We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet hotel, great location.”
Review of Hotel Rena

Best prices for your stay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Rena
Ranked #20 of 39 Hotels in Perissa
Swindon, UK
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Quiet hotel, great location.”
Reviewed August 4, 2013

Stayed here a few times now and can't quite understand the poor reviews. The hotel is a quiet hotel hidden just behind the main road on the beachfront. The rooms are cleaned daily, and have a tv and balcony. Pool area is quiet also. There was a problem with the pool where there was a chemical imbalance, this is quite common where the strong winds blow dirt into the pool. Mario was made aware of the problem and promptly fixed the pool.

This is a budget hotel which is clean and basic, which is Greece at its best. For the price you pay £400 for 2 weeks you can't expect 5* food and accommodation, if this is what you want perissa is not really the place to be.

Perissa is a very quiet resort, and seems to be in decline which is a real shame, although I prefer to the much more commercialised Kamari.

There are many excellent restaurants - noma, gods garden, waves, and decent bars in perissa.

I'd recommend anyone to hire a car it's the only way too see the whole island!!!! Or a quad bike but pay the extra to get a good sized one as the tiny quads are a little unsafe and slow!

I would recommend this hotel and would stay here again, we had no problems, and as a regular visitor I had no expectations. Santorini is beautiful!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

273 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    106
    100
    35
    19
    13
See reviews for
37
176
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
bobbynel
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2013

I had a good feeling about this hotel when we booked it, however, the only thing my husband & I liked was the location. Its a minute or two at the most from the beach & very close to restaurants and bars.

The rooms & hotel were tired, old & grubby, needs a desperate makeover & a PROPER CLEAN. We only went to breakfast 5 times out of 14 nights as it was a grim miserable affair, Bread for toast, butter, marmalade & jam. Then tasteless cheap cheese slices & some sort of ham which looked & tasted dodgy !!! oh, & must not forgot there was also a bowl of chopped up tomatoes. It was the same every single day, no cereal or fruit. There were young children staying at this hotel & not even a cornflake or rice crispy in sight. The owners watched over the breakfast area like hawks as if you were going to take an extra piece of toast.

Food was not always available from the bar, people were often told that the chef was asleep !!! - so much for Greece getting back on its feet from hard work !!!

We had no pool for 3 days which was eventually sorted by the rep Catherine who was fabulous by the way. This lead to us receiving £30 compo each from Thomsons.

Jacob on the bar was lovely & friendly and so were Pannos & Despina, however, once we politely refused to go to the Greek BBQ at 14 Euros per head (no entertainment inc) we were more or less sent to Coventry by Pannos & Despina. We were told after the BBQ that it was terrible & a complete waste of money.

We have been visiting Santorini for 14 years on & off, the resort of Perissa is a shadow of its former self, buildings closed, derelict properties, its scruffy & generally unclean. Kamari however, seems to have improved tremendously & was very chic & trendy.

We would never return to this hotel & probably never to Perissa. In my opinion this hotel does not deserve to be in the Thomsons brochure.

Room Tip: Don't bother !!!!! go to Kamari instead xx
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
portsmouth
Level 5 Contributor
37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2013

it was really basic ,our rooms smelt of raw sewage ,we did get moved to the dolphin apartments
which was much better,the bar was closed by 1030/11 .it was so old needed a make over the sunbeds were so old and this was only week 5 of opening ,they look like they had been around about ten years ,it was in the right place but that would be all I could say .even on they Greek night it still had no life .we want out on the beach to waves which was lovely .and everything around was lovely just picked wrong hotel

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bolton
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2013

This hotel is in a Fab location close to the beach and all the restaurants both on the beach path and the main road. However the hotel is basic and seems to require updating. Very clean rooms. Breakfast leaves a lot to be desired the same every day for 2 weeks and also very basic! We had pool issues which took a few days to resolve but did eventually get sorted. Not much activity in the bar area, no one seems to stay around so is very, very quiet. Panos, Despina and Jacob who work there try there vey best to help you but have limited resources available to them. The food bar menu is very lacking and not always available. We travelled independently, but I will say the representative from Thomson Holidays, Catherine, was fantastic. When there were problems she included ALL guests and was happy to help anyone, go girl you need promotion, well done. I think if this hotel was refurbished, due to it's location you could not find a better spot, if this was done we would go back but not as it is at the present time. Spend some money guys and you will have a great hotel.

Room Tip: Get a room in Dolphin not main building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2013

We had a small budget for our hotel in Santorini so went for Hotel Rena as it looked the best that we could get for our money. The room was very basic as we expected but had everything we needed. The room was clean with a lovely balcony area with amazing views. The hotel was not far from the beach and main strip of restaurants. The staff were very friendly. The pool area was just big enough with a nice bar area. We went in school times so there were no children and it was a lovely relaxing place to be by the pool. Will probably be going back to this hotel if we decide to return to santorini. The only reason I give this hotel 4 out of 5 is due to the fact that the bed was a bit uncomfortable and the bathroom very very small and basic.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leicester
Level 4 Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2013

we have just returned from the hotel rena,perissa,santorini,and would like to complement the staff on giving us a relaxing holiday.From marios the owner,kitchen staff,panos vespina and Jacob,nothing was too much trouble,and panos's fresh caught fish was out of this world.Will definately be returning to there.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed June 27, 2013

My partner and I have just come back from Rena and I wanted to pop a review here.
Hotel Rena is in a fantastic location for exploring the island and 2 minutes walk from the beach, if that. The rooms are basic but clean, the breakfast is more than enough to set you up for the day- cheese, ham, fruit, bolied eggs and toast, not always together. If you are looking for it to be self catering though, the rooms as are NOT set up for this as they only provide a fridge, so no hob, Kitchen sink, cutlery, plates pans etc. The staff are very friendly and helpful so all in all it is cheap, great location and if you're looking for a great base with a good pool then this may be the place. We had a great time and used Rena for exactly this. Have fun x

Room Tip: try to get one overlooking the pool...... air cone is a few euros a day and is needed
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Perissa
5.0 mi away
Villa Renos
Villa Renos
#4 of 80 in Fira
799 reviews
0.5 mi away
Marianna Hotel
Marianna Hotel
#13 of 39 in Perissa
277 reviews
0.0 mi away
Anny Studios
Anny Studios
#30 of 39 in Perissa
201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Perissa Bay
Perissa Bay
#16 of 39 in Perissa
169 reviews
0.5 mi away
Smaragdi Hotel
Smaragdi Hotel
#4 of 39 in Perissa
752 reviews
0.1 mi away
Marybill Hotel
Marybill Hotel
#22 of 39 in Perissa
117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Additional Information about Hotel Rena

Property: Hotel Rena
Address: Perissa 84703, Greece
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Perissa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#14 Romantic Hotel in Perissa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Rena 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Bookgreece.com, Booking.com, Cancelon, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Rena reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rena Hotel Perissa
Hotel Rena Santorini/Perissa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing