We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, shame about the bathroom”
Review of Amelie Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Amelie Hotel
Ranked #17 of 47 Perissa B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 13, 2012

Firstly, in terms of value for money you couldn't argue with Amelie Hotel, and it does have a lot going for it, however there were some downsides. Below I have tried to set out positives and negatives to provide a fair review.

Positives: very nice surroundings in traditional blue and white colours. Nice (small) pool and pool bar. Rooms were very clean and had nice table and chairs outside. Rooms also had a fridge which was great for water and drinks, and air con which was invaluable in the heat. Staff were friendly and helpful. The hotel is fairly well located, a short walk from the beach area, and restaurants etc.

Negatives: the bathroom was our biggest issue. Amelie has "wet room" style bathrooms which is fine, however our bathroom was so small you could have taken a shower whilst sitting on the toilet and washing your hands all at the same time. I have never seen a bathroom so small, it was more like a toilet with a shower mounted on the wall. Room lacked some storage space, although not a big issue. Fridge as very noisy, we had to unplug it overnight as the noise was so loud. Hotel advises safe boxes however these are in reception, and there are not enough for every room in the hotel. We had to wait a day for another guest to leave before we could have one, meaning we were keeping all valuables in our room. Breakfast was also pretty minimal and the same every day. After 5 days we were definitely in need of a change.

If you are looking for good value in Perissa this is a great place, however do be aware of the points above. We had a nice stay and would recommend this place if value for money is a priority (and you don't mind the small bathroom) but if we were to return to Perissa we would probably try somewhere different.

Room Tip: Try and get a pool view room if you can
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lou2109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (365)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

131 - 137 of 365 reviews

Reviewed September 7, 2012

A very nice, relaxing hotel set back from the main road through Perissa. Good facilities (pool, bar, pool table), and the staff were amazing. Vicki made us feel very welcome, helped us to organise trips and we wanted for nothing.

Overall an excellent experience, thank you!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bubo_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2012

Very clean, excellent hotel for the price we paid and the staff very friendly and professional! Vicky the manager always had a sincere smile on her face and gave us the best recomendations for restaurants, cafes and beaches we should visit before leaving the island. Santorini is an amazing island and combines romance and party. Hotel Amelie had a really nice and clean swimming pool overlooking the Perissa mountain. We will miss swimming in it while drinking the tasty and big cocktails. One thing I shouln't forget is their price -for what we we re bying. Very ecomonical and big in size.

Can't wait to go again. Thank you Amelie. Best and cleanest hotel we have been in Greece!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ELENA K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2012

We had a fantastic stay for a week in Santorini. Hotel Amelie was exceptinally clean, the staff very friendly and polite with impecable customer service, the pool bar and swimming pool is a must see also. Vicky the manager was always there with a big sincere smile and the staff was exellent too. Ahh, also I shouldn't forget the lady in the kitchen, making the delicious marmelades from their local fruits (figs, red grapes, apricots, etc).
The hotel beach was lovely with very nice and low cost bars and restaurants. We rented a scooter for our stay and toured the whole island in a week. The nicest area in Santorini was Firostefani Caldera and Oia village overlooking the volano. My husband asked me to marry him for a second time, ha ha crazy men!

We will definately return. We loved Santorini and hotel Amelie.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sofia K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2012

Had another fantastic holiday at Amelie. We were there last May 2011 and just come back from another wonderful holiday last month we even hope to squeese another trip in at the end of the season! Such a warm reception at hotel, staff so friendly and helpful and hotel so pretty and clean a real Greek feel! Thanks so much!!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lucylou32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2012

We stayed here three nights and it was wonderful. It's a small place so it's nice and quiet and you can always get a lounge next to the beautiful pool, there's not many people around. The bar area is nice and there is a pool table there which we used a lot. The rooms are nice and clean, only negative is the shower. We had to hold the shower head up and the water was very salty. The hotel is in a great location down a little side street close to the beach, restaurants and bars. Staff were very friendly and helpful, would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jess P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2012

Great little hotel: Away from the crowds, but only minutes walk to the buzz and beach. Small, but very clean rooms. Fantastic little pool area, which is a nice retreat and gives a sense of luxury. Vicky is a great hostess and we really enjoyed our stay. We'll certainly be back!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gschwager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Perissa
0.3 mi away
Marianna Hotel
Marianna Hotel
#13 of 40 in Perissa
290 reviews
5.1 mi away
Galatia Villas
Galatia Villas
#46 of 80 in Fira
348 reviews
0.1 mi away
Irigeneia Hotel
Irigeneia Hotel
#18 of 40 in Perissa
65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Roula Villa
Roula Villa
#11 of 40 in Perissa
269 reviews
0.2 mi away
Villa Markos
Villa Markos
#14 of 40 in Perissa
138 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ancient Thera Studios
Ancient Thera Studios
#11 of 47 in Perissa
79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amelie Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amelie Hotel

Address: Perissa Beach | Santorini, Perissa 847 03, Greece
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Perissa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 47 B&Bs / Inns in Perissa
Price Range: $51 - $123 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Amelie Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Amelie, a complex built in 2010, overlooks the Perissa mountains, 150 m from the famous Perissa beach, 2 kms from Perivolos beach & 9 kms from Kamari beach. All rooms come with stone built beds, satellite TV, direct dial telephone, A/C, mini fridge, balcony or veranda, continental breakfast served in the pool area or the in the room and, private parking. Amelie also provides its guests with free high speed wi-fi internet access to all rooms and public areas, laundry service and free pool towels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your Amelie Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amelie Hotel Santorini/Perissa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing