We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly and quiet”
Review of Marianna Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Marianna Hotel
Ranked #13 of 40 Hotels in Perissa
Certificate of Excellence
Leicester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Friendly and quiet”
Reviewed June 29, 2013

My wife and I stayed at this hotel on a bed & breakfast basis during the 3rd week of June. The welcome was the friendliest we have ever encountered. Alex the barman ensured our time by the pool was enjoyable and his inclusive approach to all guests made the bar area a real fun and relaxed place to be.
The room was cleaned every day and that aligned with the free air conditioning (a real bonus) and safe deposit boxes made our stay comfortable and relaxing. The breakfast menu was a good standard continental fare which was consistent throughout the week.
An excellent week which we will book again in 2014.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank shaun m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

280 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    115
    106
    40
    14
    5
See reviews for
26
179
12
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2013

Anything positive you have read so far is true I think - good position, great pool with plenty of sunbeds, close to beach, clean (sheets and towels changed more often than I do at home - twice a week here!) and feels like a holiday hotel which is just what we want. I'd like to say that I really like Maria, she is so kind and helpful and has a great sense of humour. And I saw her giving some food to one of the stray cats so she is a good person.
There are safes in the rooms at no extra charge, which is unusual in my experience and no charge for the air conditioning either. The Marianna is a lovey hotel, no it isn't 4* but if it was it'd be bland and could be anywhere... we had a really lovely time there and wouldn't hesitate for a second to recommend it.

P.S. I change the sheets once a week at home

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LizzieLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2013

May 7th to 14th stayed at the marianna hotel. It was my 2nd stay in santorini after visiting the previous year to get married.
the hotel itself had been recently painted and throughly cleaned ready for the new season. the rooms were clean and basic but as expected for any family run greek hotel. stayed on the bottom floor which had access to the pool and amazing views of the scenery.
we hired a quad for the 2nd time also from motomania, markos is great and really looks after you.
alex at the bar was lovely and we enjoyed sharing a couple of nights chatting and socialising with him and other guests.
all in all, fantastic hotel in a great location with staff that cannot do enough for you. highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lucianna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2013

My sister and I have just stayed here for 2 lovely weeks. If you have booked this Hotel for your holiday and have read some of the reviews, no need to worry. It is a basic hotel in a stunning setting near to all you need, yet in a quiet location. The breakfast buffet is fine and unlimited, a good start to the day.

Remember, this is a budget holiday not the Ritz, the flight and Thomson's costs taking most of your money and very little going to the Hotel. As such this Hotel represents very good value for money. Take a travel kettle if not self-catering.
Some of the reviews are a little harsh and unreasonable and the family are always there and willing to help should you have a problem.

There are 2 rooms behind the bar area that are a bit doubtful but the other rooms all look fine.

I plan to return and I am sure that you will enjoy it too.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tourboy33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2013

Just returned from a wonderfully relaxing two week holiday at the Marianna Hotel. We had a nice room and balcony, although the balcony was in full sun from about 11am, so was unusable to me with my delicate, fair skin! Nice large pool area with comfy sun beds and plenty of umbrellas made up for this though. Had read previous reviews about the rooms not having a kettle, so we bought a travel kettle and made coffee in the room - saves a lot of money! The beach was a short stroll away, most of the bars along with front will give you the sunbeds for free if you buy drinks from them. We enjoyed the breakfast each morning, and chatting to fellow guests at breakfast. We met some lovely people. The hotel is basic, but clean and friendly, and next to a stunning mountain - fabulous views. You really can't complain for what it costs to stay there. Perissa is such a friendly resort, you walk along the front each evening to choose a restaurant, and bump into people from the hotel along the way, and chat to the waiters standing outside - they are not pushy about you going into their restaurants. Plenty of good restaurants along the main beach front, with lovely views of the sea and other islands in the distance. Our favourite restaurant was Poseidon, with Appolon and Aphrodite close seconds. Favourite bar for our pre-dinner beer was Tranquilo - we love it there. Also Magic Bus was a great place to have a cool drink and people-watch after our swim at the beach. It's right by the bus stop, so you can really watch the world go by! The main beach front road is gated off in the evenings, so is pedestrianised, which means you can walk along in the evenings and not have to worry about people chugging past on quad bikes and scooters! The climb up the mountain to Ancient Thira is hard going, but only takes about an hour and the views at the top are amazing. Only 2 euros to get in, and well worth it. Don't attempt it in flip flops though, like some people were! Buses are quite good, we went to Pyrgos and had a lovely stroll around, also Emborio is a lovely Greek village to explore. All in all a wonderful holiday, we came to Santorini last year and stayed in Perivolos (couldn't get booked there this time, but we've actually decided we like Perissa more), had such a great time that my partner decided there was no place he would rather be for his 60th birthday this year than Santorini. We would love to return.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Alison C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2013

TripAdvisor is a very useful guide, but it is just that. You have to take each moaning review with a large pinch of salt. I've read some of these reviews with utter bemusement after having a great week with my wife for our anniversary.

The hotel is very well looked after, and whilst the rooms could do with some refurbishment everything is clean and as you would expect from a 2/3 star greek hotel.

The pool area is truly fantastic, it's kept very clean and there are spectacular views of the sea and mountains.

Aalez the barman is a great guy. Could never do enough for you. We mentioned the idea of a BBQ in passing and the next thing we knew we were eating grilled chicken souvlaki in the bar. A great evening.

Turning to the incident that the previous poster saw fit to comment on. We we're in the bar that night and safe to say that Aalez explained that there had been previous issues with dogs at the marianna. There are a lot of stray dogs on the island and they can be dangerous to have around young families. Aalez was looking after the safety of his guests and for that he is falsely described as some kind of brute.

Some people just like to complain, it's their right to, but don't let them persuade you to avoid a stay at the Marianna, which is a very nice hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Roberts24611
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2013 via mobile

If people state facts rather than seeing things through rosé coloured glasses why are they accused of moaning.
This clean and pretty hotel is on a hill and coming up is a problem for older guests with walking problems,
We had room 4 which overlooks the pool. It would have been a good sized room if there wasn't three beds in a row. 1980's Tv didn't work, although we only wanted to listen to BBC News now and again. We had to pay 50euro for a small fridge. The bathroom was adequate size but the toilet seat was two sizes too small and didnt fit the pan. Hand held shower and no shower curtain nor bath mat.

The bin containing soiled toilet paper, as you are not allowed to put tissue in the toilet was not emptied between Monday and Weds. The maid has Tuesday off, which seems strange as Tuesday is changeover day. No maid service or bin change on Tuesdays. The towels which were like sandpaper were not changed between Monday and Thursday.

Alex, who reviews say is wonderful, is a Latvian with the personality of a dead fish and can be very rude.

His bar prices are dearer than in bars along the strip. On one night a stray but very friendly young dog came to the bar in the pool area and everyone was making a fuss of him. Alex came from the bar and
Grabbed him around the throat making him yelp and cry. He then grabbed hold of a large bottle of water which he charges guests 1.50euros (only one euro in shops along the strip) and threw it at the dog making it yelp again. People at the bar were saying "Oh Alex dont do that". It is evidently the first stray to come into the bar in the past three years so there is no excuse for behaving so badly. Sorry folks didnt like Alex, and this wasn't the only incident where he was out of order.

No we would not recommend his hotel although we did like Perissa and made many friends.

Try looking at Kouros Hotel (Thomas Cook) just off the strip.

Also Kamari, the next resort which is more up market than Perissa with lovely hotels along the pedestrian only block paved strip. Lots of restaurants and bars reasonably priced.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Briyn59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Perissa
1.6 mi away
Atalos Apartments & Suites
1.0 mi away
Smaragdi Hotel
Smaragdi Hotel
#3 of 40 in Perissa
761 reviews
0.2 mi away
Roula Villa
Roula Villa
#11 of 40 in Perissa
250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Santa Irini Hotel
Santa Irini Hotel
#15 of 40 in Perissa
131 reviews
0.5 mi away
Anny Studios
Anny Studios
#30 of 40 in Perissa
203 reviews
0.0 mi away
Emmanouela Studios & Villas
Emmanouela Studios & Villas
#9 of 15 in Karteradhos
39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marianna Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marianna Hotel

Property: Marianna Hotel
Address: Perissa 84700, Greece
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Perissa
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#12 Romantic Hotel in Perissa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Marianna Hotel 1*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Bookgreece.com, Agoda, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Marianna Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marianna Hotel Perissa
Marianna Hotel Santorini/Perissa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing