We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Breath-taking”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Agali Houses

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Agali Houses
Ranked #3 of 15 Firostefani B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Draper, Utah
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Breath-taking”
Reviewed June 1, 2010

Amazing, amazing, amazing!!!!!!!! Agali houses are nestled against the mountain over looking the Caldera. If you want to have the best views, as well as privacy and romance you must stay here!!! One word of caution though - we had to decend 172 stairs to our room and of course climb 172 stairs to site see, so if you cannot physically do this please do not read on. Now I know some of you may cringe at 172 stairs (which are some what steep) but hold on, it was 110% worth it!!!! Our room or apartment was large, it was furnished sparingly but the private deck / terrace area was wonderful. The small kitchen area which was fully functional in the way of cooking utincils, coffee maker, mini fridge etc. was really nice. After a long day it was great to be able to grab a bottle of wine and retreat to the terrace and have a glass while watching the sun set. The bed was something less than desirable unless you like sleeping on extremely firm mattresses but again the view and privacy over ruled. In addition, each room has a very small hot water heater so be quick with your shower unless you want to rinse in cold water. One funny thing, the shower head does not have a wall mounted holder so this was tricky I had to have my husband hold the darn thing for me so I could hurry and shower before the hot water ran out.
Every bit of food we ate in Santorini was amazing, I am going to recommend Vanilia resturant which is very close to this hotel - they have a 5 -star dinner menu at a 2-star price. The view at the resturant is amazing as well!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank srossUtah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

235 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    175
    45
    11
    0
    4
See reviews for
27
157
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bacau, Romania
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 5, 2010

We just came back from our lovely escape to Santorini, we stayed a week at Agali Houses in Firostefani, really close to Fira, 10 min walk. We loved the hotel, everything was more than expected. Amazing view of the volcano and Imerovigli, windy and chill in the night because of the period (April). The apartment we had was very spacious, had really romantic bedroom, kitchen, superb round big bath tub (bit hard to fill it with water 'cause the boiler was small) , and nice livingroom (room 118). The host was very welcoming and helpful all the time. Lots of stairs, but it worthed every step. Personally I can say the sunsets in Firostefani and Fira are the best on the whole island. One of the best restaurants we've been was Mama's House in Fira (15 min walk from the hotel)- the best sea-food pasta ever. I can call our stay in Santorini "a trailer for our honeymoon".

Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank LuciaC1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2009

We chose Agali Houses based on all the excellent reviews provided on Tripadvisor and this is the best place to stay in Santorini! Very luxurious accomodations with spectacular caldera views! There is a great caldera walkway that easily leads to Fira, Imerovigli and (Oia) La. Very relaxing setting and quiet.

Tsiala the hotel manager promptly responded to any email requests we had before our arrival and when we notified her of our flight delay leaving Toronto she rearranged our airport taxi pickup. She was also helpful booking our scooter the next day.

Renting a scooter is also the best way to see everything on this island (i.e. great beaches at Kamari and Perissa, Ancient Thira and the best sunset is not in Oia but at the lighthouse in Faros well worth the drive)

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AVVToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Putnam Valley, New York
Level Contributor
39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2009

After searching through many different hotels for our stay in Santorini, we found the Agali Houses under apartments, not hotels. Besides everything that you would expect from a good hotel; cleanliness, helpful staff, size of rooms, etc. our room included a living area with a refrigerator, a small heating stove and sink. And most importantly to Santorini, every room has a balcony or terrace with a table and chairs, plus lounge chairs to enjoy the fantastic sunsets from. There is also a good sized infinity pool and internet access. Breakfast is included and served on a patio overlooking the caldera. The only drawback was that to get to it, you had to descend about 80 steps down to it. If you let them know when you are coming, they will send someone to bring your luggage down and then back up when you are leaving. But you still need to climb back up to get to the town. But then that's the price you pay for the fantastic view!!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank elafor4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Europe
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2008

Compared to the crowded Caldera rim places around Thira and Oia this place is fabulous: Still close to nice restaurants, cafés and a grocery store, but far away from too "touristy" places (although, if you like that, they are within walking distance). We had a little two room suite with a nice balcony and kitchenette with fridge which was OK for three people (no worries, housekeeping takes care of the dishes as well...).

The pool ist great and there are enough comfortable sofas and chairs around it (plenty of shade if you prefer). Just to make that clear, no swimming in the sea here (we did not miss it at all, but if you absolutely want to do so, you have to drive quite some time to other parts of the island).

There is also a big hotel patio that can be used all day long. We had breakfast there only once since the grocery store up in the village has everything you need (except maybe decent bread). Fresh Fruit, Yogurt and coffee were just perfect out on the balcony.

The hotel is built on a steep hill which used to ba a volcano wall - nothing for people who are afraid to walk or have difficulties walking. There are several nice paths across the hotel area.

You could actually hang out in the hotel area all day long, but if you feel like doing some walking, take a stroll and do some shopping in Thira or watch nice houses and hotels in nearby Imerovigli. Mylos Café, the crêpe Café (great cheesecake!) and Café Galini are nice places to go for a quick Frappé or a Santorinian Salad. Beware though - prices are high everywhere. Have dinner either on your patio or in several nice restaurants in or around the village. Some were a bit disapointing but most just great. Do only sit outside when there is no wind or you have warm clothing - the wind can be strong and cool even after a hot day.

No wireless in the hotel in summer of 2008; if you absolutely need to be online, there is a computer in the lobby. We used some open nearby wireless which, however, was turned off sometimes.

If you like wine, this is paradise! Tasting the local varieties was a whole new world. Several shops just up the stairs (which can be long in midday heat...) in Firostefani have lots of Santorini wines in stock. Enjoy a glass during the wonderful sunset on your own patio with magnificent views.

The hotel cat Agalita is very nice - as well as other feline friends all over the place. Staff was very kind... never felt better after 7 relaxing days.

  • Liked — Setting, views, nearby village, cats, pool, immaculate housekeeping
  • Disliked — No wireless, some minor issues in bathroom and dirty surroundings
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank cactusofa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brazil
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2008

We come here after a 20days trip around Europe and I can say: this is the best place I have ever seen!
The sunset at volcano and caldeira from our privative balcony is unforgetable and for sure, even better than Ia's sunset! Everything was clean, with a kindly decoration. Flowers were everywhere, giving a taste of a greek spring.
All the staff was very kindly, Tsitso (at reception) advised us in everything we needed, helping to turn everything even better. The breakfast provided by Ia in the morning was delicious.
We stayed at a traditional studio, with a privative balcony (very cute!), the bed was upstairs creating a very nice atmosfere.
We really advise everyone to come here to be pleased by so many things the hotel offers.
If you want to see more photos, look for us in Flickr, as "europa38dias".

  • Liked — The sunset
  • Disliked — Older traveleres may be allerted that there is a big stair to reach the hotel
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Gleiber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
australia
Level Contributor
45 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2008

My family was fortunate enough to stay at Agali houses in July 2006, while my husband and i got married at a hotel down the road. We spent alot of time with the family at Agali Houses, and highly recommend this hotel. It was our second time to Santorini and Firostefani is definately the place to stay. Fira town is only a short 15 min stroll away, however the path there is along the cliff face with some of the most magical scenery ever experiences, so we continually stopped for photos which would stretch the journey. The hotel has a massive swimming pool, probably one of the biggest ones in the caldera, with plenty of sun lounges. The rooms are immaculate, and come equipped with a stereo, which is great to listen to local tunes while sippin ouzo on your private verandah. The breakfast is standard continental breakfast-nothing to write home about, but its like that all over europe. I highly recommend this hotel and plan to go back very shortly. I also highly recommend a little tavern at the top of the hotel, located right next door to the mini market. I have forgotten the name, but it is only small so you will have to get there early. The food is magnificent-And i am greek too, so i know good greek cuisine when i come across it. Everything else on the island is mediocre, tourist type food, where as this little tavern is authentic.
Enjoy

  • Stayed July 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank natski81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Firostefani
0.2 mi away
Blue Dolphins Traditional Apartments
0.1 mi away
Belvedere Santorini
Belvedere Santorini
#8 of 21 in Firostefani
442 reviews
0.1 mi away
Villa Ilias Caldera Hotel
Villa Ilias Caldera Hotel
#2 of 21 in Firostefani
769 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Ira Hotel & Spa
Ira Hotel & Spa
#7 of 21 in Firostefani
454 reviews
0.2 mi away
Anteliz Suites
Anteliz Suites
#4 of 82 in Fira
570 reviews
0.7 mi away
Aressana Spa Hotel and Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Agali Houses? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Agali Houses

Property: Agali Houses
Address: Firostefani 84 700, Greece
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Firostefani
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Firostefani
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Agali Houses 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Bookgreece.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Agali Houses reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Agali Houses Hotel Firostefani
Agali Hotel Firostefani
Agali Houses Santorini/Firostefani

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing