We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel; amazing service; wonderful location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Reverie Santorini Hotel
Ranked #1 of 15 Firostefani B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
arlington, va
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Great Hotel; amazing service; wonderful location”
Reviewed September 9, 2009

We stayed in the Reverie Apartments for 3 nights and absolutely loved it. The location is perfect--easy walk to Fira in a quieter section of the island. Getting around the island is no problem with the convenient bus that stops just near the hotel. The room was spacious, clean, quiet and well equipped. The view from the roof top terrace is amazing. Best of all, the Reverie staff, Nikolina,George,Vana & Antonia are absolutely committed to guest satisfaction. They go out of their way to help guests make the most of their time while visiting Santorini, They make guests feel very welcome and appreciated. We would highly recommend the Reverie Apartments and look forward to staying there again.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lpaltravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

611 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    515
    91
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
81
360
26
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Essex
Level Contributor
62 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2009

We really enjoyed our time at the Reverie. The family were extremely helpful, offering recommendations for restaurants and trips etc. If you go there - take notice of these, the restaurants are definitely the best and good value, some of the others are very expensive and too touristy. We liked our accommodation and found it extremely clean. The only negative comment would be that you don't get private terrace accommodation outside your room in most of them - its all around the pool. Not a problem because it was usually very quiet (although this was slightly spoilt for us for the last two days because a large group of Australian tourists arrived who were very loud and seemed to take over the whole pool area) or you could use the communal lounge/balcony area with great sunset views. The Reverie is in a great location for getting to Thira, Imerovigli and Oia and its very easy to get around the island by bus from the main bus station. Very good value accommodation compared to others in the area.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AnonymousEssex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2009

We have just returned from Europe, which included 3 nights at the Reverie Apartments. The apartment was great value for money and the service was excellent. The family made us very welcome and their friendly hospitality and incredible service was very much appreciated. The apartments are traditional and boutique style and our apartment was close to the pool. Breakfast was excellent with lovely homemade cakes and biscuits included in the continental breakfast for only 5 euros. The apartments were clean and homely.
There was a lovely friendly atmosphere amongst guests in the hotel which resulted from the family hosts.
Thank you we really enjoyed our stay.

Helpful?
Thank AucklandCarol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, England
Level Contributor
26 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2009

I can echo the other reviews when saying how friendly the staff were at the Reverie, especially the warm welcome with information about the Island. Book your transfer with them, especially if arriving at the port because it is very crazy there when the ferry arrives and much easier to get an easy lift to the apartments for $12 (although the driving was a little scary with some dodgy overtaking manoeuvres – we weren’t in that much of a hurry to get checked in!!)

We had a ground floor studio with a gated patio area at the front leading out onto the main pedestrian route across the caldera from Fira, through Firostefani, to Imerovigli. While this was not a particularly private area it was a nice addition for sitting out and eating or lounging, in addition to the other areas of the hotel with the pool area and top floor terrace.

The room itself was generously large and had a small kitchen area and a traditional style of decoration. Everything worked fine. There was air conditioning, or windows front and rear to open and get some air flow though if you preferred! There was a small safe in the wardrobe, not that Santorini ever feels like an unsafe place.

The pool area is in the centre of the buildings. It was a little cramped with a lot of rooms fronting out onto it. They seem to have a lot of sun loungers but not enough room to put many out without getting in someone’s way. However, it was never very busy especially in the pool itself and was great for an afternoon dip.

The location was absolutely perfect. It offers much better value for money than a direct caldera view, but this isn’t a problem – just go to one of the many bars in the area to get a great view of the sunset (we liked the Galini café). Walking into Fira is very easy along the path (there are some inclines nearer the town, but not too taxing) and the view on this route from Firostefani to Fira is about the best on Santorini. Firostefani is also a lot quieter than the centre of Fira as the tour groups and cruise passengers didn’t seem to stray this far up, making it a convenient and spectacular, but more relaxed base. Ideal!

The room, and the whole site were very clean. My one slight annoyance was that the cleaners were on site throughout the day and seemed to be so dedicated to their job that the pool area would be constantly mopped up and swept as if they were cleaning up after you! Leave your towel or a drink for too long and it is swiped to keep up the perfect appearance! They were friendly though.

Overall, just what we wanted.

I’ve noticed the location in the address on Trip Advisor says Kamari beach – this is wrong, it is in Firostefani, just north of Fira (although it is correct in the hotel ranking by area).

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horsham
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2009

The Reverie Traditional appartments are an absolute gem, we have not experienced the personal hospitality shown by the whole Reverie family in any other hotel we have stayed in. They ensure they provide everything you require and more to ensure your stay with them is a memorable and stress free experience.
We arrived at the appartments after a months island hopping and were warmly welcomed by Nikolina. Nikolina provided us with a book on Santorini and gave us some really useful information on places to visit, restaurants to eat in and various trips that we might like to go on. Nikolina's pride and love of her island was clearly plain to see and her wish to share it with us was very evident.
We stayed in a superior studio by the pool. This accomodation was very well equipped and provided us with everything we needed for our stay including very good quality toiletries , a hair dryer (very important for us ladies) and on request an iron for my clothes which although had been washed during the month had not been ironed!!
The rooms were absolutely immaculate and they were thoroughly cleaned everyday with clean linen and towels.
Pool and beach towels were also provided, the pool although small was great for a cool down especially after a days sightseeing.
The breakfast for 5 euros was personally prepared for you each morning as you arrived in the breakfast room . This consisted of eggs, cheese and ham toasts, bread, jams, orange juice, tea and coffe etc... and was of excellent standard.
The central location of the Revelrie makes it an excellent base for exploring Santorini.
At the back of the hotel there is a little cobbled path that leads down into Fira which is approximately a ten minute walk down hill. There are some excellent little restaurants all the way down this path and some very good ones in close proximity to the Revelrie. We particularly liked the Traditional Greek Taverna which was only a few minutes walk from the hotel and stands by the church the view from this restaurant is slightly set back from the Caldera but is fantastic for watching the sun set.
The Hotel Milo (Windmill) is great for having a 'Mohito' and watching the sunset although this costs 10euros they provide snacks and cheese so it is a lovely way to start your evening.
If you walk on down to Fira we would certainly reccomend the Stania and Elia (commonly known as the Olive tree) and the Naossa for good food.
On your visit you musn't miss visiting Oia to walk around the little streets and to watch the sun set. We also liked Kamari beach which is only a twenty minute bus ride away.

We would certainly reccommend this hotel to our friends it might not have the biggest swimming pool or the best views but what it does have is a fantasic family who make you feel so welcome and provide a hotel that is immaculately clean, extremely well run and customer service which is outstanding.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SharonHorsham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2009

We stayed at Reverie for 3 nights and wished we stayed much longer. The family who runs this place are extremely friendly, personable and helpful. We stayed here for our honeymoon, and they did their best to make us feel welcome and comfortable. Santorini is an incredibly beautiful island and Reverie is perfectly located just outside Thira, which is right in the middle of the island. We were able to walk to Thira for dinners and to take the public buses to beaches.

We rented a car for one day and it allowed us to visit a number of beaches and go to dinner in Oia. Nikolina, one of the Reverie family, helped organize the car rental for us (in less than half an hour of lead time) and also answered many questions we had. It seemed like she worked 12 hour days at reception, and yet she was always cheerful and ready to help.

The breakfasts are excellent and the hotel pool is small but very relaxing. Our room was clean, quiet and spacious. We would highly recommend these accomodations to anyone who wants to strike a balance between convenient location, quality facilities, knowledgeable staff and good value.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lawcanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lichfield, Staffs
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2009

No I'm not a member of the Reverie staff ! I'm just a very, very satisfied guest who honestly cant speak highly enough of our stay in these lovely, warm welcoming apartments.
We found the Reverie on trip advisor so had high hopes having read the previous great reviews but our stay surpassed all expectations. The lovely George picked us up from the airport as arranged & within ten minutes we arrived at the apartments. There we were warmly greeted by Nikolina who gave us a welcome drink, a book on Santorini & talked us through all the places of interest on the island including giving restaurant suggestions that won't break the bank. She was there every day of our stay and could not do enough for us throughout the week- she sorts excursions, takes your postcards, lets you use the internet, gives bus tmetables, everything- & her English is excellent.

Our superior studio was lovely- the kitchenette is tiny but you don't need more when the food close by is so good- who wants to cook! A quiet fridge ( very important with bed right next to it!) and great air con, hairdryer, direct dial phone, clean towels daily, pool towels provided. The pool is not huge so if you fancy much of a swim you will be out of luck but its the perfect size & temperature for the important cool off & there are plenty of sun loungers.

Breakfast is 5euro a day & to be recommended- just don't eat all the bread basket with your boiled egg which comes first as it is followed by ham & cheese toasties & cake!

A tiny stroll from the apartments are some great bars & restaurants but those with the view of the Caldera & the sunset can be pricey. However, all the bars serve snacks & nibbles so its more than a drink really. Fantastic restaurants in Fira which is a gorgeous 15 min walk away. Taverna Nickolas, Restaurant Stani & Elia ( often referred to as The Olive Tree) are all well worth a visit but avoid "Socrates View" unless you are happy to put up with waiters who treat you with total disdain- very un-Greek! The food was good but the service guaranteed no repeat visit.

We toured most of the island and its all lovely but Oia, 15 mins away from The Reverie on the bus, is a must- absolutely gorgeous & sooooo romantic!

All in all we had a fantastic week- Fira is a wonderful place to visit & The Reverie a wonderful place to stay. Loved it! Will be back!!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scarlet2711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Firostefani
0.1 mi away
Villa Ilias Caldera Hotel
Villa Ilias Caldera Hotel
#2 of 21 in Firostefani
4.5 of 5 bubbles 786 reviews
0.1 mi away
Blue Dolphins Traditional Apartments
0.3 mi away
Anteliz Suites Santorini
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Manos Small World
Manos Small World
#6 of 21 in Firostefani
5.0 of 5 bubbles 227 reviews
0.5 mi away
Evgenia Villas & Suites
0.1 mi away
Ira Hotel & Spa
Ira Hotel & Spa
#7 of 21 in Firostefani
4.5 of 5 bubbles 462 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Reverie Santorini Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Reverie Santorini Hotel

Property: Reverie Santorini Hotel
Address: Firostefani Village, Firostefani 847 00, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Firostefani
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Firostefani
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Reverie Santorini Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Reverie is situated in Firostefani, only 700 metres away form the central square of Fira and just a few steps from the Caldera side. The hotel has very easy access by the main road (you do not have to walk up and down many steps) and it is very convenient in case you want to rent a motorbike, a car or use the public bus service as the bus stop is just 50 metres away. Free parking is also at your disposal. At the back of the hotel there is the traditional walkway which runs along the Caldera side and leads down to Fira (or up to Imerovigli & Oia) with an amazing view to the sea, the volcano and the breathtaking Caldera. On the hotel premises, there is also a terrace which overlooks both sides of the island and you can enjoy the romantic sunsets and the unique views. At the hotel’s reception, you could very easily book Volcano/Sea excursions & bus tour tickets or rent a car/ motorbike. They will find the best deal for you! All the rooms, with white furniture, combine modern facilities with a traditional charm. The family (born &raised in Santorini) will make you feel safe and comfortable providing you with all the info and tips you need for a memorable stay in Santorini! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Reverie Santorini Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Reverie Traditional Apartments Hotel Firostefani
Reverie Santorini Hotel Firostefani

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing