We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Perfect Honeymoon Location”
Review of Ira Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ira Hotel & Spa
Ranked #4 of 21 Hotels in Firostefani
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed October 10, 2010

My husband and I recently stayed at Hotel Ira for our honeymoon and had a wonderful time. Hotel Ira has an absolutely amazing location, with views of the caldera. The hotel itself looks like a picturesque Santorini village with doors built into the hillside, bridges over walkways, and, of course, lots of stairs.

I would highly recommend the suite we stayed in for honeymooners (Suite Eolos). Hotel Ira's website advertises that this is room is private, and it was even more private than we had hoped! A staircase down from the pool, it is isolated from all the other rooms with an incredibly private (and good-sized) balcony. The only thing better for honeymooners than the privacy is the view.

The staff, particularly the management staff, is incredibly helpful and knowledgeable, recommending restaurants, giving transportation advice, providing extra towels and shampoo, etc.

The hotel is located in Firostefani, about a 15 minute walk from Fira, the main city in Santorini (though not nearly as picturesque as Oia). The walk is beautiful, with constant views of the caldera along a pedestrian walkway - very pleasant.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DCtravelers012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (506)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

293 - 299 of 506 reviews

Reviewed October 8, 2010

This hotel was fabulous! We arrived here after staying in OIA for three nights, and I wished that I had spent my whole time here. The hotel is large, the rooms are big, very clean, they have a refrigerator for your own drinks, a great breakfast, and a wonderful pool w/ chaise lounges overlooking the caldera. Our room did not have a view, but it just didn't matter. They have complimentary transportation to/from the airport, and the staff was very welcoming. And of course, the price was very reasonable, which is almost unheard of in Santorini. I loved the location, because it was quiet, free of crowds, but only a 15 min walk into the town of Fira. There are local restaurants, shopping, mini marts close by, or even more so down the way into the bigger city. The view, most of all, was stunning, and the hotel was so relaxing. I would definitely recommend this to anyone. If you are torn on where to stay in Santorini, I would spend maybe one night in OIA, and the rest in Firostefani.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank flygirlpa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2010

We stayed at this hotel, based on my parents recommendations, for our honeymoon. I really can't say enough about our stay. They provided transportation to and from the airport, gave us a room with a caldera view, decorated the room with roses and "just married" balloons, even provided a bottle of wine. The staff couldn't have been more inviting and friendly. Always happy to give us tips on places to eat and directions to wherever we were going. The hotel is located just outside of Fira which meant it was always quiet and peaceful but very close to many dining options. If we ever go back to Santornini we wouldn't think twice about staying at the IRA hotel again!

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vblick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2010

Our stay at the Hotel Ira was simply delightful and everything we could have hoped for. Our room spectacular as we had a lovely little balcony with a table and chairs at which we could enjoy the awe inspiring views. As KiKi's says "The view is always changing, and always wonderful." The perfect place for a true vacation.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Theaanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2010

Had a lovely stay. We booked late and arrived to find they were booked out. The lovely owner accommodated us by upgrading us for free to her suite. It had the most amazing views of Thira. Room was large and clean, great Jacuzzi and bathroom and large balcony with awesome views. Nice pool with view also. WIFI available near reception.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RobnNik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2010

We had high hopes for Hotel Ira as we had read so many wonderful reviews on TripAdvisor, and we were not disappointed. This intimate small hotel is in the perfect location and we couldn't have been more delighted. We were initially booked into a standard room however, upon arrival, we were upgraded...already a nice touch from this small and personal hotel. Our bedroom/bathroom/sitting area was on one level, however our friends room had the bedroom/sitting area on one level and the bathroom and small closet at the bottom of some steep stairs, not ideal but they said it was "quaint". The rooms and grounds were extremely clean, the staff were attentive and helpful, the pool (although small) refreshing and the Caldera view was priceless. If the breakfast selection was a little more inviting we would have been in heaven!

The location of Hotel Ira was perfect: 5-10 minute walk into Firostefani (wonderful restaurants) and another 5-10 minute walk into Fira (great restaurants and shopping galore). One day we walked from Firostefani to Oia (some 12kms) which was invigorating but not for the faint hearted - we would recommend this as a "must do" if you visit Santorini. The walk can take anywhere from 2.5 to 4.5 hours, depending on the pace and number of stops. Hotel Ira was perfectly positioned to walk out the front gates and onto the main walking trail....the many delights of Santorini at your doorstep!

Restaurants of note and worth visiting are - 1800 in Oia (upmarket and unique), Ginger in Firostefani (Japanese) and Nichteri (on Kamari beach).

Another "must do" is sail around Santorini - we went with Santorni Sailing (the crew were Jimmy and Vlad) - it was definitely a highlight of our stay and will not be forgotten.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Daviesby2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2010

At first, when we were looking for a nice, romantic place in Santorini, we looked into trip advisor reviews and they reccomended the Ira hotel, but was a little bit out of our budget. However, we finally decided to spend a little more and go for it. An we don't regret it at all. The hotel was excellent. It was located at the top of Firestofani, with a perfect caldera view (I founf it better than the one we saw in Oia). The hotel is 8 minutes walk to Thira downtown. there's a path between Firestofani and Thira with an excellence view during the hole path - actualli we cound't stop taking pictures with every step we did - very picturesque place. The staff in the hotel was super kindly. They try to please every need. One night we didn't feel like ging out for dinner, so they ordered a delivery for us! Transfer from the airport/port to the hotel and viceversa is included, so make sure you let them know your travel details. Breakfast was really good too. You have to pay extra for a caldera view room, but it worths it - believe me!!! When we arrived, we got an upgrade to a faboulus suite (Aveolos - I think the bestone of the hotel). It was incredible, with a magnific balcony and the bathroom was super. Th pool has also a great caldera view. We had a perfect stay here and would defintely come back.
Some tips about Santorini:
Santorini is a very nice island, and I think the most attractive thing here is the view, so, make sure you get a nice hotel like this one. Beachs are nice but different that the ones in Kykonos. The sand is mostly black and formed with lot of little rocks. The water is transparente, really nice. Red beach is nice too, but just to visit and stay no more than a couple of hours. Perivolos and Perisa (one next to the other I think were the nicer beaches). Vylchada too, but there's not too much service (bars or sunbeds) or people there. The bay in Oia is excellence to go and have dinner during the sunset (a little hard to park only).

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ger29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Firostefani
0.1 mi away
Blue Dolphins Traditional Apartments
0.1 mi away
Villa Ilias Caldera Hotel
Villa Ilias Caldera Hotel
#1 of 21 in Firostefani
851 reviews
0.0 mi away
Dana Villas Hotel & Suites
Dana Villas Hotel & Suites
#6 of 21 in Firostefani
1,034 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Petit Palace Suites Hotel
0.3 mi away
Anteliz Suites Santorini
5.0 mi away
Apanemo
Apanemo
#1 of 12 in Akrotiri
707 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ira Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ira Hotel & Spa

Address: | Santorini, Firostefani 847 00, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Firostefani
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Firostefani
#2 Luxury Hotel in Firostefani
#5 Romantic Hotel in Firostefani
#6 Family Hotel in Firostefani
Price Range: $125 - $382 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ira Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Find yourself in between the clear skies and the eternal blue of the Aegean Sea! Relax and enjoy one of the world’s most amazing places! You are here: in Ira Hotel & Spa swimming pool area where caldera’s beauty meets summer’s loveliness ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Evoline ltd so you can book your Ira Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ira Hotel Firostefani
Ira Hotel & Spa Santorini/Firostefani

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing