We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Decent Option in Firostefani” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Blue Dolphins Traditional Apartments

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Blue Dolphins Traditional Apartments
Ranked #1 of 21 Hotels in Firostefani
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
24 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Decent Option in Firostefani”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2010

Our first experience with Blue Dolphin was not a good way to start. We booked our reservations through Blue Dolphins' website, which stated that a rental car would be provided for free for two days and that one night's accomedations would be billed in advance to our credit card. When we received our email confirmation, we discovered two nights had been billed of our three night stay. When we emailed the manager, he never responded to why he had overcharged. He also did not mention the free car rental, so we inquired on that as well and showed his proof on his website. He acknowledged that the website stated this, but said it should have been taken down two months before and offered us only one day of free car rental. We accepted this offer, but were not pleased with either of the two misstatements on the website and a manager not willing to live by information in the public domain. It is not the customer's fault that he did not correct his website and his excuse was quite lame!

The hotel is located on a very beautiful stretch around the caldera. It is most pretty in the morning, but you can not see the sunset from the balcony, as the other hotel blocks your view.

The rooms are very basic - no frills at all. We had problems with our bathroom plumbing each of the three days we stayed. The first was the water heater that tripped the circuit, the second day was scalding hot sink water and the lukewarm showers every day.

The breakfast is included in the price of the room, and is the same everyday. Hard boiled egg, bread, cheese, ham, sweet bread and yogurt. The condiments are honey and the homemade jams, which are quite good.

I would recommend this hotel, but only if someone is looking for a low-budget, no frills option. If I were to visit Santorini again, I would book a hotel that had a pool and/or hot tub. However, I would stay in Firostefani again, as it had a better sunset than Oia.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MarilynMonroe97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

696 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    572
    95
    19
    7
    3
See reviews for
95
400
26
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Athens, Greece
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2010

Awesome location, great view & amazing aura! Looked forward to sunset veranda views & overwhelming relaxation! Minimal & simple, yet not missing a thing from the small luxuries that make your vacation so so so easy & great.
Walking distance from anything one might need, incredibly clean and comfortable room. The Blue dolphins team was very helpful and friendly; they truly must be the nicest people in Santorini and were very attentive to all of our needs.
This honeymoon-house gives back the meaning of customer service at a great price.
If only we could have stayed longer...BUT we'll be back!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Despinini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2010

We spend two nights at the Blue doplphins hooneymoon cave suite. The location and the view from the veranda of the villa is fantastic. The villa is large very comfotrable, with two rooms and one kitchen. It is renovated and looks brand new. Best of all is that you have complete privacy.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ramoglou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2010

Loved the newly renovated rooms!! Great choice of colors and furniture that give you the quiet and serene atmosphere to match the magical view! The staff was very helpful and hospitable. Enjoyed very much the homemade jams and freshly baked bread in the morning buffet.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TiniaA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2010

No words can describe this amazing house. Whether you are on honeymoon or not, you really have to experience this!

The view is breathtaking, the house is a real cave that can accomodate a 4 member family or friends (1 queen double bed and two single beds).

The quality of the furnuiture, the decorations and extras in the house are unique! The bed is super comfortable the cave provides a relaxing environment so you really feel relaxed and calm after few hours of sleep.

This is the perfect place to visit for a weekend if you cannot escape for a week....
ideally book it to surprise your partner :)

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kmeimaroglou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2010

The location is perfect, just 15 minutes walk to Fira, where most shops, bars and restaurants are situated. I had a room view of the volcano sourrounded by the sea (caldera). Breakfast is served on the terrace overlooking the caldera. I enjoyed having oregano and wallnut bread, freshly squeezed orange juice, home-made marmelades, Greek honey and yogurt, eggs, chocolate and raisins cake, all being of top quality. My room was very clean and nicely decorated. I had the opportunity to visit the other rooms which have just been renovated and i was really enthusiastic about the style and comfort -NOT TO MENTION THE BREATHTAKING VIEW- of all. The staff is warm and helpfull and especially Alexis, the owner, is always available to provide information and instructions about anything one may need to know when visiting Santorini. The prices are extremely reasonable compared to the high level of accomodation and services and significantly lower than those of the other boutique hotels of the area. You must definitely select Blue Dolphins to make your holidays in Santorini unforgettable. As regards honeymooners they will definitely find it ideal for a romantic stay!!!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marilenathan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2010

At the end of March, me and my boyfriend visited Santorini!
We were looking for a safe, clean and romantic place in a reasonable price!!! We 've done a lot of research and we finally booked at Blue Dolphins!!! it was a very clever choice!!! We booked a standard double, next to the veranda. The room was renovated, very comfortable', relaxing and very clean. There was an LCD Tv and free, fast wifi!!! We had our yummy breakfast at the veranda, viewing the magical Caldera!!!
Alexis, the owner, is very friendly, helpful and cool person! We needed a car and he arranged everything for us! It was great!
We are planning to visit the island again on July. We didn't have the time to book the romantic boat trip on the Caldrera but we will do ti for sure in the summer!!!!

Alex, thank you for the amazing experience and see you soon!!!!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kpat85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Firostefani
0.0 mi away
Villa Ilias Caldera Hotel
Villa Ilias Caldera Hotel
#3 of 21 in Firostefani
4.5 of 5 stars 737 reviews
1.9 mi away
Petit Palace Suites Hotel
2.1 mi away
San Antonio Suites
San Antonio Suites
#11 of 49 in Imerovigli
5.0 of 5 stars 583 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Rocabella Santorini Resort & Spa
0.2 mi away
Belvedere Santorini
Belvedere Santorini
#8 of 21 in Firostefani
4.5 of 5 stars 419 reviews
2.3 mi away
Celestia Grand
Celestia Grand
#1 of 79 in Fira
5.0 of 5 stars 286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Dolphins Traditional Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Dolphins Traditional Apartments

Property: Blue Dolphins Traditional Apartments
Address: Firostefani, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Firostefani
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Firostefani
#2 Family Hotel in Firostefani
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Blue Dolphins Traditional Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Blue Dolphins is situated in the village of Firostefani, which is a 10 minute walk from the capital village of Fira (through a beautiful pedestrian path on the caldera). We have the privilege of being at a magical location in terms of view and peace of scenery, but also close to the restaurants, bars and nightlife of Fira, the capital of Santorini. Blue Dolphins is also connected to the picturesque village of Imerovigli which is also just a 10 minute walk through a pedestrian path on the caldera. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Blue Dolphins Traditional Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Dolphins Traditional Apartments Hotel Firostefani
Blue Dolphins Traditional Apartments Santorini/Firostefani

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing