We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“relaxing holiday”
Review of Cliff Side Suites

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Cliff Side Suites
Ranked #12 of 21 Hotels in Firostefani
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 27, 2012

We have just returned from spending a week in this splendid hotel. The view from our terrace (rm 106) was breathtaking; the room itself was well appointed and spacious. There are many (many) steps but this is a small price to pay for the location and is typical for the villages perched on the edge of the caldera. The breakfast was simple but adequate and delivered outside, overlooking the caldera and volcano, spectacular. The staff at the hotel are knowledgeable, friendly and very helpful and did everything they could to make our stay comfortable.
There are a few restaurants near the hotel but we often walked into Fira (10-15 mins) where there is a wider choice. The restaurants with the good views tended to be more expensive but there were slightly cheaper options further in land. For a super cheap snack try a Gyros from Obelix take away, very tasty.
I would recommend Acrotiri and Oia, we visited using the bus service which we easy and cheap, although the bus station was busy and don’t expect an orderly queue.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (296)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

176 - 182 of 296 reviews

Reviewed August 24, 2012

Overall, we had a lovely vacation, however, our stay at Cliff Side was a bit disappointing given the amount we spent on a room. The internet connection in our room was lousy, probably because we were in a cave. So if we wanted to connect, we had to go outside or by the window. Despite having a humidifier running 24/7, the amount of moisture in our clothes and towels was borderline unbearable. This may be typical of anywhere in Santorini. The pool only has 5 lounge chairs so be prepared to stalk or get up early to reserve. The complimentary breakfast was delicious! And the staff was delightful with wonderful restaurant recommendations. In this part of Santorini, you really feel like a local, everyone is so welcoming, especially the staff. Location is prime and the sunsets are beyond beautiful.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KJS123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2012 via mobile

I stayed here with my boyfriend in July 2011 and can't explain how perfect the suites were!
We stayed in room 106 with a double and two singles which was more than what we asked for!
The staff are lovely and helped with all our queries.
Location wise, there is a lovely little Italian just outside of the suites and a few other restaurants and shops.
Most nights we headed in to Fira town (a 15 min walk) which I must say toned my legs well!
An amazing holiday (and a year on I'm still looking back on photos wishing I was back!)
Thanks again to the staff for a great stay.
Siobhan and Mark

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank Siobhan888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2012

The hotel was great, the staff friendly and helpful and magnificent views. Pool was small and there are lots of steps to keep you fit. Rooms were great carved into the cliff - restaurants are good in Firastafani only 5 minute walk. Fira a 15-20 minute walk which was fine to get some more variety

Room Tip: All rooms gave same magnificent views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2012

The main complaint I have is about our specific room no 24, which was literally just above a wedding venue eg when your trying to enjoy the sunset with your family on your balcony you can literally just reach out and touch the bride and groom. I felt this interfered with our enjoyment of the sunset and it felt like we were intruding on the wedding party. We stayed at cliffside for 5 nights for the first two nights there were weddings on twice a day one during the afternoon and one during sunset. For the last three days weddings were only on during the afternoon which wasn't as bad as having them on during sunset. I think given the proximity of our room's balcony to the wedding venue they should warn people staying in this room about this, particularly the night time weddings starting at sunset. Some people might not be bothered by this but we really were.

Yes the staff are lovely and the views are superb but thats really all that this place offers. The pool is so small no one uses it and breakfast was served at the pool which was often overcrowded with not enough room for everyone. breakfast is served from 8-10 but if you show up after 9.30 a lot of the food has run out and they don't restock. Given the price of our room I just think this place is overrated!

Room Tip: dont stay in room 24 unless you want to be ridiculously close to a wedding venue that has weddings o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank samdhu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2012

I stayed here for 4 nights with my girlfriends.
We had a lovely time here, as the view from each room's balcony is unobstructed, and boasts
of a fantastic view of Aegean Sea and its famous sunset.

The staff here are warm and helpful, and would always have a ready smile on their face.
Dite,is always ready to help. George is professional and makes an effort to look after the safety of us, 3 girls travelling alone. Markos is warm and knowledgable, always ready with a suggestion of a good restaurant or place to go.

We had a lovely time in Santorini, and most of it could be attributed to the awesome staff in Cliff Side Suites, who enjoy their jobs tremendously, and hence make the guests feel at home too!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shufy23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2012

A really nice well positioned place to stay ,with fantastic views . Fira is just a steady 15 minute walk away where you will find some really good bars,shops and taverna's. All the staff are nice friendly and helpful but breakfeast is a bit samey and basic and the pool is small., If you struggle with steps Fira is not the place for you, but if you don't this is a nice place to stay for a chill out holiday . Don't think we've seen the last of Fira would definitely go back.

Room Tip: Higher the better as lower rooms the balconies not so private due to walkways.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gic63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Firostefani hotels
0.1 mi away
Belvedere Santorini
Belvedere Santorini
#8 of 21 in Firostefani
522 reviews
0.1 mi away
Dana Villas Hotel & Suites
Dana Villas Hotel & Suites
#5 of 21 in Firostefani
1,067 reviews
0.1 mi away
Villa Ilias Caldera Hotel
Villa Ilias Caldera Hotel
#1 of 21 in Firostefani
867 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Mill Houses Elegant Suites
Mill Houses Elegant Suites
#6 of 21 in Firostefani
814 reviews
0.1 mi away
Blue Dolphins Traditional Apartments
0.1 mi away
Ira Hotel & Spa
Ira Hotel & Spa
#4 of 21 in Firostefani
514 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cliff Side Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cliff Side Suites

Address: Firostefani 847 00, Greece (Formerly Grotto Villas)
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Firostefani
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Firostefani
Price Range: $240 - $516 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Cliff Side Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We offer a selection of 23 open plan cave-like studios and suites, ranging from the intimate to the truly magnificent and all ideally mix tradition with contemporary facilities. All rooms are newly refurbished in beautiful vivid tones, conveying a sense of comfort, warmth and relaxation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Cliff Side Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cliff Side Hotel Firostefani
Cliff Side Firostefani
Cliffside Suites Santorini
Cliff Side Suites Santorini/Firostefani

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing