We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Little Hotel”
Review of Gardenia Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Gardenia Hotel
Reviewed July 10, 2013

We stayed here for a week at the end of June and were very happy with the hotel. All the staff were very pleasant and helpful and the rooms were spotlessly clean. For a small hotel, they have one of the largest pools with plenty of sunloungers. The hotel is ideally situated for both the beach and all of Perissas restaurants. We booked via Alpha Rooms and found the price to be very competitive. All in all, a great hotel

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cooperracing1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (299)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

154 - 160 of 299 reviews

Reviewed June 26, 2013 via mobile

Just got back from a fabulous week at this lovely hotel. One of the main attractions for this hotel was the location, just a few minutes walk from the beach, bars and resturants. Hotel staff were very friendly and made you feel welcome. The rooms are very basic but clean. We had a view over looking the mountains which was stunning. The pool is quite large and kept very clean and the bar served the usual bar snacks and had plenty of Mythos :) Tried quite a few resturants but my favourites was Gods Garden which was great value and service, it is only a minutes walk from the hotel. My other favourite was Atlantis Island which is on the sea front, a bit more expensive but worth it. Only did one trip which we booked with a tourist shop at the top of the road and was a lot cheaper than booking with our travel rep, it was a boat trip from Fira port to the volanco and then a visit to the hot springs. I can't recommend this hotel enough and would definately return.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Michelle B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2013

This hotel is lovely. The location is great close to all amenities and restaurants. The room is basic but has self catering facilities too such as a kettle, hair dryer etc. As the water is de salinated they need lime scale cleaner for the taps. The small cost of this additional cleaner would make such a difference to the bathroom cleanliness. The weather was fantastic and the resort was relaxed. There are no touts trying to get you in shops etc all very laid back. Gods Garden we found the best restaurant off the main front. I did not go in the sea but some guests complained it shelved very badly. The beach front sunbeds were free as long as you bought drinks in the day. The hotel pool was our favourite which was a dream. They could do with improving the breakfast selection but it was adequate. Santorini is fantastic and Perissa is a superb base to travel around by foot, bus etc Perissa was very very reasonably priced for eating out. I do not think other parts of theisland were as reasonable. The locals and hotel staff made this holiday!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jufeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2013

Have just returned from a week's break in Santorini, stayed at the Gardenia which was a v clean if basic hotel, which is the norm for Greece, air con included in price which is not. The only criticism we have is the shower, the curtain was not long enough & the water went everywhere, having to mop bathroom every time we used it.. Staff v helpful & friendly, especially Roland who always had a smile & a friendly word no matter what time of day or night. Lovely pool area with plenty of sunbeds, although we are not ones for lying around the pool.Hotel was well situated, only 5 mins flat walk to beach & tavernas (we liked the Atlantis where you could get a litre of good local wine for the price of 1/2 litre at other places, although it was so busy people were booking to ensure getting a table, Visanto was also a favourite with a brilliant guitarist playing Sundays & Wednesdays),& the same in the other direction to the main road with a great 24 hr bakery & the bus stop,to Thira which we found v crowded & quite expensive. Hired a car for a couple of days & saw all of the island, Oia being our favourite, a smaller version of Thira but extremely pretty & not as crowded. Also took a boat trip to the Volcano, it is a lot cheaper to book one in Thira & you end up on the same boat as the tour operators for a fraction of the price. On the whole a very beautiful island with stunning views & sunsets but unfortunately won't be returning until they get the airport sorted out, we have travelled to a great many places in the world but have never seen such a disorganised airport, our arrival was fine but the departure was a nightmare, we spent the whole 3 hrs we were there being pushed & jostled in various queues (one of which we were in the hot mid-day sun for appx 1/2 hr & as usual reps no-where to be seen!) At one point we thought we were going to miss the plane, it was a miracle we only ended up delayed for 1/2 hr, this was very stressful & spoilt the relaxed feeling we had achieved during our holiday.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AlandJ-F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2013

We have just arrived back from my first trip to Greece and I wasn't disappointed. The Gardenia hotel is ideally situated,just a short walk to the many restaurants (very reasonably priced) and bars and also the beach. The hotel itself is spotlessly clean and the staff are very friendly and can't be more helpful,Roland on reception was our photographer as well!! He was lovely always happy even after long working shifts. Our favourite restaurants were Gods garden,Just lovely food and staff and Grandmas recipes,their pittas are divine! Santorini is a wonderful island and we will definitely be going back next year,thank you to all the staff. Jane and Paul .

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jane_stockwell_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2013

We went as an elderly couple desperate for a burst of sun having been rained and snowed on on our last two trips; this made up for it.

Poalo and Roland, manning the reception made us extremely welcome and were incredible sources of information about everything, evening discourses on philosophy included! First task after unpacking in a basic but clean room, (this is Greece after all), was to visit the pool bar for an ouzo. A test passed with flying colours: a huge clean pool, shade, enough comfy loungers, giant measures of very reasonable OUZO, served by Kamal, aka, George, another star! Rooms cleaned every day with frequent changes of linen. The water for showering in is saltier than in England but still gets you clean and refreshed.

Location of the hotel is about 400 m from the beach and the start of the beach road though Perissa where tavernas and sunbeds are in profusion, The beach is very clean and the black sand is great. 100 m the other way leads to a great bakery and another range of excellent eating places. Between the hotel and the beach is a small waterpark that hadn't opened when we were there. The bus stop is about 400 m on the main road with frequent, half hour shedule to Fira, the rest of the island and the excellent pharmacy in the next village.

We mentionned rain and snow on our last trips. well Santorini is windy, but it's a warm wind.

All in all a great place.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank rob d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2012

Stayed for two weeks in August and had an amazing time. The guys on reception are really helpful and friendly and even carried our cases to the room. The pool is fabulous (largest in the resort) and never a problem getting a sunbed. George at the pool bar cannot do enough for you and the drinks and snacks are reasonably priced. The hotel is quietly located about 2 minute walk from beach and yet is conveniently placed for bars and restaurants. The ones on the back road being better value than those on the beach front (2 euro for large beer and 3.50 on the front). We ate out every evening and found the resort generally offers good value and service. Visanto was one of our favourites great Thai curry and live music on Sundays and Wednesdays. Gods Garden just down the road but a tad disappointing after reading all the reviews. The room was basic (as you expect in Greece) but very clean - fresh towels everyday and clean sheets every other day. We visited Thira by public bus (really frequent service) Good views but be warned very expensive catering for the cruise ships that visit - 9 euros for coffee and coke!! Sunset in Oia well worth the trip. All in all a fabulous holiday on a beautiful island. Would definately recommend the Gardenia.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Claire B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Perissa
0.2 mi away
Aqua Blue Hotel
Aqua Blue Hotel
#4 of 40 in Perissa
241 reviews
2 mi away
Levante Beach Hotel
Levante Beach Hotel
#42 of 75 in Kamari
251 reviews
0.2 mi away
Veggera Hotel
Veggera Hotel
#7 of 40 in Perissa
521 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Alexandra Hotel
Alexandra Hotel
#45 of 75 in Kamari
298 reviews
2.3 mi away
Alkyon
Alkyon
#60 of 75 in Kamari
72 reviews
0.1 mi away
Meltemi Village
Meltemi Village
#5 of 40 in Perissa
539 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gardenia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gardenia Hotel

Address: Perissa Beach, Perissa 847 00, Greece
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Perissa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 63 Specialty Lodging in Perissa
Price Range: $82 - $719 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Gardenia Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Gardenia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gardenia Hotel Perissa
Gardenia Hotel Santorini/Perissa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing