We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great little hotel in great location”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Gardenia Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Gardenia Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great little hotel in great location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2012

Stayed for two weeks in August and had an amazing time. The guys on reception are really helpful and friendly and even carried our cases to the room. The pool is fabulous (largest in the resort) and never a problem getting a sunbed. George at the pool bar cannot do enough for you and the drinks and snacks are reasonably priced. The hotel is quietly located about 2 minute walk from beach and yet is conveniently placed for bars and restaurants. The ones on the back road being better value than those on the beach front (2 euro for large beer and 3.50 on the front). We ate out every evening and found the resort generally offers good value and service. Visanto was one of our favourites great Thai curry and live music on Sundays and Wednesdays. Gods Garden just down the road but a tad disappointing after reading all the reviews. The room was basic (as you expect in Greece) but very clean - fresh towels everyday and clean sheets every other day. We visited Thira by public bus (really frequent service) Good views but be warned very expensive catering for the cruise ships that visit - 9 euros for coffee and coke!! Sunset in Oia well worth the trip. All in all a fabulous holiday on a beautiful island. Would definately recommend the Gardenia.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Claire B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

269 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    119
    101
    34
    10
    5
See reviews for
41
167
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2012

Just returned from a wedding in santorini , we stayed at the gardenia hotel. On arrival we were greeted by makis who was warm and friendly and with in two minutes, was saving our vodka which was left on the coach from the airport. He arranged for the rep to drop it off for us, amazing. The rooms were clean but basic , if you have been camping before then this is what to expect for cooking purposes. However eating out is not that expensive for a good meal. The Gardinia is well located for the beach , restaurants , buses and the supermarket which has a lovely 24 hour bakery next to it. The rooms in general are typical for greece though the bathroom could do with some maintenance i.e drainage from shower. Other than that rooms were ok some have safes some don't but are available in reception for 1 euro a day. One of the best aspects of the hotel is the pool with stunning views and lists of room with a nice little bar at the end.
If you want to eat out may i recommend Tranquilo which is located on the beach front first bar on the left from the hotel. It has a chilled atmosphere, and friendly staff do not be put off by a lot of veggie dishes there are some meat ones and the portions are enough for two and can say was the most tasty of all the restaurant i went to and value for money. Buses are very regular but get to your seat quick as they don't wait for you to sit down. Thira (2.2euro)Oia(1.60euro)A must to visit both places.Water park small but good for kids only 3 slides.Buy food or drink on the beach at the blue diamond and get the beds free all day.The winery views are well worth a vist to.

Room Tip: As far away as reception as possible .Pool view is best.Ask to have the use of a complimentary roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jan Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nuneaton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2012 via mobile

We stayed at Gardenia in September 2012 and I can agree with the other reviews that the hotel is very clean. Rooms are cleaned daily with fresh towels provided daily. The guys on Reception were lovely, chatty and very helpful. The location is great - quiet but close to the beach and plenty of bars and restaurants just a few hundred yards away. The big down fall for us was every morning the bin men came at 6am! Very noisy! Then at 6:30am the cleaner would start work and be noisy outside our room. Then at 7am the lady doing breakfast would start clattering pots and pans. Then at 8am the breakfast would start and you'd hear chairs being dragged in the floor and people taking right outside our room! On lie in for us! Some might say no rest for the wicked. God help you if you stay in rooms 5 & 6 - you'll need ear plugs! Also the breakfast was very poor! Only 1 toaster and the coffee and orange juice was horrible! Good job there is a 24 hour bakery just up the road!
On the whole it was good for the money.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank fl0rence-bride
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2012 via mobile

We have just returned from 2 weeks at the Gardenia, it was perfect for us. Rooms were basic & in need of an update, but to be honest you're not in there long so this was not a problem. Swimming Pool was fantastic, largest in the resort & George was a star! Makis on reception was a lovely guy & always available to help or just chat :)
We found the best Restaurants were, Gods Garden just up the road & Cylades which is on the back road towards the end. Dorians & Meltemi bars were great, good size cocktails & only 3€ We took the bus to Fira & then on to Oia, the views are spectacular although these resorts can get busy once the cruise ships arrive, so go early & walk down with the Donkeys :) & get the cable car bak up! (save your legs)
Katie our rep (Thomson) was very helpful All in all this hotel, resort & island is a true Gem we will definitely be returning :) thank you to all the staff at The Gardenia
Justine & Kirsty x

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank KJOBJOB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2012

We stayed in August and had a great time, we had been to perissa before and this hotel is really good and excellently located. 1 minute stroll to the beach and a 2-3 stroll into town. George who seems to do everything at the hotel is total superstar, he can't do enough for you and always makes you feel welcome and relaxed. He does a bbq night which is a must, 10E for all you can eat and all you can drink wine!
Gods Garden is a nice little taverna 1 minute down the road, the lamb special for 2 is amazing! Tranquilo bar on the beach (just 2mins away) is a really good place to spend a day at the beach or just spend the early evening enjoying the cocktails which are really big and really tasty. Happy fish beach (blue diamond bay) bar about 5 mins down the beach is also a nice little chillaxed spot for the day, free sunbeds and umbrellas and great service on the beach. We travelled as a couple with family to recce our wedding for next year, we have recommended the gardenia to our wedding guests as it's ideally located and a great little hotel.
Also have to mention Dorians, best in town!

See you next year George, get the BBQ ON!

Room Tip: 24 was very nice and looked over the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank scotty0161
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2012

Really nice place, clean, quiet, with big for Santorini swimming pool. Nice choice of food for breakfast. Rooms basic but clean and towels changed every 2days. Staff friendly and helpful. Beach is just 5min walking distance... I can recommend amazing restaurant by the beach called "Ntomatini" delicious food, resonable prices and friendly staff. I can recommended this hotel to couples or seniors who likes relax in quiet without loud music or screaming kids ;)

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Asia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2012

We had a fantastic holiday at this great little hotel and would return tomorrow if we could. Yes the shower does go everywhere, you need to hold it as there is no hook on the wall and the shutters and balcony doors need a bit of coaxing to close but this is a typical greek hotel of its class! You would not get the welcome and friendlness at a larger hotel and you would have to pay MUCH more for the experience. The location is perfect on a quiet road but close to everything. All the staff from reception to cleaners are friendly and great at their jobs, the rooms are spotless and Paulo and Makis on the front desk are a mine of information. The pool is huge for a small hotel and we never had a problem getting a sunbed even though it was peak season. The local restaurants we tried were all good and reasonably priced, never had a bad meal, faves were Acropolis and Atlantis on the beach road. Bar prices were also good-Dorians on the back road and Tranquilla on the beach road are worth a mention and had a nice vibe. Breakfast was ok and pool bar food and drinks were fine. We usually had a walk to the 24hr bakery for lunch-this is not to be missed and should be on every tourists map of Santorini-cant describe the pleasures within this little bakery you just have to go!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank anita m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Perissa
0.3 mi away
Stelios Place
Stelios Place
#2 of 40 in Perissa
5.0 of 5 bubbles 444 reviews
0.2 mi away
Veggera Hotel
Veggera Hotel
#7 of 40 in Perissa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 443 reviews
0.4 mi away
Smaragdi Hotel
Smaragdi Hotel
#3 of 40 in Perissa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 716 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Aqua Blue Hotel
Aqua Blue Hotel
#4 of 40 in Perissa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 141 reviews
0.1 mi away
Meltemi Village
Meltemi Village
#5 of 40 in Perissa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 452 reviews
2.0 mi away
Levante Beach Hotel
Levante Beach Hotel
#50 of 77 in Kamari
4.0 of 5 bubbles 216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gardenia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gardenia Hotel

Property: Gardenia Hotel
Address: Perissa Beach, Perissa 847 00, Greece
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Perissa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 65 Specialty Lodging in Perissa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Gardenia Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Bookgreece.com, Travelocity, Expedia and Hotel.de so you can book your Gardenia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gardenia Hotel Perissa
Gardenia Hotel Santorini/Perissa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing