We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Sunset View” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Golden Sunset Cafe

Golden Sunset Cafe
Ranked #17 of 17 Restaurants in Firostefani
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Cafe, Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Northamptonshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best Sunset View”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

Don't bother with the crowds in Oia , settle for the peace and tranquillity of this café terrace ...absolutely fantastic !
Very friendly and helpful too . My lasting memories of Santorini are from here .

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Michael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    60
    34
    14
    9
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“View and service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

We stopped here for a drink and turn out to be a dinner as the guy who runs up and down was too friendly and made us wanted to stay there for the night. The outdoor of the restaurant have room to improve. The service is fantastic, as well as the view. They won't recomment and force you into expensive food. You may sit here for the beautiful sunset just for a drink. I would recomment this place. We only spend like 35 Euro for the meal and drink (That already included a 5 dollar tip).

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank 693kat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lichfield
Level Contributor
351 reviews
180 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
“Great views, nice waiter”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

We stopped off here twice for lunch while walking back from Thira to Imerovigli along the path which runs around the top of the caldera.

The views are spectacular and the setting is really relaxed. The waiter/manager is a bit of a character and has an entertaining non-stop commentary especially when he's trying to entice someone in for a drink. It's worth dropping in just for this.

For lunch we had beers and white wine with filled crepes which made a nice change from our usual fare. Considering the location the prices are very reasonable and the glasses of wine or enormous.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank LichfieldBoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belper, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
124 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Great bar”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014 via mobile

You simply have to sit there with a glass of local wine (and maybe a plate of calamari) and watch the sun set! Simples.
The guy who runs up and down the steps serving drinks is quite a character, very friendly and super efficient.
Easy to find on the stroll to Thera.

Helpful?
Thank Anthony L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent View, Very Friendly Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

The title says it all. Enjoyed a very nice sunset here over dinner and dessert. We actually stopped by here a few times and kept returning mostly for the view and especially because the manager was very friendly. Because of the location and view, you will pay a small percentage more than other restaurants that are not on the cliffs, but this is very typical practice for the restaurants with a view. We tried the Greek Salad, Moussaka and Crepes, and all were very delicious. I can definitely recommend this place. It may not take bank cards, but that is not so uncommon out on the islands, so one should get used to carrying cash around.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank walkerw8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Golden Sunset Cafe also viewed

Firostefani, Santorini
Firostefani, Santorini
 
Firostefani, Santorini
Firostefani, Santorini
 

Been to Golden Sunset Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing