We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Great place not in the center of the noise” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sky of Thira

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Sky of Thira
Ranked #20 of 21 Hotels in Firostefani
Tirana, Albania
Level Contributor
1 review
“Great place not in the center of the noise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2011

Really enjoyed the place. The room was very comfortable and with a variety of places to stay and do other things (if ya know what I mean...).

Nice people visiting it and a very charismatic George to whom I taught "Faleminderit" (thank You in albanian.)

I would suggest to non much spending travelers.

Room Tip: Room nr 4.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank aresuli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    6
    13
    5
    4
See reviews for
7
18
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Saint John, Canada
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2011

My boyfriend and I were traveling through Greece and Santorini was a stop on the way. We were very fortunate to have Jon Vlachos from the hotel economy recommend us to go to a travel agency (passe partout) to book a cruise to the islands. In our package was accommodations to the Sky of Thira Hotel. Georgio picked us up right from the port and brought us to the hotel, which he repeated at the end of our stay. Rooms were more like apartments with kitchenette, 2 rooms, balcony with beautiful view of countryside (doesn't face the caldera so anyone who posts a negative review because of this shall be forewarned). This is not a resort so not like the all inclusive down south deals. 15 min walk outside of Thira(shopping/dining hubub) so it is nice and quiet in the evenings once you trek back from town. It is on a busy street and everyone drives very fast, so please lookout. Air conditioning was wonderful, worked so well I felt like I was back in Canada. There is a pool there that is enclosed by the building so nice and private. It is small but great for a nice lounge or quick dip (sorry to those who like lap pools). Breakfast is included everyday, very good but repetitive, but always in abundance. Georgio used to be a ship captain so make sure if you want to book a volcano/caldera excursion to go through him as he gets great deals. Overall was an amazing, relaxing and unforgettable stay.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank schmoopster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2010

My partner and I spent 6 nights here and were disappointed with our stay. Although breakfast is included, it consisted of the same thing each morning so after day 4 we ventured out for our own breakfast. The location is about a 10/15 min walk from the main street and the roads are not lit at night so you have to be careful. Also our balcony overlooked the road on the corner so passing traffic was a nuisance. But the wind was so strong on the balcony that we didn't spend much time on there anyway.
The manager collected and dropped us at the airport and recommended a nearby place for food which is owned by his brother and mum. It does great souvlaki's!
We wanted to hire a quad bike and George drove my partner up to town to a shop. We assumed most shops would offer roughly the same rates but we only paid for a day's hire before comparing prices with other shops only to find rates were a lot cheaper elsewhere. So my advice is to not let George recommend a bike hire shop as he will take you to his friend's shop which is pricier than others.
If I was to return to Santorini, I would stay in Imergovli as this is closer to the main part and much prettier.
If you are on a lower budget and looking for a place slightly out of the way, then Sky of Thira is fine.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank topaz_79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2010

This hotel is located in a quiet neighborhood about 15 minutes by foot from downtown Fira, with views of the non-caldera side of the island. However, the hotel was the low point of an otherwise lovely vacation to Santorini. The rooms are shabbily decorated, mattress is uncomfortable, and the breakfast consists of mostly bread doled out carefully by the proprietor's wife under his watchful eye. (The poor woman seemed to be suffering from a serious cold or flu while preparing it, too). The internet access consists of use of the owner's computer in his office; no wireless or using it when he is not around. Although we declined to hire the proprietor for a personal drive around the island, it would have helped for him to share basic information, such as that there is a bus stop about 50m from the hotel. The dealbreaker, however, was that the proprietor did not turn on the hot water until we asked him to, and only after placing phone calls to 3 different numbers at 8 pm. Santorini was lovely, but we dreaded coming back at the end of the day.

  • Stayed October 2010
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rosie-wed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Firostefani hotels

Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
131 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2010

The location is average, the rooms where quite good for the price paid, however we had problems with the hotel manager, who tried to offer much worse rooms than the ones we had booked. We had to take an our negotiating and contact the travel agency through which we had made the reservation, in order to get what we had booked at first place.

Finally we got a nice room, very spacious. Had there been another manager, the place would have been much much better.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank midiangr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
95 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2010

Pros: Friendly staff who were willing to accommodate our requests for room choice, very good price, complimentary pick up/drop off to/from the hotel.

Cons: Not particularly close to the main strip (a good 15 minute walk and note there are no street lights at night!), the "view" is not towards the caldera but towards the other side of the island (farmland!), located on a street corner so very noisy (ATVs, trucks), the window in our room was next to the pool and we could hear the water running throughout the whole night, springy mattress, internet not included, lowest grade toilet paper that I've ever come across (to the point that I feel this needs to be mentioned!)

We booked this place at the last minute and was recommended by a travel agent in Athens. I wouldn't exactly call it a hotel - it was more like a motel/bed and breakfast run by a local family. The furnishings are all very basic - I guess if you are bringing the whole family (ie. with kids), this might be a reasonably choice economically. They have a pool but it is so tiny you wouldn't bother going in. Definitely not if you are looking for the ultimate romantic holiday with your partner/spouse!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Candy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Arab Emirtaes
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2010

We arrived to a very bright day and warmly welcomed by both Georghios and his wife Katherina.
Our visit being january not sure what to expect, however even though advsied by locals that it was off season and some locals away for their vacation, everyone very very friendly.
Found some rally good Restaurants and Coffe Bars that welcomed us with great hospitality
The Hotel very warm cosy that helped with the weather outside being quite cold, some rain, and a cool breeze at times.
We visited, Oia, Kamari, Monolithos ( great Fish restaurant on the Beach, recommended by Georghios our Hotel Manager / owner, in fact he joined us for Lunch
My partner and I will certainly be back to Santorinin and Sky Of Thira but this time during the warmer summer months

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NDolphin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Firostefani hotels
0.1 mi away
Belvedere Santorini
Belvedere Santorini
#8 of 21 in Firostefani
4.5 of 5 bubbles 434 reviews
0.2 mi away
Villa Ilias Caldera Hotel
Villa Ilias Caldera Hotel
#2 of 21 in Firostefani
4.5 of 5 bubbles 763 reviews
0.1 mi away
Dana Villas Hotel & Suites
Dana Villas Hotel & Suites
#6 of 21 in Firostefani
4.5 of 5 bubbles 834 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Ellinon Thea Boutique Hotel
Ellinon Thea Boutique Hotel
#15 of 21 in Firostefani
4.0 of 5 bubbles 155 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sofia Hotel Santorini
Sofia Hotel Santorini
#19 of 21 in Firostefani
4.0 of 5 bubbles 59 reviews
0.1 mi away
Manos Small World
Manos Small World
#3 of 21 in Firostefani
5.0 of 5 bubbles 217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sky of Thira? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sky of Thira

Property: Sky of Thira
Address: Firostefani 84700, Greece
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Firostefani
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 21 Hotels in Firostefani
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Sky of Thira 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated at the highest point of Firostefani, Sky of Thira is a 5-minute walk to the caldera. It features an on-site pool and sauna and free pick up/drop off service.Guests at the family-run Sky of Thira can choose among spacious, Cycladic-style rooms, or self-catering apartments and suites. Most rooms have private balconies and views over the Aegean Sea and the island of Anafi.Breakfast is served each morning and can be enjoyed next to the pool. Refreshments are available at the pool or main bar.Fira, Santorini’s capital and nightlife center, is just 1 km away. Athinios port is 9 km away, while the airport is 7 km away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Expedia so you can book your Sky of Thira reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sky Of Thira Firostefani
Sky Of Thira Santorini/Firostefani

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing