We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Official Santorini lover..!”
Review of Meltemi Village

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Meltemi Village
Ranked #5 of 40 Hotels in Perissa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 9, 2012

Hi again,once again i have visited Santorini, Meltemi village Perissa, and i have to say a big thank you to Monolis the owner, Peter the manager and Roy receptionist, they were fantastic beyond words after myself and my son had an accident on the second day, they offered every help and assistance they could and we appreciate this very much..once again the Meltemi village is wonderful, spotlessly clean, pretty and feels welcoming, my son Callum loves it there .
The Meltemi bar is at the entrance to the hotel it is run by Antonis and his sons Nikolo and Stelios, we have become good friends with them over last 3 visits..i need to thank Antonis for his help during a difficult time, he brought food to our room after an accident and went to the pharmacy, he didnt have to do this but he did as a good person and Stelios for giving up his time to attend hospital with me and Cal, and Nikolo for manning the bar alone when he did! Thank you guys.xxx
Its a wonderful bar, Antonis serves great food , try the chicken salad with honey and croutons!!..its all good!
The atmosphere is chilled and they make everyone feel welcome as soon as they walk in..everyone we met wants to return there, and we will again very soon!
As usual i cant fault Santorini, i have fallen in love with the island, its unique,stunning and memorable as are the people.
The villages of Oia, Imerovigli,pyrgos, fira are wonderful and the sights of the Caldera..( lost city of Atlantis)..is etched in your memory forever..get yourself a guidebook and headoff to explore this fascinating island you wont regret it...

Room Tip: Excelsior suite no 69 gets sun all day in summer, some suites lose sun an at midday, so ask if booki...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mogsy_3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (537)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

310 - 316 of 537 reviews

Reviewed September 1, 2012

The brochure said "small and friendly" and it was! Good choices at breakfast, friendly staff and no problems getting sunbeds. There was a good mix of nationalities staying there so not overun by lager louts and unruly kids! Our room was simple but we only booked a basic room anyway - very clean but as we only used it to sleep in and get ready, it was perfect! Perissa is very reasonable for food and drink and not a McDonalds in sight-wonderful! Going to visit Fira and Oia is a must - especially Oia - stunning! Would recommend it to couples wanting a relaxing holiday that doesn't break the bank.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Ktaylor5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2012

Ignore the bad reviews, I would happily recommend this place to anyone, indeed we would gladly stay again. The location is excellent, the pool area is very nice and all the staff outstandingly friendly. The place is not perfect and could do with a little refreshing in some areas but then again if you want perfection go to a five star hotel. However, I doubt that you will get a better level of service anywhere else all the comments on Roy and Georgia are true - they both go out of the way to help.

We were accommodated in SC studio for 3 and it was clean and comfortable. Linen and towels were changed every day and the whole place cleaned and tidied. In all honestly, although SC, you would struggle to make a proper meal in the kitchenette but it was fine for breakfast and the occasional light lunch.

Overal 5 star service , 3 star accommodation and 4 star pool which is not bad for a 3 star complex. We had a fantastic week and all of us want to return.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank paulwhite64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2012

We stayed at the Meltemi Village in July/August 2012 and chose this hotel because of it's location and good reviews. We were very impressed with the Meltemi Village and would stay there again if we were to return to Santorini. All the staff were friendly and helpful, in particular Roy and Georgia who worked on reception. Nothing was ever too much trouble for them. The rooms were clean, towels and sheets changed every day and the maids excellent. We stayed in a double room which had a fridge, good air conditioning and the most comfortable greek bed we've slept on. My parents upgraded to a studio at the back of the hotel which was also nice. The pool area was peaceful and there were always sun loungers. The hotel is in the ideal location, a short walk to the beach and within easy reach of many tavernas and bars. The Meltemi cocktail bar next door was well priced and good fun, a brilliant place to start the evening.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Claire F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2012

This is a great hotel in Perissa and from talking to our Rep as well as walking past other hotels we felt that we had struck gold with Meltemi. We went with Thompson's in July and paid £390 pp for a week (hotel with B&B, flights & transfers) and we agreed that this was excellent value.

The hotel is one road back from the beach but this seems to be the norm as most other others were and on the beach front there are mainly just beach bars. It is only a few minutes walk to the beach so this shouldn't put you off at all. What really made this hotel was the pool area, it must have the best pool in this village as it is large, has lots of palm trees giving shade, is well protected (Santorini can be a windy island) and has great pool service. We loved the pool so much so that on very hot or windy days we just lay by the pool and had a great relaxing day. Looking at other hotel pools, they seems very small and were not nearly as nice, so if you don't want to spend every day at the beach and want a few relaxing days round a fab pool, this is the hotel for you.

I would recommend eating at God's Garden, as although not on the beach front this by far seemed to be the most popular restaurant and was packed each night. The food was great and very good value indeed. We were told to try the lamb that is cooked all day and you should definitely order this. My tip would be to try and eat away from the beach bars & restaurants as if you just walk one road back there are plenty of places serving the same food but for much better value. Breakfast at the hotel was good and then for lunch we tended to go to one of the 2 bakeries (they are either end of the village) which did great spinage & feta pies/donuts etc and then we did eat out at a different restaurant each night (but I thought God's Garden was the best). If you want to eat right next to the beach, walk along the beach front (towards Kalmar) right to the end and there are quite a few restaurants this end that are next to the beach, but from our experience they were the most expensive.

We did do a few tours and did one through Thompsons called Simply Santorini which I would definitely not recommend, we were very disappointed. It was expensive and not hugely interesting at all, I heard other people mumbling the same things as we were. I had read other reviews on Tripadvisor which said the same thing that don't do Thompson's tours rather walk round the village and look what locally is on offer. If you walk out this hotel, directly on your right is a little tour operator and we did a sunset cruise through them which was much, much cheaper and exactly what Thompson was offering. In the end I wish I had listened and not done the expensive Thompson tours but rather just done what this tour operator was offering at a fraction of the price. Most the tour operators offer English/Greek & German tours, so you can choose an English only tour.

If nothing else you must go to Oia to watch the sunset and just walk around the village as it is the most beautiful place. It is exactly what you think Santorini should look like, amazing restaurants/bars (expenisve), boutiquey hotels (very expensive), wonderful shops and fabulous views. It really is the most beautiful place but be warned lots of cruise liners come in and most people seem to either go to Oia or Fira so these small villages can very very crowded with Americans. We also went to Fira and spent the day walking round the village and having lunch and again it is a lovely place but not as pretty as Oia.

If I was to do this holiday again, I would skip all tours (stay well away from any Thompson tours at the very least) and just catch the bus in the evening into Oia to have dinner and cocktails watching the sunset. We sat at a great bar right next to the windmill and it was lovely. Be warned that hundreds of people do the same thing each night so once the sun has set it is a bit of a pedestrian traffic jam to get out of Oia. All the buses go to Fira and then if you want to go anywhere else you catch a connection from there, I think each bus ride is Euro 2, so cheap and easy to use. To catch the bus from Perissa just turn left once leaving Meltemi and walk a few meters to the bar called Bob's Bus Stop and wait there for the bus to arrive to Fira. The island is very small so it doesn't take long at all to get anywhere.

I would also split my week between staying at a nice boutique hotel in Oia (but from what I can see there was no beach at Oia as too high up) as it is so beautiful and the rest of my time in Perissa. Perissa is a nice beach village but not hugely charming, it is in parts a bit scruffy but the beach is lovely. It seems that most budget conscious tourists come here or go to Kalmar or Perivolas. We didn't go to Kalmar but I would avoid Perivolas as seemed to be full of mainly very cheap accommodation. Perissa was a bit more upmarket in comparison.

On the whole if you stayed in the Meltemi Village, went to Oia & Fira on the bus, perhaps a tour to the hot springs & volcano, you will have a fabulous time. It is a stunning Greek island and we thought very highly of the hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
15  Thank Cottekat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2012

Stayed at Meltemi Village hotel in July 2012 for two weeks, Everything was perfect, the staff could not be more helpful. The food and service was exceptional,especially Roy on reception who was without the best receptionist we've ever come across. We will be booking again for another 2 weeks next July. Keep up the good work Melteni Village

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Mark N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2012

My wife, 8 month old baby and I stayed here in May 2012. We had an excellent time, partly down to great weather but also the nicest staff we have ever met. They were like one big family, working together so effortlessly. They were always one step ahead of us, providing anything we required without a pause or complaint. We even got upgraded to the Honeymoon suite free of charge. We cannot recommend this hotel enough.

The pool is lovely, well set out and enough, but not too many sunbeds. The food by the pool is also very good and served in a timely manner.

We will definitely return. Thank you to all the staff, especially the lovely lady by the pool bar, who my 8 month old son, William seemed to have a crush on!

See you soon.

Room Tip: Rooms further from the pool are quieter, so we heard!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank khall888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Perissa
0.6 mi away
Smaragdi Hotel
Smaragdi Hotel
#3 of 40 in Perissa
783 reviews
0.3 mi away
Aqua Blue Hotel
Aqua Blue Hotel
#4 of 40 in Perissa
239 reviews
0.2 mi away
Stelios Place
Stelios Place
#2 of 40 in Perissa
532 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Anassa Deluxe Suites
Anassa Deluxe Suites
#2 of 75 in Kamari
390 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Matina
Hotel Matina
#20 of 75 in Kamari
431 reviews
0.1 mi away
Meltemi Luxury Suites
Meltemi Luxury Suites
#7 of 40 in Perissa
243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Meltemi Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Meltemi Village

Address: Perissa, Perissa 847 03, Greece
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Perissa
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Perissa
#6 Family Hotel in Perissa
#8 Romantic Hotel in Perissa
Price Range: $81 - $338 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Meltemi Village 4*
Number of rooms: 56
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Meltemi Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Meltemi Village Perissa
Meltemi Village Hotel Perissa
Meltemi Village Santorini/Perissa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing