We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Slow service really let Aphrodite down” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Aphrodite - CLOSED

Aphrodite
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Seating, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Seating, Waitstaff
Hinckley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
142 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 239 helpful votes
“Slow service really let Aphrodite down”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2012

As we walked passed we stopped to look at the menu. The menu looked reasonable so we thought we should try it out.

Once sat, the waiter gave us the menu and while we were waiting we ordered a couple of Mythos and bread.

I had mixed Souvlaki which was really good served with chips, toasted pitta and a small salad. my partner had vegetarian moussaka which was not what she expected but she ate most of it.

Waiters were very slow in bringing the bill even when asked twice, they did eventually come.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank GrahamUK33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

13 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    1
    2
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
37 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Above and Beyond”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2012

Okay to start...when we first got into santorini we walked along the beachfront to see where we would want to eat, as there are plenty of choices. There were hosts that did try and get you to come into their restaurant, most were very nice but we at least wanted to see all the options we had. When we passed Aphrodite, the host had stopped us to not even first ask what kind of food we were looking at, but how we were and how was our holiday going...a nice conversation. He was not mad we did not immediately go in but told him we will be back. And becasue of how nice he ended up being we decided to come back and eat there that first night. I belive we ordered the mix meat for two which came with french fries, salad and wine and was not very expensive. You can see the beack from the restaurant and there are also sun beds which you can use since its for customers only. They will bring drinks and your meals out to you as well. We came to know the host, George and from there he introduced us to other people in the area, was willing to help us with any rentals we needed, also knew a friend who does scuba diving if we were interested...and he remembers you. When we would pass by be would wave to us. They did a greek night on Tues nights which we got to be a part of two of them. We go to know the owner and other staff that worked there and they were very friendly to us during the whole trip. Even others workers we met would recognize us and wave and stop to chat with us They were very generous with their time and the way they made people feel welcome. We would also see regulars that go back there too. It was a fun atmospehere, open...greek night was fun. There was live music--which this guy was awesome!, dancing, plate smashing and just fun entertainment. I don't know what else to say about this place but we went back after that first greek night--everyday to the sun chairs until late in the day and if we didn't try out other restaurants throughout our stay-- we were back at Aphrodite trying something new. I really like their al la creme dish and my husband liked their moussaka. But we had seafood, pizza, sandwiches--it was all good. Personally, we were glad we went back that first night and became friends with george. We had a wonderful holiday and would def. go back if there was ever the opportunity to. Hope this review helps. Prices are not bad, family friendly and they have Wifi too!

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank zeke2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great Grilled Red Snapper”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2012

The host/waiter was very nice. He remembered me from the other day, when I just stopped to look at the menu. I tried the grilled red snapper- my first time having red snapper. It was very good. It came with bread, rice, fries, and salad (lettuce and tomato). Also, ordered a beer. Next time I am in Perissa, I will come here for dinner.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank midnightdoll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yorkshire
Level Contributor
70 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Value for money, friendly staff, extensive menu”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2011

This was our second trip to Santorini and Aphrodite Restaurant. We were very pleased to find that the same staff were still there, especially Joseph who is charming and he even remembered us from last year. The food was as good although prices have increased somewhat but we did find the resort less expensive than Lindos, Rhodes where we go each year.

Last year we had tried a few other restaurants but this year we mainly ate at the Aphrodite. Another bonus is that their sunbeds are free if you use the restaurant and Joseph is quite happy to bring drinks and food down onto the beach. Excellent service.

  • Visited September 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank dustieYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
298 reviews
155 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
“Looks the part - in a touristy way, but disappointing!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2011

This is the package holiday Greek restaurant - everything is a meal deal or Greek plate - I felt a bit like it was the ready meal version of holiday food. I ordered a mixed souvlaki and was very disappointed with the presenteation and portion size. In reality it wouldn't be so bad if i didn't feel i could have done a million times better myself! Had to ask three times for the bill before it came!

  • Visited August 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank CaptainBlackmore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Aphrodite also viewed

 
Perissa, Santorini
Perissa, Santorini
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing