there are some that have returned 20 times. Now that's loyalty and I understand why. I hope to be coming to Smaragdi for the next 20 years as well!

What I love about Smaragdi:
1. The people are the best. Maria, George, Dimitri, Nikos, Smaragda, Dimitris
2. The sun is always shining
3. The wifi works well
4. Late night conversations with a mythos around the pool
5. Our friends we met there and have stayed in touch with
6. Being a part of the family
7. Everything!

Hope to be back in October!!!!!!

Room Tip: any of the rooms overlooking the pool are great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank StephanieFrasco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2012

Traveling alone at the end of a long trip abroad, I may have been lonely if fate had taken me to any other hotel on this island. I ended up meeting the warmest, most genuine people here. The owners and staff are exceptional in every way.

The hotel is family owned and by the time I left I felt like part of the family myself. What friendly, interesting people. They can't wait to tell you all about the island, where to eat, what to see. They'll give you all the tips you need for getting around.

The hotel itself is an oasis from the moment you walk through the gates. The pool area is lovely and very well maintained. The room was clean and large. As importantly, it had a distinct charm. I couldn't wait to roll out of bed each morning and throw open the shutter doors and take in the view.

The hotel's a short walk to the beach and restaurants. Everyone I met on the island was very accommodating and friendly.

I recommend renting a car on the island. Remember that gas is super expensive, but the tiny cars they typical rent out don't use much. Ask Maria or someone else at the hotel about sailing trips around the island.

I had the best time in this amazing place and hope you do as well!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank AthenaNewsom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Perissa
0.7 mi away
Stelios Place
Stelios Place
#2 of 40 in Perissa
5.0 of 5 bubbles 444 reviews
2.6 mi away
Atalos Apartments & Suites
2.3 mi away
Anassa Deluxe Suites
Anassa Deluxe Suites
#1 of 77 in Kamari
5.0 of 5 bubbles 330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Antonia Hotel Santorini
2.0 mi away
Cavo Bianco
Cavo Bianco
#4 of 77 in Kamari
5.0 of 5 bubbles 350 reviews
1.9 mi away
Blue Waves Hotel
Blue Waves Hotel
#10 of 77 in Kamari
4.5 of 5 bubbles 251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Smaragdi Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Smaragdi Hotel

Property: Smaragdi Hotel
Address: Perissa Santorini, Perissa 847 03, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Perissa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Perissa
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Perissa
#4 Romantic Hotel in Perissa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Smaragdi Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Smaragdi Hotel lies at one of the most famous beaches of Santorini, Perivolos. It is an A class Hotel, which follows the traditional Cycladic architecture at its exterior and interior decoration. The hotel offers all modern comforts to its guests such as a large swimming pool, pool bar, breakfast room, playground, currency exchange, Jacuzzi, Free WIFI high speed Internet etc.The hotel rooms are spacious, sunlit and well taken care to the last detail. They are all fully equipped in order to make your stay here more pleasant. The hospitable atmosphere, in combination to the trained and pleasant personnel, which is always at your disposal, will make you feel at home. Arrival Transfer Free arrival transfer from airport/port (08:00-23:00, minimum 2 nights stay is required). Please inform the hotel through email or fax (you will find these contact details on the confirmation email you receive after you make your reservation) with the arrival details at least 14 days prior to your arrival in order to be able to book your transfer. Free arrival transfer is provided only if you have prebooked transfer appointment 14 days in advance. Contact details can be found on the booking confirmation. Kindly note that departure transfer is upon extra charge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Smaragdi Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Smaragdi Hotel Perissa
Smaragdi Hotel Santorini/Perissa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing