We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pros and Cons”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ellinon Thea Boutique Hotel
Ranked #15 of 21 Hotels in Firostefani
Certificate of Excellence
delray beach fla.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Pros and Cons”
Reviewed September 1, 2011

Ellinon Thea is a great place with well appointed rooms and very nice balconies, each with their own jacuzzi and a spectacular view of the cadera. the rooms are spotless and well decorated, each morning a very nice continental breakfast is served to your room at will. The staff members are wonderful, and anything you might ask for is done happily. Upon arrival we were not really happy to find that our beautiful rooms and balcony with a private jacuzzi were at street level, meaning that between your room and the spectacular view was a road (mainly pedestrian) and a few cars and mopeds passing by, can actually look directly into your room and certainly a full view of the balcony and the jacuzzi. The up side is that the pedestrian and automobile traffic is quite light in firostefani, so by day two the few curious stares were overcome by the beautiful view we had. I also noticed a room that is regarded as having a garden view, I can only hope that it is deeply discounted, mainly because it is aview of a flat dirt surface with no plant life that could easily be out done by a walmart parking lot. We were very happy we had the rooms we did, and enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank zipp1212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    64
    29
    9
    1
See reviews for
27
106
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
skip16
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2011

Ok, we stayed for 4 nights in a Maisonette room with jacuzzi with Agean View......
Firstly - the positives were the Breakfast, the location in the heart of Firastefani 6 min walk to Fira, and the room was nice enough particularly having TV in bedroom was nice.
NOW onto the negatives....
This was NOT a hotel....its more like a guesthouse. The Maisonettes design isnt great. The Ensuite bathroom is at the top of MARBLE steps and going to bathroom from bed, you could easily fall down the stairs as the ballistrade ends short!
Also... there is no shower curtain in the Ensuite which means water EVERYwhere... and no cleaning up by staff afterwards.... so you use all your towels to soak up the floor so you dont slip until the next morning when after brekky the cleaner comes...
the price - RIDICULOUSLY overpriced.. however this is the average roughly for the area.
The staff leave every afternoon etc which means no one at reception should you need something. albeit they leave a phonenumber...but hey, when your International phone runs out of credit???? what to do....
- not once in 4 nights were our toiletries replaced.
- And when you turn the Jacuzzi bubbles, all the (marble) flooring gets flooded!!!

BUT - the worst is how this holiday ended (the short version)... and it was all due to the staff - one girl in particular ......who basically got into A FIGHT WITH US when we were checking out OVER the Aircon unit which we said never worked for the 4 nights, and she basically called us LIERS and said it worked when she checked it out for us and constantly talked over us in Greek, wouldnt let us finsih our sentences (when we werent as agressive trying to tell her) etc etc it was sooo uncomfortable and should NOT have happened .....

So the long of it (for those who want to read a good ole rant!) - Throughout our stay we mentioned the Aircon didnt work. (We live in the UAE, so we know how Aircon units work!) ....we mentioned it to the said receptionist one morning and she said "yes of course we'll check it out..." fine!
That late afternoon/night we returned and of course, all the staff have gone home as per usual. We get to our room, and there is no note to say the Aircon works..... no note nothing to tell us that that staff member checked out the Aircon for is. And it gets hot particularly in the top floor of a maisonette when its roughly mid 20's - early 30's heat at night. So when we went to check out in the morning, the SAME staff member was there to check us out. I mentioned "The aircon still didnt work... we tried everything over the last 4 nights, it doesnt work?" and ALL HELL BREAKS LOOSE.... it started off ok... but she proceeded to tell us it did work... after she checked it, it worked. I was like, no it doesnt or at least, it didnt work for us? I said "Unless there is some special trick to get it working, then pressing the ON bottom pointing at the machine over and over again does not work" My husband meanwhile was already getting very agitated by her agressive manner, including her WALKING back up the stairs to our room, checking it again, coming down and telling us to "COME.... it works .. come let me show you" and we were like???? WTF.... there is no point checking it now... we are leaving!!!!!!.... she was basically calling us liars.....
And i was trying to be the calmer one and say to her "Listen, did you check it?" she said yes, and i said " ok, so why didnt you leave us a note to tell us listen it works, if you have trouble please contact us and we'll be over" ??? Do you not think this is pretty reasonable for a hotel to do so? and everytime i tried to reason with her, she continually spoke over us in Greek.... she was THE RUDEST woman i've ever come across in a hotel and beliveve you me i've stayed in quite a few....

So apologies for the long rant.. thinking back on it gets me annoyed again.. she was so rude. Apart from her, stay there fine.. but i personally think there is SOOO much better for the same price!!!!!!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Skip16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ellinonthea, RAPIDBOUNCE Ltd. at Ellinon Thea Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, April 9, 2012
On behalf of the hotel owners of Ellinon Thea Boutique Hotel I would like to firstly apologize for any inconvenience that you feel has been caused to you. Your review has made us extremely sad and actually disappointed us because our aim, as you can see in the other reviews on TripAdvisor, is always to satisfy our guests in terms of hosting, comfort, facilities and service. Regarding the air-condition you complained about the hotel staff clearly stated upon your arrival that it doesn’t work if you do not shut all windows first. We checked it twice the days you complaint about and it was absolutely in order ready to be used. As mentioned upon check-in the reception opens in the morning until 10 p.m. in the evening. On no website we appear as an accommodation with a 24/7 reception. Afterwards, as it is marked on Ellinon Thea’s external door, our guests can always reach our staff on their cell phone. At this point I would like to bring up the fact that all of our rooms have a phone which can be used for external calls so in case our guests don’t have a cell phone or not enough credit on it, they can always you the one in their room. Further, the missing shower curtain in the Maisonette with Aegean View is due to its architecture as it is built on the top of the room under the cupola. It is objectively not possible to place a shower curtain there. In addition, I would like to call attention to our house maid who cleans up the rooms extensively on a daily basis and always changes the toiletries as soon as they are used up from our guests. Finally, on the day of your check-out no one tried to be rude by speaking in Greek as it was only in order to translate what you said between the staff and me the owner. At least we tried to calm down the situation by covering your taxi expenses. Once again we would like to apologize for any frustration you might have felt, however we insist that we always see our guests first and try hard to leave them one by one satisfied, enriched with sweet memories and the wish to come back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, oregon
2 reviews
Reviewed July 7, 2010

Delightful boutique hotel in a fantastic location. We had a view of both seas from our room. Staff was very friendly and helpful. Clean, classy, and a fabulous breakfast brought to room. I would stay again in a heartbeat. Loved it.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank empress65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
milano
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2009

I love Santorini and i love this hotel...very very nice..the girl's of reception very kindly...all is beautiful in santorini and the ellinon is the place of relax and love

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank santorini75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
greece
1 review
Reviewed July 31, 2008

We are writting this review to all of you who are intrerest to have luxurious and qualitative vacation in the center of the island. The incredible invironment and the cosy facilities promise you unforgetable vacations..The personnel of the hotel is very polite and willing to satisfy any of your desire.We are a young couple and we insure you that our residence will be anforgettable. We enjoyed our selves completely!! that's the main point of this review.. Nikos, Elpida

  • Stayed July 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank elpidaGreece
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
california
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 7, 2007

This cute boutique hotel has an awesome location. Just a short walk into Thira town. We had a balcony with jacuzzi. The view of the caldera is absolutelyt STUNNING. You could literally just enjoy the room or immediate area of restaurants (also with stunning views) and cute shops. The sunsets are also amazing. My only complaint was that the jaccuzzi is only lukewarm,not hot. The room was clean and beautifully decorated. Nice homey touches like bathrobes and slippers and basket of shower amenities. Breakfast served at your door is hot and delicious. Considered continental but since it includes eggs, I still found it quite satisfying. Served with expresso or cappuchino. We had ours on the balcony while enjoying the view and morning sun. As it is facing a main pathway, there isn't a lot of privacy but still very convenient for those who want a caldera view but prefer not to deal with a lot of steep steps.
We found Maria to be quite frindly and very helpful with directions.Would definately stay in this peaceful little hotel again.

  • Liked — the caldera view from balcony
  • Disliked — lukewarm jacuzzi
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank manhatten1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2007

There was no privacy staying in the ground floor accomodation people walked by all day and night. The charge the hotel made to move to the upper floor was very expensive. For the whole of our stay in September the jaccuzis would not heat up and the excuse was always the same, they were waiting for them to be repaired. It is a very expensive place to stay and was excellent for cleanliness, lovely bedding, towels etc, having said that there are lots of beautiful places to stay on Santorini and we would not stay at this hotel again. We travelled with Sunvil Holidays and we got no satisfaction from them regarding privacy of the rooms(re the discription in the brochure) and the unheated jaccuzis.

  • Liked — Cleanliness
  • Disliked — Position of ground floor accomodation and unheated jaccuzis
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Poppy006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Firostefani hotels
0.2 mi away
Blue Dolphins Traditional Apartments
0.2 mi away
Villa Ilias Caldera Hotel
Villa Ilias Caldera Hotel
#2 of 21 in Firostefani
4.5 of 5 bubbles 786 reviews
0.2 mi away
Dana Villas Hotel & Suites
Dana Villas Hotel & Suites
#3 of 21 in Firostefani
4.5 of 5 bubbles 934 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Ira Hotel & Spa
Ira Hotel & Spa
#7 of 21 in Firostefani
4.5 of 5 bubbles 462 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Mylos
Hotel Mylos
#14 of 21 in Firostefani
4.5 of 5 bubbles 91 reviews
0.0 mi away
Agnadema Apartments
Agnadema Apartments
#13 of 21 in Firostefani
4.5 of 5 bubbles 196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ellinon Thea Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ellinon Thea Boutique Hotel

Property: Ellinon Thea Boutique Hotel
Address: Firostefani 84700 , Greece
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Firostefani
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#12 Romantic Hotel in Firostefani
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ellinon Thea Boutique Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the most wonderful spot of Santorini island offering an immense field of the Aegean sea view and the volcano emerging through its crystal clean waters, Ellinon Thea Boutique Hotel is the ideal choice for a truly relaxing "experience" stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Ellinon Thea Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ellinon Thea Boutique Hotel Santorini/Firostefani

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing