We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hmm...” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mill Houses Elegant Suites

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Mill Houses Elegant Suites
Ranked #4 of 21 Hotels in Firostefani
Certificate of Excellence
Paris
Level Contributor
107 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Hmm...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2010

Yes, undoubtedly a gorgeous place to stay - well located on the caldera walk, only a 30 second walk to Firostefani's main square (where the buses take you to Thira or Oia) and a 10-15 minute walk to Thira. I loved that it was not in the centre of noisy Thira yet still walking distance to it if you wanted to experience its busy bars, cafes, restaurants and shopping thoroughfares. On top of that the walk between Firostefani and Thira is amazing with plenty of photo opportunities to be had.

Our studio room was tastefully furnished, light, bright and airy and it shared a balcony with two other studio rooms, and from there we had breathtaking views of the sea and the caldera. The bed was comfy, the bathroom was spacious (although no shower curtain) and there was a kitchenette with fridge (stocked with water) and coffee and tea. Breakfast was served on our balcony and consisted of an omelette or fried eggs with a bread and pastry basket, spreads and conserves, a greek yoghurt and banana, orange juice and a hot drink. More than enough to start the day but for the standard of accommodation it was nothing gourmet.

We were on the ground level so didn't have to walk up and down the stairs, unless we were heading to reception or the pool area. The pool is tiny , but there is also a small pool bar with great views as well. Drink prices were as you'd expect in a chic place such as this. Special mention to the Serbian guy, Nenand I think his name is, who was really friendly and just a cool guy!

Our big gripe was with the owner/manager type who gave us the feeling we were being ripped off the whole time; telling us we could have the room for €130 per night and then when we said we'd pay by credit card that rate suddenly went up to €150 per night. Why do they have such an aversion to credit cards over there? Greece is in Europe after all, a developed country! Even if there were bank fees to accept credit card payment, they couldn't have been €20 per day!! Or could they? (And, we're not the kind of people to walk around with €260 in our pockets. We are a young couple living in Paris, not American CEOs with the cash to dole out money left, right and centre - the kind of moneyed tourist we saw a lot of over there). Then we wondered whether these takings weren't being declared, that's why they wanted cash payment only?

And then he tells us that the room was a last minute cancellation so that the room was already fully paid for! Obviously we couldn't expect the room for free but since the room was already paid for, a bit of flexibility with regard to credit card payment would have been nice. But the guy wouldn't budge and he seemed quite pleased that he was making double the profit which just turned us off the place even more...ugh.

Apparently it's quite common for hotels to demand cash payment upfront like this but we didn't like it one bit. I''ve lived in 3 different countries and travelled extensively and have never seen such a fear of credit cards!

Other than that, if you don't come across that guy with an air of 'used car salesman' you should have a nice time. Yes it's beautiful and the views are lovely but not overly luxurious for the price. Right next door you have the same views, albeit more simple (but clean) rooms but for less than half the price!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RVHP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

737 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    574
    121
    25
    13
    4
See reviews for
68
524
26
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Antwerp, Belgium
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2010

The view one gets in the morning, while having breakfast, is breathtaking and well worth
the stay.But when one wants to go to a restaurant,to the supermarket, anywhere one has to fight those steep steps to get to the main street. Also the rooms are quite basic : very small bathroom, little space in the shower and only a small wardrobe, although we paid 210 euro per night. The staff however try to lift the valu of this hotel by making an extreme effort every day to please you and they try to make your stay as comfortable as possible.A stay of 4 days is more then enough and then try another island ...Don't forget to bring enough money with you because Greece has become a far from cheap island .

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank marcdens19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2010

My husband and I spent the first week of our honyemoon at the Mill Houses and couldn't have asked for a better way to experience Santorini. The hotel staff were incredible and picked us up from the airport, even when our arrival time changed at the last minute, served champange upon arrival, and offered wonderful tips and insight about Greece and Santorini throughout the visit.

Although there were others at the hotel, we felt like the set-up allowed for a lot of privacy--often making the hotel feel like a private home!

The location was fabulous--centralized, but not right in the thick of touristy area. The management helped us coordinate car rentals each time we needed at a very reasonable rate. The breakfast each morning overlooking the water so unbelievable. A perfect way to begin each morning. The room was clean, and cleaned regularly.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nhfirestone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2010

Pro's:
- Very friendly staff - this really gave our stay at Mill Houses an extra positive dimension! Always in a good mood and with good tips about the Island!
- Location: in Firostefani: walking distance from Fira (10 -15 min), you can choose the main road or the road alongside the caldera !
- Loads of good restaurants nearby
- Breakfast served on your balcony is very good !

Con's:
- Studio nr 01 was too noisy because of the Italian restaurant in the back and the Milos Café built on top.
- The bathroom could do with some updating
- Change the shower head ( was in our opinion a very old one)
- Change the 1 light in the bathroom - not enough light. If it could be changed by spots that would be a hughe improvement

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ChrisjeVisje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Granby
Level Contributor
55 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2010

If you want to actually live in one of those picture-postcard hotels on the cliffs of Santorini overlooking the caldera, there is no place better than the Mill Houses in Firostefani. Each room is a little bit different with its own idiosyncracies, but they all share the same prime location and great facilities. We had rooms 103 and 104.
In the morning when you step outside your room the staff is poised to serve your chosen breakfast at the counter facing due west, directly into the caldera. Yiannis is your guy in the office checking you in and out, setting-up your rental car, airport transfers, tours to the islands in the caldera-- the works. Nenad makes your stay special, primarily during the day in the pool/bar area and as he manages your breakfast. This is a person who in his short time working at Mill Houses has made his mark-- bright, intuitive, energetic and an outgoing personality. He makes things happen.
There are plenty of lounges, chairs, tables gathered around the pool for you to relax during your stay. And while it is not an Olympic-sized pool; it's just fine. Not to worry. The bar is right there too...and, of course, the Santorini sunshine-- Perfect.
Oh, and there are indeed stairs on Santorini. If you think you are going to be able to live in these wonderful hotels located on the side of a cliff without walking on a lot of stairs, you may want to think again.
In terms of location, Firostefani is the next town up from Fira. This means you aren't living right in the hustle-bustle of a tourist mecca(Fira), but you have ready access to it with a 15 to 20 minute walk along the cliffs. It's the best of both worlds. Having said that, Firostefani is more than adequate in and of itself to meet your immediate needs-- mini markets to buy basic staples, a few souvenir shops and enough restaurants to keep you going.
Try il Cantuccio for their thin crust pizza, Firostefani Coffee for baked goods and ice cream, and most important Aktaion Traditional Restaurant for a good Grecian meal at a reasonable cost. They've been around since 1922, so they know the drill. They have tables outside right up against the rail with the best sunset view in town. Make life easy and take the waiter's recommendations for your meal.
And when you take your rental car out, head over to Oia and then head down to the other end of the island to check out the beaches and wineries and don't miss Pyrgos on your way back home.
Hope you have as much fun as we did!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FAMRAU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
94 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2010

The location is very good, although outside of Fira, the walk into town was always enjoyable. The views are stunning. The Junior suite we stayed in was a little way from the main complex and the pool; located under the Mylos Cafe and in front of a restaurant, it was noisy until around midnight. But as we ate late and did not return to the room until after eleven it was not a problem for us. The breakfast, provided on your veranda or at the Mylos Cafe, was very good. The room was clean and the bed comfortable. The staff were very attentive. Even though we stayed in July, they picked us up from the airport, a very big thank you, especially seeing as we were delayed five hours.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Reviewer090
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belpasso, Italy
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2010

I stayed in Mill House Studios & Suites for 4 nights. When I arrived I couldn't believe that such a perfect place existed. The hotel and caldera view was much more that I ever expected. Everything was spotless clean. The staff was very friendly and helpfull; they did the best to make my stay perfect and I felt at home there. My room (110) was probably one of the smallest but I was just by myself. Even the view from the bathroom was breathtaking. I choosed Millhouse Studios because friends had been there before and highly recommended it. I took photos everywhere, about 2400 total during my stay! In the morning I went up at 6, and walked each day in a different direction, or to Firostefani, to Imerovigli, and to Fira. At 8 I went back for breakfast. Believe me I had tears in my eyes when I had my first breakfast experience: it was served at the balcony with a view that I will never forget in my life! I came back for breakfast every morning, I didn't want to miss it. Even at 8 in the morning there was nobody awake and I enjoyed the perfect silence (some birds where singing) and the caldera view. After that I took the rental car to go for longer trips. OIA, was for sure the best place to visit. I went all over the Island and made it to the lighthouse. Santorini is a beautiful island, and the atmosphere of Mill house studios made my vacation unforgettable. Other suggestions: Mylos Cafe at Firostefani.

Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Gabriella59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Firostefani
0.1 mi away
Blue Dolphins Traditional Apartments
0.1 mi away
Dana Villas Hotel & Suites
Dana Villas Hotel & Suites
#3 of 21 in Firostefani
4.5 of 5 bubbles 879 reviews
0.0 mi away
Manos Small World
Manos Small World
#5 of 21 in Firostefani
5.0 of 5 bubbles 219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Ira Hotel & Spa
Ira Hotel & Spa
#7 of 21 in Firostefani
4.5 of 5 bubbles 454 reviews
1.2 mi away
Rocabella Santorini Resort & Spa
0.1 mi away
Villa Ilias Caldera Hotel
Villa Ilias Caldera Hotel
#2 of 21 in Firostefani
4.5 of 5 bubbles 766 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mill Houses Elegant Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mill Houses Elegant Suites

Property: Mill Houses Elegant Suites
Address: Firostefani | Santorini, Firostefani 847 00, Greece
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Firostefani
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Firostefani
#5 Family Hotel in Firostefani
#9 Romantic Hotel in Firostefani
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Mill Houses Elegant Suites 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The endless Aegean sea... Deep blue flirting with pigments of rugged stone... The breathtaking Caldera, as in a picture from a famous postcard... At the bay of Firostefani, on the stately rock that bridges the sky with the sea, the whitewashed figure of Mill Houses Boutique Hotel & Suites in Santorini, looks like hovering over the mesmerizing cliff. With a unique view to the volcano of Santorini - the symbol of power of a sea that historically united cultures - our hospitable suites seem entangled in an indiscernible dialogue with the mythical elements of the island. Live an unforgettable experiece at our dreamlike Boutique Santorini Hotel & Suites in Firostefani. Honeymoon in Santorini ? Make it an experience of a lifetime. We can skillfully organize your Santorini wedding according to your needs and wishes. Our Santorini boutique hotel offer honeymoon suites with verandas overlooking the Volcano island. Honeymoon in Santorini with hundreds romantic getaways, a perfect beginning to your new life! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Mill Houses Elegant Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mill Houses Studios And Suites
Mill Houses Studios Hotel Firostefani
Mill Hotel Studios
Mill Houses Elegant Suites Santorini/Firostefani

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing