We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“perfect getaway”
Review of Homeric Poems

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Homeric Poems
Ranked #3 of 21 Hotels in Firostefani
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 19, 2013

just returned from Homeric Poems and miss it very much already.
we stayed in the Achilles Honeymoon suite which was fantastic. The suite is situated at the lowest part of the hotel complex, just below the pool / bar area. this gives you the advantage of totally uninterrupted views of the caldera from the large terrace (and also from the bathroom ). the one disadvantage is the number of steps you need to conquer to get back up to the town. You'll probably spend most of your time, as we did, in the stunning pool or on your private terrace, so in reality the climb up shouldn't bother you too much. However, anyone with mobility issues may struggle. In fairness though, this is probably the case for most of the island.
We found the staff to be extremely friendly and helpful, a fact made more apparent as at the time, the whole island was without power for a couple of days.
We also thought the location was great, 10 min walk to Thira and 5 min walk to some decent restaurants in Firostefani. Would recommend Mylos / Ginger ( sushi ) / Vanilia.
Homeric poems offer breakfast, served on you terrace, which is fantastic. the rest of the time its a case of room service, as there is no restaurant as such. Food was great though and decent value.
All in all, we went looking for a quiet break from London with some sunshine and relaxation. Homeric Poems gave us everything in spades. Will go back

Room Tip: Honeymoon suites at the bottom have the best views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wearethebryants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (385)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

233 - 239 of 385 reviews

Reviewed August 18, 2013

After a long flight delay, we made a late booking at Homeric Poems. We got to the hotel around midnight ... unfortunately to be told that the hotel was overbooked and that we would stay at the nearby "Belvedere hotel".

It was very late ... and there was not much we could do. Unfortunately the room was awful. Unfinished electricity, dirty bathroom, and all together very basic. Paying over 300 euros a night, it did not meet my expectations at all !

We slept there and met the manager of Homeric Poems the next day. She is a nice person. We moved straight away to a room which some guests had left early morning. We had a nice breakfast and a relaxing morning contemplating the breathtaking view from the room terrace. After some talk, the price of room was discounted 30% which seemed OK.

I still believe when an hotel charges so much for a room, overbooking is simply unacceptable.
Homeric Poems is a really a nice place ... providing you stay there !

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Katergo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2013

After the chaos of the port in Santorini it was just wonderful to get here. Its so cool, with its knee high gate, boat on the roof and welcoming donkey, you just feel you belong there and the staff make sure that feeling stays for your whole stay. While the rooms are cool white the view is red hot, you could watch that sun going down, over the caldera for ever and still not get bored. The hotel has a great little pool with the view, Santorini is about the view! Fira is just a 10 minute walk away and well worth it. some great restaurants nearby including Mama Thira. All in all great and worth every penny. Breakfast in your room/balcony is also a lovely touch and a good brekky too boot. Will be back.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank moleandbird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2013

I have been to Santorini 6 times, and Homeric Poems is the perfect place from which to experience both the peaceful private enjoyment of the Caldera from your villa, and ease of location to see the rest of the island. The POOL is amazing - picture perfect, essentially an infinity pool with the most dramatic views of the caldera. The Service is fantastic - both the front-office staff and the pool/bartender staff. Getting anything is simply a call or a wave. The Rooms are gorgeous. Well done again, hope to return to my Firostefani home again soon!

Room Tip: I've stayed at Three different Rooms - most recently the Aiolos Suite, which was perfect/romanti...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank YianniA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2013

My girlfriend and I stayed here in early June. We had the honeymoon suite which was incredible, we were greeted by the fantastic Rosella, a lovely bottle of white and a beautiful dessert. The staff really worked so hard to make sure we had a wonderful time, George on the bar especially deserves a mention as a real legend! I can't speak anymore highly of the Homeric and it was everything and much much more that we wanted from a romantic break on the beautiful island.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2013

They had me from the very first moment welcoming us on our private terrace with a lovely little Greek snack and a delicious mint and lime sorbet for a welcome - of course all accompanied by the absolutely breathtaking view of the Santorini Caldera!

PLUS:
located close to Fira (about 10 minutes' walk), but in the quieter Firostefani, so you can enjoy lively Fira and then relax at your place
beautiful hotel and rooms that suit the surroundings very well, private terrace for every room
breakfast served to your private terrace, I loved it!
friendly and attentive staff
really good shower quality (definitely better than I expected in Greece)

MINUS:
our room (Eurydike) was the closest one to the pool, on the one hand quite useful, on the other hand not the most quietly situated room (pool activity and we had rather chatty neighbours in the neighbour hotel, which was just next door/terrace)
a few more sunbeds would be helpful

All in all a really nice place, that we can highly recommend. We will come back :-)

Room Tip: Rooms close to the pool are not as quiet as others and it takes a lot of steps to reach them
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katharina_1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2013

Homeric poems is a wonderfully warm hotel with very friendly and accommodating staff. Unfortunately we seemed to have gotten the worst room. I did look at two others which were much more suitable for our needs but the hotel was full so unable to move us. Hotel has no dining area so you either eat on your terrace or by the pool however there is a large selection of restaurants close by. The hotel is let down by the lack of available sun umbrellas and lounges by the pool (only 5umbrellas) and our bathroom was badly designed with not light.

Room Tip: Ensure you request a private terrace
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tanya606
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Firostefani
0.2 mi away
Dana Villas Hotel & Suites
Dana Villas Hotel & Suites
#6 of 21 in Firostefani
1,050 reviews
3.8 mi away
Andronis Luxury Suites
0.3 mi away
Blue Dolphins Traditional Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Belvedere Santorini
Belvedere Santorini
#8 of 21 in Firostefani
521 reviews
0.5 mi away
Pegasus Suites & Spa
Pegasus Suites & Spa
#17 of 50 in Imerovigli
353 reviews
0.1 mi away
Anteliz Suites
Anteliz Suites
#3 of 80 in Fira
662 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Homeric Poems? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homeric Poems

Address: Firostefani 84 700, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Firostefani
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Firostefani
#1 Romantic Hotel in Firostefani
#4 Family Hotel in Firostefani
Price Range: $414 - $573 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Homeric Poems 5*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire and Priceline so you can book your Homeric Poems reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homeric Poems Studios Firostefani
Homeric Poems Studios Hotel Firostefani
Homeric Poems Santorini/Firostefani

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing