We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A fine choice”
Review of Stelios Place

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Stelios Place
Ranked #2 of 40 Hotels in Perissa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 4, 2013

I stayed here for 5 nights in early September and could not have found a better place to stay on the island for the cost. The place is immaculately maintained by Stelios and his family. It is 1 block from the beach. If you want to swim daily while on Santorini, don't stay in Fira or Oia. It's a trek to get to the beach from there. This is a very laid-back location, away from the real tourist scene up on the cliffs, but an easy bus ride to see that magnificent view. I would definitely stay here again. Oh, and the restaurants nearby are a bargain compared to Fira and Oia.

Oh, and don't be intimidated by how hot they say the black sand gets on the beach. White sand gets pretty hot too with the sun beating down on it.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tverchot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (532)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

241 - 247 of 532 reviews

Reviewed October 4, 2013

We had two weeks here in September. Stelios, Eva & Katerina gave us all we could ask for & more! The room we had was spotlessly clean, Stelios Place is beautifully kept & in a brilliant location for the most chilled out beach holiday we've ever had.

I would recommend Stelios Place as THE place to stay on Santorini.

We will be back :o)

Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Hazel I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2013

Stelios, wife and daughter run this place. They are such sweet people. Stelios drives guests daily to and from the airport/ferry port upon requests, shared with us a little history and told us where to get good food, atm, bikes and bus on the way to the hotel. The wife was so sweet she offered us medicine when my husband was running a little flu. The daughter arranged our day tour for us. For our honeymoon requests, they offered a bottle of home-made wine, cakes and the nicest room for us! They manage a vineyard during holiday off seasons :)

Overall, we prefer this part of Santorini near Perissa compared to the famous Oia because it's so near to this special black-sand beach, plus the fact that this part of Santorini is less hilly, more laid back, not touristy and filled with family warmth, no matter which restaurant or bakery we walk into.

Tips:
- Check out Cyclades Tavern Restaurant 2min walk away from beach, good food at good prices, but need to wait for around 45min during peak hours! Go before 12+ for lunch and before 8 for dinner!
- Family that runs the bakery at Santa Irini (10min walk) are so sweet, they gave us free gifts everytime we're there! Good coffee, tea and fresh bread :)
- For the day tour, we were told to wait outside the church around 10min walk from the hotel. Later we found out they also stop at the tour agency 2min from the hotel! Hmm, may be good to book from the tour agency too :)

Recommended 3-day itinerary:
- Day tour including boat ride to active volcano erupted to create Santorini, donkey ride up Oia and catch "the most beautiful sunset at Oia"
- Spend half a day on the black beach of Perissa (2min walk from hotel)
- Enjoy the cheap seafood, desserts and drinks at any of the numerous nice restaurants along the Perissa stretch.

Room Tip: 3rd floor corner room with private balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank maryyeo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2013

I stayed at the Stelios Place for several days in early September 2013 while on vacation with friends. We had a triple en-suite room on the ground floor for only 50 euro per night – an absolute bargain for the location ( 30 m. away from the best beach in Santorini Island), conditions (fully renovated - rooms include refrigerator, TV, free wi-fi, safety deposit box, & daily house keeping) and outstanding services provided. In my own and my friends’ opinion, this is a GREAT hotel and I would definitely stay here again or recommend it to anyone.

Stelios Place offers a free pick up and drop off service to the port or airport. Upon arrival, Mr. Stelios met us at the port and gave us a drive to the hotel, explaining things about the whereabouts on the way. Similarly, he gave us a ride to the airport when we were leaving. Any questions or concerns we had were responded in the most professional and effective manner.

The room was excellent - spacious and clean. The last can be said about the whole hotel, indeed. This place is spotless – the reception area, the rooms, the yard, everything is spotless and very pretty. Not only does the hotel provide free wireless internet access, but in the reception area there are two laptops available free of charge for the guests to use from 8am to 10pm.

For those who wish to have breakfast at the hotel, I would highly recommend the delicious veggie omelet of Mrs. Stelios. It is so rich and large that could feed two people easily.

I cannot say enough about the Stelios family or the service they provide to their guests. I have rarely felt so very welcome anywhere. They take care of everything one may ask or need.

We chose to spend our last day on the beach. Our flight was not leaving until 8:30 PM. The Stelios family kindly suggested that we keep our towels and beach towels, so that once we were back we could take a shower in the spare bathroom. They also kept our bags and valuables during the time we could not use a safety deposit box, since we had checkout out already.

Thank you Stelios family for making our stay so comfortable and enjoyable in every aspect!

Room Tip: The whole place is fully renovated and spotless.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Canada656
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2013

This friendly, family run hotel is incredible value on the Island of Santorini, which is known for being pricey. It is one street away from Perissa beach. The owner does pick ups and drop offs to the airport/boat port on prior request. That makes it so handy and will save you on taxi fares. The Hotel is tucked into a quiet cul de sac with a lovely pool, with a mountain backdrop, so it is shielded from the dining and night life bustle and there is no aircraft noise. We had a really peaceful sleep. It is a 2 minute walk to the extremely long black volcanic sands of Perissa beach, full of palm leaf umbrellas, deck chairs and cold drink/food service delivered to your chair! Perissa beach is the perfect resort spot with a huge beach front selection of restaurants, bars, some playing live music at night.

We requested a double room but were instead given a dorm style room for 4 people and were told the hotel was booked out - make sure you book ahead with plenty of time and confirm the type of room/beds you want as you may be disappointed! As we were only staying one night before flying out again and the hotel was great value, fab location, friendly service, clean, modern, good shower, with air-con, we didn't mind.

The hotel serves breakfast by the pool, but we preferred to walk to the beach and eat at one of the many cafes serving lovely breakfasts at good value and with a view of the beach. As Perissa is such a great location and probably the best beach on the Island, with everything within a few minutes walk, if you just want a relaxing beach holiday, you could easily just stay in this part of the island for a few days and not go anywhere else.

Room Tip: we requested a double room but were instead given a dorm style room for 4 people - make sure you boo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Panda9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2013

Spent a week at stelios place with my husband and 19yr old daughter. Stelios collected us from airport with no problems, and returned us at the end of week. This family run accommodation is really worth the price, very friendly, and helpful if you need anything. Nice pool, basic room, well kept and very clean. Ate breakfast a couple of times really nice food only 4 or 5 euro. But is also in walking distance of cafes and restaurants if you fancy something different. One minute walk to beach. We hired a car for 2 days this cost 35euro per day (with 10euro per day for extra insurance cover) the island is really small from perissa to oia took us about 30min. Overall we enjoyed our trip to santorini and would most definitely stay at stelios place again.

Room Tip: We had room 19. It is an upstairs room, the balcony goes all the way round the room and gets the sun...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shelle09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2013

We arrived at the port with stelios waiting for us and gave us free transfer to the hotel. The hotel was located a minute walk from the beach and everything else you need! The pool area and everywhere was kept so clean and the staff were always happy to help. One slight disadvantage was that we were a couple and as we found a few places in Greece they were twin beds instead of a double. Also we were not shown any communal kitchen as stated on the website. However this was a lovely stay with a welcoming family, reasonably priced and a great location!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fern31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Perissa
0.7 mi away
Smaragdi Hotel
Smaragdi Hotel
#3 of 40 in Perissa
783 reviews
1.6 mi away
Anassa Deluxe Suites
Anassa Deluxe Suites
#2 of 75 in Kamari
390 reviews
1.7 mi away
Santellini Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
Rocabella Santorini Hotel & Spa
4.5 mi away
Apanemo
Apanemo
#1 of 12 in Akrotiri
713 reviews
5.7 mi away
Blue Dolphins Traditional Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stelios Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stelios Place

Address: Perissa Beach | Perissa, Perissa 84700, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Perissa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Perissa
#2 Best Value Hotel in Perissa
#2 Family Hotel in Perissa
#3 Romantic Hotel in Perissa
Price Range: $51 - $128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Stelios Place 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Stelios Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stelios Place Hotel Perissa
Stelios Place Santorini/Perissa
Stelios Place Hotel Santorini

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing