We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great swimming beach!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Perissa Beach

Perissa Beach
Book In Advance
More Info
$131.66*
and up
Santorini Food Tour by Electric Bike
Ranked #2 of 10 things to do in Perissa
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Kyoto, Japan
Level Contributor
59 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Great swimming beach!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2011

Saltiest water I ever swam in, BUT buoyancy was so nice, and there were a lot of fish, especially if you swim along the underwater shelf that's about 7 meters off the shoreline. Temperature was ideal for the hot days of mid September and the views of the mountains and sea are great. Black sand is hot so bring flip flops. No sea urchins to worry about. Very minor jellyfish action, not really a problem. I loved this beach, all in all. Restaurants and bars are fun, not obnoxious. Great sunrise AND full moonrise. Nice all around.

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
Thank PetertheJustOkay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,867 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,727
    1,551
    493
    76
    20
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
25 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Nice beach”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2011

I would probably give 3.5 stars if I were able. Nice long black sand beach with a great choice of bars and tavernas. As many have mentioned, dont pay for the sunbeds, just have a drink at one of the bars and use theirs for free. Sand gets very hot!! We did find that there were a lot of beach sellers (more than expected) and although a 'no thanks' is all it takes, it does get a bit annoying saying that every 5 mins when you are trying to relax! (this is what I would take the 1/2 star off for).

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
Thank sclark6694
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“LOVED Perissa and service by Tobi!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2011

4 of us spent a perfect day at the beach adjacent to Cafe Perissa with excellent, friendly, attentive service by Tobi. It was a magical day on a beautiful beach. We plan to return at least once again before we leave this island paradise.

Helpful?
Thank georgorama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
38 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Nice and with comforts”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2011

Perissa is actually the extension of Perivolos. The beach is quite long with many restaurants, beach bars and coffee shops. You can rent umbrellas and sunbeds but there are coffee shops who dont charge you anything provided you order something to drink. Prices are cheaper than Fira (main town of Santorini).
There are many dining options and some cheap restaurants with great food though which came as a surprise to us.
The sand is grey to black, unusual for Greece.
We went to red beach too. Its more scenic but inconvinient. No restaurants, facilities, nothing to buy to eat or drink and the beach is very very small totally crowded with people who want to see it.
Perissa instead has everything and you can lay down and relax.

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank Philipp_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Midlands
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Lovely beach with lots of chill out bars and restaurants”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2011

Very very nice beach. Would love to return to Santorini to enjoy it again.

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank Paula P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Perissa Beach also viewed

 
Perivolos, Santorini
 

Been to Perissa Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing