We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best places to stay in Santorini for Caldera, Sea and Volcano view and location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Villa Maria Damigou
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 29, 2010

We moved from another another place that falsely advertised their view and tried to "bait and swtch" us to higher prices rooms.
Was the best decision we made.
Stunning sunsets from the Balcony and very nice room. Maria is very nice and service oriented.
Try the food at Naussos near the cable car--authentic greek cuisine. Fantastic roast lamb and Moussaka and owner very freindly

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cruiser786Yvr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (116)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

71 - 77 of 116 reviews

Reviewed October 10, 2009

Excellent view of the caldera in the general area/patio. Better at Oia for Sunset view. Room's view depends on price. Clean room, relatively modern. Tricky shower due to lack of shower curtain but not a problem for us. Adequate and filling breakfast. Good and accommodating service with just enough English. Location well know to Taxi. Easy and very enjoyable 15 minutes walk to Fira, where the main bus station is. Would stay again.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Memory2B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2009

We were lucky to be one of the first guests to take advantage of the newly renovated rooms. The updated rooms are very nice with new bathroom, kitchenette, fresh paint and new furniture. The views from the balcony are stunning. Excellent value.

Our only criticism was that there was not a pool, which after a hot Santorini day a quick dip would have been greatly appreciated. (NB: Rooms are air conditioned though).

Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
Thank RubyTuesday100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2009

The key to a great hotel in Santorini is the view and we got it here. A beautiful panoramic view of the whole harbor from up top of the caldera. We were very happy with the view. Breakfast on our own balcony came with the room which was quite nice. We walked both ways from hotel along the top of the caldera and had great walks both ways. It's not far from the main set of restaurants and shops and there are plenty of other things to see along the way. One of the best walks in history.

Only negative is the small shower with no curtain which means wet floors all the time.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2009

We stayed at Villa Maria Damigou for 3 nights.

We were in a triple room at the bottom of the villas but the room was clean, and had a little kitchen and the view was spectacular! We had a little patio outside our front door with sun lounges to sit back on and enjoy the view, it was like being in a postcard!

The staff at the villa were very welcoming, friendly and helpful. Their enlish was limited but definitely good enough to get by.

The villas are located about a 5-10 minute walk outside of the main town of Thira, but there are also quite a few nice hotels near the villas. There is also a small supermarket not far down the road if you want to get any breakfast supplies etc.

I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Santorini. The rooms and staff were great and the views that you get for the very affordable price are breathtaking!

Oh and for transport to/from the hotel.... we got a taxi from the port to the hotel for 20 euros between 3 of us. We had hired a car from Alami (think that's the car co name), which is on the main road from the villas to the main town. If you hire a car from them and drop it off the day you leave from the airport, they include a free airport transfer for you (we paid 39 euros for 1 day auto car hire and full insurance).

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravellingAussie79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2008

I spent hours agonising over where to stay in Santorini. I was trying to ensure we had the best views, at the best price and thank goodness we did. Maria welcomed us and showed us to our room upon arrival. Our room was excellent (I think it was room 7). It appears to have just recently been renovated, with all new decor and a new bathroom. And the view was amazzzzzinnngggg. No power lines obstructing our view and the view was so good, we didn't even need to go onto our balcony to get the same view. Breakfast was brought to our room every morning at a nominated time. It was basic but I didn't mind. Villa Maria was a little out of Fira but it wasn't so bad - I would say a solid 15 minute walk - up hill on the way back.

Overall the view is what we wanted and what we paid for. If this is why you are in Santorini - this hotel is for you.

If you can however, get a really good view at a hotel with a pool, I would recommend this as the swimming in Santorini is very limited and a lot of effort to get too. Also, I found three nights to be ample in Santorini.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ilovefeta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2008

I stayed there for 5 days and it was really great..Maria was even bringing breakfast to us with no extra charges, which in the middle of the summer period is quite rare in Greece!

In general, it is a nice place that offers quality in good price..

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Polizoni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Firostefani
0 mi away
Villa Ilias Caldera Hotel
Villa Ilias Caldera Hotel
#1 of 21 in Firostefani
867 reviews
0 mi away
Blue Dolphins Traditional Apartments
0.1 mi away
Ira Hotel & Spa
Ira Hotel & Spa
#4 of 21 in Firostefani
514 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Dana Villas Hotel & Suites
Dana Villas Hotel & Suites
#5 of 21 in Firostefani
1,067 reviews
0.1 mi away
Manos Small World
Manos Small World
#9 of 21 in Firostefani
248 reviews
5 mi away
Apanemo
Apanemo
#1 of 12 in Akrotiri
717 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Maria Damigou? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Maria Damigou

Address: Firostefani 84700, Greece
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Firostefani
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 23 Specialty Lodging in Firostefani
Price Range: $82 - $335 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Villa Maria Damigou reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Maria Damigou Hotel Firostefani
Villa Maria Damigou Santorini/Firostefani

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing