We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Did not want to leave”
Review of Sunset Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Sunset Hotel
Ranked #7 of 15 Firostefani B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 13, 2013

My husband and I spent 3 nights at this wonderful hotel. The view from the hotel is unbelievable. We were welcomed by the lady at the front desk with 2 glasses of wine, sat on the terrace and enjoyed the beautiful sunset. It was SO peaceful. The breakfast spread was plentiful and included the best greek yogurt I've ever had. The rooms are basic european size (small), but clean. Location is about a 20 minute drive to Oia, and about a 10-15 minute walk to Fira. Loved every second here and would highly recommend. It is truly a special place.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thaimex81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (218)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

90 - 96 of 218 reviews

Reviewed June 10, 2013

Well located hotel with in walking distance from Fira but far enough away to be peaceful.

well price room which also includes breakfast.

Stunning views, no need to goto Oia when you can enjoy the sunset from the lounges here. They also have well price drinks and water.

There are plentiful restaurants at your door step to try. Staff here are great and very helpful, could not ask for more.

Great way to end our Europe trip.

Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank HVbris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2013

Relax and come in touch with your inner soul... Service keeps the perfect balance between discretion and helpfulness. Perfect caldera view. Really peaceful place close to the Fira. Take the walk from the hotel to Fira along the caldera. It is amazing! Taverns and restaurants around are a separate exciting world to discover.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with trip.ru
1  Thank vagfot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2013

I stayed in the sunset hotel in Firostefanie for one night only in May 2013.
The hotel is in Firostefani, close to the main square. Firostefani is an easy 10 minute walk to the main town Fira along a walkway with beautiful caldera views.
Many hotels on Santorini offer beautiful caldera views; sunset offers these as well from a beautiful terrace with comfortable garden furniture, where I spent my one night eating dinner and watching the sunset. The terrace also has a Jacuzzi. All rooms are off the terrace with the views. I found my room large and comfortable. The rate was reasonable in low season (65 euro for one night in mid may 2013).
Nik, the owner I believe, was very friendly and arranged a transfer to the airport for me with a private transfer company for 14 Euro , roughly the same as a taxi would have cost. Other reviews mentioned free airport transfer, this was not part of my booking, maybe it is a service just offered in high season.
I recommend the hotel for the views and the location- the main town is easy to reach but far enough away to have a quiet evening.
There is an Italian restaurant right beside the hotel, I can't remember the name but it doesn't have a terrace with views. The food there is fantastic at cheap prices.

Room Tip: All the rooms are similar
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eva L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2012

From the moment we arrived we knew we had made a great choice. The hotel had been recommended by a number of friends who have stayed at The Sunset Hotel over previous years. It certainly didn't disappoint. We were travelling with another couple and the rooms we were given were very comfortable, clean, well-appointed and spacious enough for each couple.
The other positive was that every room opened onto the terrace. The view was stunning and as the hotel's name suggests, the sunsets were spectacular.
Our host was extremely friendly and welcoming.
Breakfasts were more than adequate and were taken on the terrace. The spa was popular with guests and although the hotel is not large, we never felt as though our privacy was being compromised.
Location, not only to the view, but to the bus, taxi area was another plus.
Our 3 nights here provided us with a wonderful start to our European vacation.

Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
1  Thank Phillip8789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2012

I did a fair amount of research in trying to find a reasonably priced hotel with a great view in Santorini for a mid October 2009 stay. (I just found the pictures from our stay in October '09 and decided to put up a review.) In the end, Sunset Hotel was an excellent choice. It had nearly everything one could want in a Santorini hotel:

1) Excellent views
2) Great location
3) Comfortable and nice accommodations
4) Great vale for the price
5) Attentive and gracious staff.

Let me go into further detail about each of these points.

1) The pictures speak for themselves.

2) Sunset is just off the main road and steps from a handful of restaurants, coffee shops, cocktail lounges, cafes, small markets, etc in Firostefani. It's also both close enough to the capital city of Fira so that you can easily access the clubs, restaurants, bars, etc of Fira if you want to (12-15 minute walk), but also far enough to allow you to get away from all the noise and crowds when you need to. I think Firostefani too often gets overlooked as a place to stay in Santorini. We found it to be a quiet, quaint and beautiful small town and its close proximity to Fira allowed us to go back and forth as needed, without having to spend money on taxis or a rental vehicle. Friends that we traveled with stayed north of us in Imerovigli. It took them at least 30 minutes to make the walk from their hotel to Fira, which they quickly found to be annoying.

3) The accommodations were clean and well kept. My girlfriend and I shared a double bed which was a bit firm, but not uncomfortably so. The room featured a small, but perfectly sufficient kitchenette with a sink and stove top as well as plates, silverware, cutlery and other utensils. It also had a small table with chairs for eating. If memory serves me right, there was also a minifridge to store some groceries that we purchased at the nearby market. The room had a flat screen TV mounted to the wall and angled towards the bed. The bathroom was rather large, very clean and modern looking. There was a full tub and shower, which was a welcome surprise. For pictures of our room (Room 5) including the bathroom, see the review by Paul H, Nov 2008 "Awesome Sunset!" (http://www.tripadvisor.com/ShowUserReviews-g635607-d618362-r21780906-Sunset_Hotel-Firostefani_Santorini_Cyclades.html).

Though we were initially worried that we might hear the foot traffic of those using the "back" entrance to the Sunset Hotel which was right above our room, it really was never an issue during our stay. We did, however, stay in mid October so there was likely less foot traffic at latter times of the night than there otherwise would be during the summer months.

Outside our room, we had a small private patio with a table where breakfast was served every morning. The breakfast wasn't fancy, but it was a nice touch nonetheless. Eating breakfast at the table while taking in the views of the blue ocean and caldera was a pretty nice way to wake up. Beyond the small private patio is a fairly large balcony that is for the use of all of Sunset's guests. The furniture on the balcony was perfect for relaxing and taking in the unfettered, beautiful views. There is also a jacuzzi for use by Sunset's guests which is located on the southern part of the balcony, but we did not try it out.

4) The Sunset Hotel is well priced. Truthfully, it's the value that is its best selling point. If it were priced too much higher, people would likely expect more of the hotel, particularly in the form of more luxurious rooms (i.e. comfier mattresses, higher thread count sheets, larger beds, bigger TVs with more channels to choose from, dedicated internet access in the rooms, nicer furniture and overall more sophisticated design aesthetic). But that sort of thing never came to mind during our stay at Sunset. In fact, we were struck by how MUCH value we felt we were getting for our money. You can find cheaper places to stay, but I would doubt that you would get all the things that Sunset Hotel has to offer: immaculate views of the caldera, serene atmosphere, clean and well appointed rooms, a caring and helpful staff, proximity (& distance) to Fira, and quick access to cafes, bars and restaurants, etc. Certainly one, if not two or three of those important features would have to be forgone to stay anywhere cheaper.

5) Nek (short for Nektarios) runs the Sunset. Rather than using a third party website to make my reservations, I emailed the hotel itself. Nek responded quickly and in addition to giving me a great price for the rooms, also helped arrange for transport between the ferry port and the hotel at a very reasonable 6 euros each way. (As a side note: The transport bus did take a long time to get the hotel because it dropped off several other parties at various other hotels along the way. If you are in a hurry to get the hotel I would recommend getting a taxi, but if you can spare 45 minutes you can save a fair amount of money by using the transport bus). Anyway, Nek was great. One day when the wireless router was having issues and my girlfriend needed to respond to some work emails, Nek was nice enough to let my girlfriend work from inside his office where the router was located so that she could conduct her business. He provided us with information about what beaches to go to and how to get to them. He also recommended a restaurant for us to go to our first night, The Aktaion. The restaurant, which happens to be the oldest restaurant on Santorini, was located less than a five minute walk from the hotel. It was likely the best food we ate during our stay on the island. Nek was a kind and helpful host and made our stay wonderful.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank C S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2012

We had 3 beautiful days at sunset hotel. Exactly what we were looking for, simple clean and amazing view!! Good location with some restaurants and stores right outside the hotel, and 15 minutes walking from fira . Our room was comfortable, with cable tv, air condition and fridge. we loved the hot tud jacuzzi and nice breakfast at our portch, all that with the unique view of the volcano, the sunset and the traditional white houses lighted in the night. Nectarios, who runs the hotel is really friendly. He arranged a moto for us when we needed and told us about best places of the island we should visit!! We had a great time. We will defenetly go back again.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AnnaLih
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Firostefani
0.1 mi away
Blue Dolphins Traditional Apartments
0 mi away
Mill Houses Elegant Suites
Mill Houses Elegant Suites
#4 of 21 in Firostefani
813 reviews
0.1 mi away
Villa Ilias Caldera Hotel
Villa Ilias Caldera Hotel
#1 of 21 in Firostefani
867 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Dana Villas Hotel & Suites
Dana Villas Hotel & Suites
#6 of 21 in Firostefani
1,062 reviews
1.2 mi away
Rocabella Santorini Hotel & Spa
0.1 mi away
Ira Hotel & Spa
Ira Hotel & Spa
#5 of 21 in Firostefani
514 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunset Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset Hotel

Address: Firostefani 84700, Greece
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Firostefani
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Firostefani
Price Range: $95 - $233 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sunset Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Air-condition, Direct-dial phone, Music, Color TV, Fridge, Safe box, Hair dryer, Dinning room. Studio massage, Breakfast area, Daily service, Cafe-bar, Transfer, Tours, Car-moto rental. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Sunset Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunset Hotel Santorini/Firostefani

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing