We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Oasis hotel with stunning views and friendly service”
Review of Cliff Side Suites

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Cliff Side Suites
Ranked #10 of 21 Hotels in Firostefani
Certificate of Excellence
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Oasis hotel with stunning views and friendly service”
Reviewed August 1, 2011

Traveled to Greece with my sister and one of her best friends fir birthday celebration. Triple room (room 108) was spacious, clean and cool. Firm mattresses made for easy sleeping. Great water pressure in shower. Breakfast poolside each morning with bread, meats, cheeses, eggs, bacon, cereal, coffee, juice and water. View of caldera simply breathtaking. Service very friendly and helpful. Close to meeting place for buses and taxis as well as great Internet cafe. Would definitely recommend to friends staying in firostefani.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank HappyCent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

261 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    133
    91
    23
    6
    8
See reviews for
31
164
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2011

just returned from a week at the cliffeside suites................amazing. what a beautiful place. stayed in room 105. had shared terrace and wonderful views. room was very clean with fridge, safety deposit box t.v and air conditioning. all the staff were very pleasant and very helpful. breakfast surpassed our expectations.lots of steps so not for the faint hearted. but thanks to that i now have firm thighs! room was fully cleaned with clean towels and bed sheets everyday. would love to return there one day.wonderful location.....hotel only a 15-20 min walk from fira where you can take a local bus to some great places. many thanks to Sia, Didas, Mario and the rest of the staff for a wonderful and memorable stay.

Room Tip: room 105 shared terrace but great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank atchys101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
40 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2010

We had a fantastic 5 night stay at Cliffside. Room 112 and whilst the bedroom was very small the bathroom was huge, with a shower head in the tub....odd. Our balcony was, as most, in a traffic area, but oh what a fantastic view. We soaked in the view every evening, never tired of looking at it. Cliffside is perched up high on the caldera, but on the cliffside of the main road to Fira. Below was Dana Villas so much lower on the caldera and beside us was Mill Houses which looked very fancy. I considered both without knowing their proximity to Cliffside. I was happy with my choice, but Mill Houses did look a little more luxurious. I considered too staying at two different hotels in different areas, maybe if there's a next time. We hired a quad for 1 day and would take it for 2 and spend more time at the beaches on the other side of the island, Perissa, Red Beach. Then look at Oia etc the 2nd day. Worked out only $30 AUD per day plus fuel, down side, no where for your belongings so travel light, small day backpack or a car. Great local restaurants, grocers, cellars. Great scenic walk into Fira mostly downhill an load of steps and then a straight path skirting the road back, no steps no view. We took advantage of the pool and seating for breakfast around the pool had and awesome view too.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank vagabondsydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mullica Hill, New Jersey
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed September 28, 2010

It's the perfect place to enjoy everything that Santorini has to offer! The staff is so warm and wonderful and the accomodations are impeccable. The location offers the best views of the sunset and the caldera. The rooms are a traditional white wash with bright colors, every room is unique! We were dropped off in the square and Diti was right there to grab our luggage and carry it down the steps and then up to our perfect room! We had a jacuzzi too which was lovely! Sia at the reception arranged our catamaran and in room message. The breakfast was included and offered eggs, fruits and meats. The pool is just a simple plunge pool, just enough to cool off. We absolutely can't wait to stay here again! The windmill cafe was just a step outside the hotel as well as the little market to pick up fantastic local wine!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank patandmike2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
1 review
Reviewed September 3, 2010

Stayed 5 nights and it lived up to my expectations. Loved the individuality of the different room layouts - depends on your taste but I loved the uniqueness of it all. Amazing views, comfortable rooms and bed. Glad to be that 10 minute walk from the crowds of Fira and there is everything you need in the small , quiet street next to the apartments. Service from all the staff was exceptional - always given with a smile and helpful advice - nothing was any trouble. Only recommendation for improvement to service would be the provision tea/coffee making facilities in the room. Hope to return sooner rather than later.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MairAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ioannina, Greece
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 29, 2010

I stayed at the Cliff Side Suites Hotel for 5 nights in August. The location was perfect. It was in a quiet area in Firostefani, just a ten minute walk to Fira. The views of the caldera and volcano were magnificent and the rooms were very comfortable and clean, traditionally furnished.The staff was also very friendly and helpful. I would definitely recommend this lovely hotel!

  • Stayed August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zen2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
41 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2010

We got pushed into here for one night when the Belvedere (part of the same company) overbooked. We couldn't argue at 2:00 a.m., so took the room for one night. Our bed was a full sized bed on top of many planks of wood (not a queen sized bed). The only way out was to climb over each other. The place was dirty, mold was on the walls and we had to sit sideways on the toilet because it was so close to the wall. Great view, but lousy place.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank gwhizrd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Firostefani
0.1 mi away
Belvedere Santorini
Belvedere Santorini
#9 of 21 in Firostefani
4.5 of 5 bubbles 447 reviews
0.1 mi away
Blue Dolphins Traditional Apartments
0.1 mi away
Villa Ilias Caldera Hotel
Villa Ilias Caldera Hotel
#2 of 21 in Firostefani
4.5 of 5 bubbles 786 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Aressana Spa Hotel and Suites
0.1 mi away
Dana Villas Hotel & Suites
Dana Villas Hotel & Suites
#3 of 21 in Firostefani
4.5 of 5 bubbles 934 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ira Hotel & Spa
Ira Hotel & Spa
#7 of 21 in Firostefani
4.5 of 5 bubbles 462 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cliff Side Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cliff Side Suites

Property: Cliff Side Suites
Address: PO Box 91, Firostefani 847 00, Greece (Formerly Grotto Villas)
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Firostefani
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Firostefani
#9 Family Hotel in Firostefani
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Cliff Side Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We offer a selection of 23 open plan cave-like studios and suites, ranging from the intimate to the truly magnificent and all ideally mix tradition with contemporary facilities. All rooms are newly refurbished in beautiful vivid tones, conveying a sense of comfort, warmth and relaxation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Bookgreece.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Cliff Side Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cliff Side Hotel Firostefani
Cliff Side Firostefani
Cliffside Suites Santorini
Cliff Side Suites Santorini/Firostefani

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing