We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good price, nice rooms”
Review of Hotel Athanasia

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Athanasia
Ranked #34 of 46 Perissa B&B and Inns
Reviewed July 19, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in Perissa for a week. Location for this hotel was nice, beach and busstop are near. Clean rooms, but they are bit small. Breakfast wasn't what we expected, because it was just toast, margarine or jam, juice and tea/coffee. Pool area is ok. Staff are kind, but they don't speak english.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RiikkaA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (136)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

47 - 53 of 136 reviews

Reviewed July 4, 2013

We booked this place having stayed in Santorini apartment 6 yrs before. The apartments on the Olympic website showed a lovely modern apartment, described as newly decorated with a private balcony and were called Prive Suites, the rep directed us to Athanasia apartments as our accomodation, explaining that that is what the accom we booked was called. They were not newly decorated, but extremely tired, it was not an apartment, nor "bungalow" as the owner referred to it. V ttiny sized with smallest bathroom ever, downstairs room had sink, v small 2 ring hob on the sink, a single bed, tiny table and two Greek traditional dining chairs and a wardrobe, upstairs bedroom with sloped walls both sides which meant ducking every time getting to and from beds. No other bedding apart from sheets and pillows. Our outside seating area which was described as private balcony on website was on a walkway for 5 other rooms and their beach costumes, etc were draped around outside around us. Aircon and safe you pay extra 8 euros for aircon per day. Found out on coach going home when asked rep why booked Prive and now Athanasia, she explained a building opposite Athanasia is Prive, and said the accom at Prive more basic, I laughed at that, I don't think so..........sounds like there is huge dishonesty from all parties wanting to keep all of the rooms and apartments in the old and inferior accomodation booked and misrepresenting by advertising the photos and description of the more comfortable and attractive newer Prive Suites. On this basis I would not recommend anyone booking this place through Olympic, or indeed at all, and I shall not be booking through Olympic in future if this is how they think its is ok to treat customers, disgraceful! Perissa beautiful place as is the island, shame such shoddy practice put a dampener on the holiday.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank C S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2013

First impressions are very good, with a clean pool and surrounding area (if not a little ‘cosy’ for our liking). The rooms were clean and tidy and ours had a spiral staircase leading up to the bedroom. Air conditioning is available (extra charge) and think it would be a necessity at the height of summer. The ‘kitchen area’ has very limited resources with a double electric ring and a fridge (no kettle or toaster). The bathroom was very small (but functional) with shower area, toilet and sink. The rooms are very close together and on top of each other and any noise does seem to seep into your room. If you are looking for good, clean accommodation, close to the beach with loads of restaurants and tavernas within 200 yards, then Athanasia is ideal. For luxury, you will have to look elsewhere (and pay a lot more)

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MelthamTerrier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2012

We have just returned from these apartments and had a fantastic holiday, I'm sure peoples views on things are very different we found the owners very welcoming and friendly the apartments are quite basic but if you want 5 star pay more money !! They had everything we needed also really near to beach, restaraunts and bars, cleaner came in neally every day towels and sheets changed most days

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank sparkydogDarlington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2012

We did not chose this hotel, we booked an excursion with "Hermes holidays", Bulgaria and the offer was for a 3* hotel No Name, which means that at the very last moment they tell you the hotel you will stay at. We did not expect any luxury hotel at all for the money we payed, however this one was absolutely horrible. We were first accommodated at a room with 2 single beds despite they knew we are a family and to get to the room we needed to climb many narrow steep steps with the heavy suitcase. We complained and we were moved to a ground floor room with a double bed. This room had just a little window, facing an inside corridor, which means that there was not light or fresh air coming in from it. Our neighbours were constantly leaving their dirty socks and shoes in front of their door. When we entered the room it turned out that it is actually separated by another room with an interconnection door, and there was a wardrobe in front of it. For this reason we were able to hear every single word of the people in the room behind this interconnection door. The remote controls for the AC and TV were staying at the reception, so if you wish to use them you have to ask, but the problem is that the owners hardly speak 1-2 words in English. It turned out that the TV remote control had been somehow lost by the house keeper and we received another one that was not working, in the day before we left. In the bathroom was not clean at all. The taps were rusty and dirty, the shelf for toilette accessories was very dirty too. There was not shower curtain and everything gets wet when take a shower. There is not even a soap in the bathroom!! I needed a blanket first night and I went to the reception desk which was locked. There was a sign to ring the bell (the owners were supposed to live there), however at 8.30 PM nobody appeared after a half an hour ringing the bell. The breakfast was the same for all clients- 3 pieces of bread, 2 pieces of butter and 2 of marmalade + a cup of coffee and a glass of orange juice. I do not complain about that, because most probably the price of B&B had been low enough for this type of service, but I blame Hermes Holidays Bulgaria for ruing our otherwise good impression from Santorini by choosing such a budget hostel type of place, presenting it as 3* hotel! I am glad we did not took our young son with us, I simply can not imagine how would he survive in this place...

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Bgtraveler562
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2012

We stayed at the Athanasia Apartments for a week. After reading reviews we were sceptical - but we were pleasantly surprised. After being dropped off down the road by Thomas Cook (5 minute walk), we arrived to be greeted by the friendly owner (she spoke little English but was very friendly). We were shown to our apartment across the road in the new annex, which was lovely, in a courtyard setting. Our room was basic but very clean, there was a fridge and sink, the owner asked if we would be cooking and we said no. I assume she would have provided kitchen utensils if needed. The shower was a basic Greek hand held shower and the water is salty, not particularly pleasant to brush your teeth in but fine for washing. We paid 7 Euros a day for the air conditioning which was needed. We had our apartment cleaned daily and it was always left spotless.

At night there were LED lights lighting the entrance to our apartment .and it was very quiet. The nearest bars, restaurants and beach were a 5 minute walk away, very convenient location. We never used the pool as the beach was our preference but it looked nice. We also never ate breakfast, so we can't comment on that.

Overall much better than we expected and it is basic, but clean and the location was ideal.

Room Tip: Request a newer room in the annex
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Clarkie2323
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2012

booked self catering hol but rooms were not to desirable,so luckily for us stayed in there b and b rooms across the road no cooking facilities but you can boil an egg in the kettle !! bedding changed daily owners pleasant, nice courtyard . 07/12

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Darren G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Perissa
0.0 mi away
Villa Markos
Villa Markos
#14 of 40 in Perissa
137 reviews
5.5 mi away
Margarita Hotel
Margarita Hotel
#20 of 21 in Firostefani
135 reviews
0.1 mi away
Anny Studios
Anny Studios
#30 of 40 in Perissa
207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Stelios Place
Stelios Place
#2 of 40 in Perissa
524 reviews
0.0 mi away
Prive Suites
Prive Suites
#28 of 46 in Perissa
31 reviews
0.0 mi away
Anastasia Princess Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Athanasia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Athanasia

Address: Perissa 84702, Greece
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Perissa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 46 B&Bs / Inns in Perissa
Price Range: $25 - $74 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Athanasia 2.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
comfortable staying 5 minutes walking from Perissa beach , restaurants , mini market, bus station and bars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Athanasia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Athanasia Santorini/Perissa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing