We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay somewhere else!!!” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Blue Dolphins Traditional Apartments

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Blue Dolphins Traditional Apartments
Ranked #1 of 21 Hotels in Firostefani
Certificate of Excellence
Roanoke, Virginia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Stay somewhere else!!!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2007

Where do I start?

First, no one has mentioned this, but Blue Dolphins DOES NOT HAVE A POOL. When I booked, I (mistakenly) thought every hotel in Santorini did. Most do, but not all. Be aware of this because we stayed in August, it was sweltering hot and a pool would have made this stay a point higher.

Starting off though, I booked with Shine hotel, one of the other properties that the manager had at the time. After taking our deposit, I received an email from the owner saying his contract had run out with Shine and he could offer us a hotel room with Blue Dolphins, for a higher price. I said that would be fine, but since he took my deposit already, I wanted the room at the same price. He answered back that he would give me a reduced rate, but that Blue Dolphins was a much better hotel than Shine so I gave in. He said he would cancel the reservation at Shine and make our reservation at Blue Dolphins.

One month before our departure, I received an email from the new owner of Shine saying my reservation was all set. After emailing both hotels I finally got that worked out, but then we had to arrive.

True, the hotel has stairs and lots of them, and uneven as well, but really if you want to stay on the caldera side of the island you need to expect and be willing to deal with that. Yes, they made us breathless and we had to stop several times up, but by the end of our 6 night stay we were grateful since we had eaten quite a lot of food and could use the workout.

The view IS amazing, and we were staring at it when we arrived while Thanos worked out something and got our key ready. He told us to stay on the terrace, and traipsed off to reception. The view was so beautiful (of Firostefani) that we were certain it would be a wonderful hotel. When he showed us to our room, it was "Milos" (all hotels are names after Greek Islands), right off the terrace. I was certain Alexis said I would "share" a terrace, but I thought it would be with only one other room. But, not worth complaining about. When Thanos brought us to our room, we were surprised how small it was, and then Thanos told us that to get hot water, we had to flip this little switch and flip it off after we had used the hot water. The little switch would be a bane to our existence the entire time. We would forget to turn it on, we would leave it on and forget it was on, and the switch had to be on for at least a half hour which was not so convenient when you are hot and sweaty and want to take a shower that is not icy cold, etc.

Throughout our stay, this is what happened to us:

Our first night was very hot, and when we talked to someone who worked there the next morning, she recommended NOT using the air conditioner because there was a cross wind that with the windows open at night would cool off the room.

We had lain in bed all night bathed in sweat, window open and all and we didn't even know there was an air conditioner. We opted to run the air conditioner (it is controlled by a remote control and is on the wall over the window, we just didn't see it and it wasn't pointed out to us when we checked in) and it did make our stay much more comfortable--if there was no ac we would be giving this hotel one star. We are certain we were told not to use the ac because she was either afraid we would short something out for the whole hotel or that they were trying to save money on the cost of running it.

The second day, I woke up to my husband grumbling in our bathroom--we had no water. No water. Now, this is a thing that happens on the island we were aware of before we went, the sewer system in Santorini is terrible--you can't flush the toilet paper or drink the water--but we knew that, so it wasn't bad, but he had just used the toilet and couldn't flush it (ew) so we went outside, where there was a young woman who was staying in Ios, the room next to us. I asked her if they had no water and she said they had no POWER, and went inside and checked--yep, no water or power. The maid showed up (who was so sweet) and she flipped something, and we got water.

Now, the whole island has problems with the water and electrical system, and the woman at the travel agency told us that often when the electricity goes out, the water will too. So, the water or power could have been the island and not the hotel, to give them credit, but of course we don't know.

The plumbing in our room was so bad--there is a grossness alert here so skip this paragraph if you get grossed out easily. The toilet wouldn't flush anything but number one, and I won't explain what we had to go to get it to flush anything else. You couldn't flush after a shower, you had to wait an hour or so. It ran forever before filling up and was LOUD as well. We said something to Thanos our first night, whose answer to us was that he didn't use the toilets (!) and therefore couldn't explain anything to us. We let it go and dealt with it, because after a while we were so upset by it that we thought we wouldn't be able to deal with it if we were told the same thing twice, or that we would be told that we just had to deal with it. Other hotels, restaurants, etc. we had no problem with flushing--perhaps they have very small pipes, who knows.

The TV was tiny and got very bad reception, all channels in Greek.

The mattress was VERY thin, unpadded. I got a crick in my neck after the third day of sleeping on it that didn't go away for a week. The pillows were thin and uncomfortable. We didn't ask for more pillows, though that could have helped, because by this point we were so disgusted that we just wanted to leave and not say anything.

The bed was obviously a waterbed at one point, and the mattresses laid on top of some wooden planks. One day after sleeping, I was rearranging the sheets and made the mistake of lifting up the mattress. Oh, it was so disgusting under there! Full of dirt and filth and...ugh. I quickly dropped the mattress, said something to my husband and he told me the bathroom had an air filter that literally had dirt hanging off it in bunnies.

There is a refrigerator in the room, quite nice since it was so unbelievably hot and we could store bottled water (because the water was temperamental). Breakfast is free, but we were afraid to eat either the hard boiled eggs or yogurt or milk, they would put them out with no refrigeration at 8:30 where they would sit until 11:00. They were under umbrellas, but still...This left jam, bread, cake and orange juice--which is a fine breakfast for us and so we did have something we were ok with eating. Since we were on the terrace, when the breakfast crowd would show up or if someone wanted to stay there and drink late into the night, or even a couple, we would hear every word and it was quite bothersome. Also, there is a church nearby that starts its bells at 7 a.m., church bells are lovely and I usually have no gripe about them, but these were very loud and would go off every 15 minutes for hours, and wake you up from a dead sleep only to not let you get back to sleep--like a snooze alarm you would be bolted out of bed in shock as if a brass band suddenly started playing next to your bed.

We very well could have had a bad room, sure. Or just stayed there at a bad time. But you would be better off staying somewhere else. We stayed in the Andromeda Villas in Imgerovilli 5 years ago and loved it (we should have stayed there again, but we were on a little budget this time) and the Hotel Mathios in Akrotiri the last night (because we took a ferry to Ios for a few days and back before we flew home), which was so wonderful...don't stay at Blue Dolphins. You will be glad you didn't.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — plumbing
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tignor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

712 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    586
    98
    18
    7
    3
See reviews for
97
412
26
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Lakeland, FL
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2007

This hotel is very quaint and in the perfect spot. Each room has a name of its own, named after one of the cycladic islands. We stayed in the Mykonos room. We went with 3 other sets of friends and we all loved our rooms and the experience. Breakfast on the patio was perfect. You can walk to Fira from the hotel and it's a beautiful view the whole way there. I did a lot of research before settling on this hotel. There is a new hotel being remodeled just next to the Blue Dolphins, so if you can't get in there, ask Thanos to refer you to that hotel. Just perfect room and perfect experience.

  • Liked — Location and quaintness
  • Disliked — Staff when checking out
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank djgriff99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2007

In planning our summer vacation in Greece and Turkey, we were well aware that Santorini is a very popular destination so we were a bit worried that we wouldn't find a place to stay that fitted our budget and that would give us the experience we craved.
Blue Dolphins turned out to be perfect for us. We compared so many places but in the end opted for a place that had generally good reviews on Trip Advisor and that we could afford.
Initially, Alexis (or was it Thanos) told us we'd be in a small room with no view but that the breakfast view would be great. When we got there, they gave us a room with a fabulous view and plenty of room. It wasn't perfect - the plumbing was a bit temperamental so we couldn't really enjoy the Jacuzzi - but everything else from the personalized service to the amazing breakfast on the terrace could not be faulted.
The one day use of a rental car worked out great - a bit of a clanker with no AC but it got us to places on the island that we couldn't have explored otherwise.
We had to move to Villa Maria Angiou for the second night but have no complaints. It's very close, the rooms are quaint and quite adequate, and the woman that runs the place is delightful. Note: she doesn't speak English but we managed to communicate nevertheless.
My husband and I both feel that the two young men running Twin Dolphins were very professional and responsive in their handling of our reservation and when we arrived, treated us extremely well. Every recommendation they made for places to see or restaurants to eat at were spot on. We would go back to Santorini in a heartbeat and would definitely choose Blue Dolphins again.

  • Liked — Location, location, location!
  • Disliked — Can't think of a thing.
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank ArizonanKiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2007

You have not known paradise until you've been to Santorini, and you have not fully experienced it until you've had breakfast on the beautiful terrace of the Bluedolphins overlooking the caldera! Rooms are small, but really, who cares?? Clean, comfortable, hospitable, and absolutely perfect in every way. A very high recommendation! And can't beat the price!

  • Stayed August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank cms79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2007

Alexis and his mother, Maggie, were very hospitable, helpfull and went the extra mile for us. The romantic suite has THE GREATEST view! Also a lovely patio with deck chairs. Breakfast was fine. I will definately stay at the Blue Dolphins again when returning to SAntorini. Alexis, thank you for a great stay!!

Stayed May 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank Bekkerholidays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Firostefani
0.0 mi away
Villa Ilias Caldera Hotel
Villa Ilias Caldera Hotel
#2 of 21 in Firostefani
4.5 of 5 bubbles 766 reviews
0.1 mi away
Dana Villas Hotel & Suites
Dana Villas Hotel & Suites
#3 of 21 in Firostefani
4.5 of 5 bubbles 879 reviews
0.6 mi away
Astra Suites
Astra Suites
#4 of 48 in Imerovigli
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Rocabella Santorini Resort & Spa
0.0 mi away
Ira Hotel & Spa
Ira Hotel & Spa
#7 of 21 in Firostefani
4.5 of 5 bubbles 454 reviews
0.8 mi away
Aressana Spa Hotel and Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Dolphins Traditional Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Dolphins Traditional Apartments

Property: Blue Dolphins Traditional Apartments
Address: Firostefani, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Firostefani
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Firostefani
#2 Romantic Hotel in Firostefani
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Blue Dolphins Traditional Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Blue Dolphins is situated in the village of Firostefani, which is a 10 minute walk from the capital village of Fira (through a beautiful pedestrian path on the caldera). We have the privilege of being at a magical location in terms of view and peace of scenery, but also close to the restaurants, bars and nightlife of Fira, the capital of Santorini. Blue Dolphins is also connected to the picturesque village of Imerovigli which is also just a 10 minute walk through a pedestrian path on the caldera. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Blue Dolphins Traditional Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Dolphins Traditional Apartments Hotel Firostefani
Blue Dolphins Traditional Apartments Santorini/Firostefani

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing