We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Staff Great Location”
Review of Cliff Side Suites

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Cliff Side Suites
Ranked #10 of 21 Hotels in Firostefani
Certificate of Excellence
Trieste, Italy
Level Contributor
18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great Staff Great Location”
Reviewed October 15, 2012

This hotel is located in one of the best locations on the Caldera with unspoilt views of the sea and sunset and for only a fraction of the price of its surrounding neighbours. Fira is within a 15 minute walking distance and locally there are many good restaurants. Hotel staff are extremely helpful and polite a special mention goes to Marco who could never do too much. The hotel itself is made up of many villas all with balconies or terraces. Rooms are large with good storage and clean. Breakfast is served by the pool. I would not recommend this hotel to people with walking difficulties has there were over 200 steps to get to our room however on the Caldera this goes with the territory. Overall great hotel and good value would definitely return.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

261 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    133
    91
    23
    6
    8
See reviews for
31
164
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2012

This year we pick Cliffside suites for our holidays in Santorini! We had a beautiful and absolutely clean suite with amazing views at the sunset and the caldera! Welcoming was really good and the receptionist was always there to help us and give the best recommendations. Staff is lovely, polite and helpful! We definitely suggest Cliffside suites in Firostefani, is exactly what Santorini should be!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nasos72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Runcorn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2012

Scenery 5star, sunset 5star, accommodation was advised as 4star, (4star it was not) I would put it between 2 to 3 star depending on what room you get unfortunate know matter what room you get you will have to pay 5star prices. This holiday was booked 12 months ago, we arrived at 20.40 airport, and at the hotel 21.30 only to find there was no room for us, we were put in a room 114 which I have say you could not swing a cat in, no where to put your cases, a cupboard built for a backpacker which was dirty and had the back falling of, I went back to the reception and spoke to the night porter and was told if we could be patient they would move us in the morning, being tired and English we agreed (want a start) but it suggested to me and my partner that they had over booked, even though some people arrived after us and they got there rooms. The next day we were moved to a better room 105 it was bigger and cleaner, and there was room for both of us to hang or clothes but not before midday so we had lost 15 hours of our holiday. Breakfast was by the pool bar it was ok but no variation from day to day. The pool you could sit in but not swim in, yes there was a lot of steps down and up but ok we new this. Thire is beautiful and picturesque but be careful the variation in prices between shops and bars and restaurants is staggering, I would say you will need 150 euros a day, there are no price tags on any of the goods in the shops be careful) As for trips with your tour operater do not go on the Greek night, music was good dancing was good the food was alwful. My advise for what it is, use the bus service it is on time and cheap and the taxi service is ok, if you want the beach and have a good time go to Kamire lovely place (by bus) Thire lovely place but not at 5star prices. Will go back to Santorini but to Kamire.
ps spoke to rep about room who said she would get back to us, still waiting, (and were home now). Could write more but I think you have got the message.

Room Tip: Can not. All room differant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank peter c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2012

We have just returned from spending a week in this splendid hotel. The view from our terrace (rm 106) was breathtaking; the room itself was well appointed and spacious. There are many (many) steps but this is a small price to pay for the location and is typical for the villages perched on the edge of the caldera. The breakfast was simple but adequate and delivered outside, overlooking the caldera and volcano, spectacular. The staff at the hotel are knowledgeable, friendly and very helpful and did everything they could to make our stay comfortable.
There are a few restaurants near the hotel but we often walked into Fira (10-15 mins) where there is a wider choice. The restaurants with the good views tended to be more expensive but there were slightly cheaper options further in land. For a super cheap snack try a Gyros from Obelix take away, very tasty.
I would recommend Acrotiri and Oia, we visited using the bus service which we easy and cheap, although the bus station was busy and don’t expect an orderly queue.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2012

Overall, we had a lovely vacation, however, our stay at Cliff Side was a bit disappointing given the amount we spent on a room. The internet connection in our room was lousy, probably because we were in a cave. So if we wanted to connect, we had to go outside or by the window. Despite having a humidifier running 24/7, the amount of moisture in our clothes and towels was borderline unbearable. This may be typical of anywhere in Santorini. The pool only has 5 lounge chairs so be prepared to stalk or get up early to reserve. The complimentary breakfast was delicious! And the staff was delightful with wonderful restaurant recommendations. In this part of Santorini, you really feel like a local, everyone is so welcoming, especially the staff. Location is prime and the sunsets are beyond beautiful.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KJS123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
49 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2012 via mobile

I stayed here with my boyfriend in July 2011 and can't explain how perfect the suites were!
We stayed in room 106 with a double and two singles which was more than what we asked for!
The staff are lovely and helped with all our queries.
Location wise, there is a lovely little Italian just outside of the suites and a few other restaurants and shops.
Most nights we headed in to Fira town (a 15 min walk) which I must say toned my legs well!
An amazing holiday (and a year on I'm still looking back on photos wishing I was back!)
Thanks again to the staff for a great stay.
Siobhan and Mark

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank Siobhan888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2012

The hotel was great, the staff friendly and helpful and magnificent views. Pool was small and there are lots of steps to keep you fit. Rooms were great carved into the cliff - restaurants are good in Firastafani only 5 minute walk. Fira a 15-20 minute walk which was fine to get some more variety

Room Tip: All rooms gave same magnificent views
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Firostefani
0.1 mi away
Belvedere Santorini
Belvedere Santorini
#9 of 21 in Firostefani
4.5 of 5 bubbles 447 reviews
0.1 mi away
Blue Dolphins Traditional Apartments
0.1 mi away
Villa Ilias Caldera Hotel
Villa Ilias Caldera Hotel
#2 of 21 in Firostefani
4.5 of 5 bubbles 786 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Aressana Spa Hotel and Suites
0.1 mi away
Dana Villas Hotel & Suites
Dana Villas Hotel & Suites
#3 of 21 in Firostefani
4.5 of 5 bubbles 934 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ira Hotel & Spa
Ira Hotel & Spa
#7 of 21 in Firostefani
4.5 of 5 bubbles 462 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cliff Side Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cliff Side Suites

Property: Cliff Side Suites
Address: PO Box 91, Firostefani 847 00, Greece (Formerly Grotto Villas)
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Firostefani
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Firostefani
#9 Family Hotel in Firostefani
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Cliff Side Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We offer a selection of 23 open plan cave-like studios and suites, ranging from the intimate to the truly magnificent and all ideally mix tradition with contemporary facilities. All rooms are newly refurbished in beautiful vivid tones, conveying a sense of comfort, warmth and relaxation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Bookgreece.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Cliff Side Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cliff Side Hotel Firostefani
Cliff Side Firostefani
Cliffside Suites Santorini
Cliff Side Suites Santorini/Firostefani

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing