We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Villa Ilias is THE best location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Villa Ilias Caldera Hotel
Ranked #2 of 21 Hotels in Firostefani
Certificate of Excellence
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level Contributor
39 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Villa Ilias is THE best location”
Reviewed October 22, 2010

Villa Ilias is the best location in Santorini!! It is set high up on the hill which over looks the most active part of the city AND you have a view of the sun setting over the ocean from your balcony. There is a pool on the balcony as well. All these sites from your own doorstep make for a picturesque, breathtaking, most relaxing time one could hope for. This place is the definition of vacation!
The owners are very welcoming and accomadating. In addition, there is free breakfast and wifi.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FaithieWhoo_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

802 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    600
    172
    17
    7
    6
See reviews for
126
468
34
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (174)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2010

After a lot of research I booked Villa Ilias for our honeymoon for 4 nights. I was not disappointed. It is a perfect location close enough to Thira to walk for dinner or a drink, yet far enough away to be quiet. We had the exclusive room with balcony, definitely worth the extra money as our balcony faced straight onto the caldera, what a wonderful view to wake up to every morning.
The staff were great and very helpful, breakfast was nice and they did all they could, nothing was too much trouble.
As a location Firostefani was the perfect location. I found Imerovigli too quiet and too far from town, while Oia was far too expensive to be realistic for most things.
Bus stop was close and there are some nice restaurants in Firostefani, as well as a handy little shop.
To sum up, stay here!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Darcy008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2010

Our family (kids 11 & 12) spent 2 nights at Villa Illias, late Sept. We stayed in the Traditional apartment which is only a short walk from the main premises & pool. We had our own small private verandah which we spent each night having drinks watching the sunset. Very quiet & perfect position away from everything. No one minded the short walk as it was good exercise after the well laid out and generous breakfast, plus with the scenery what more could you ask for.

Some people may expect 6 star accommodation, however we never had these expectations and as such were not disappointed. The room was clean, spacious, air conditioned, good bathroom, beds and kitchen. No complaints, the room was extremely adequate for our needs. What more do you need other than this after a long day walking, swimming, dining, looking at the scenery.

Pauline & Nancy were most helpful with all our questions, nothing seemed too much trouble for them. They even offered help carrying our suitcases between our accommodation & the main premises (I think they were volunteering George services, however he seemed busy all the time).

As long as you don't mind a few stairs and walking (although it seems all of Santorini is like this) then Villa Illias should be considered as one of your top choices in accommodation (although we have nothing to compare it with).

We would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Magoo50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greater Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2010

This hotel has the best view in Santorini.

You have to stay here to see the sunset.

The first restaurant as you walk down the hill is very good. It definately needs to be checked out.

The owners George and Pauline were very helpful!

  • Stayed October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wayneh78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2010

My husband and I stayed at Villa Ilias in September during our honeymoon in Santorini, and it was a great experience. We stayed in the room that directly faces the Caldera (Exclusive room) and had our own balcony. The view was breathtaking! Also, unlike many of the other hotels on the Caldera, we didn't have to climb down a ton of steps to get to our hotel...there was direct access to the hotel from the street.

Our hosts, George and Pauline was very welcoming, informative, and hospitable. When we informed them we were on our honeymoon, they gave us the honeymoon package which included wine and snacks upon check-in, a wine tasting of several different wines, and a three-course meal! It was honestly the best meal we had in Santorini...very traditional and home-cooked. The tzatziki was the best we've EVER tasted...and I am still trying to find a place that comes even close.

The rooms are not very spacious or modern, but that's how most of the hotels in Santorini are. One downside was that the internet wasn't working in our room, but we were able to use the public computer in the lobby. But I guess we didn't really need internet anyway, since we were on our honeymoon! Oh, and we had some problems with our tub, but when we told George, he came and fixed it immediately.

Overall, I would definitely recommend the hotel to others. But if you want a great view, make sure you get either the Superior room or the Exclusive room!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bjoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nova Scotia
Level Contributor
81 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2010

We stayed here for three nights and four days and this place was awesome. Staff were incredibly helpful and friendly. They even provided service in French as well as English. Our room wasn't ready when we arrived so they treated us to a complimentary drink by the pool while we waited. We had a lower level room right by the pool which was delightful. Small but very cute and comfortable. The hotel does ask that you be quiet around the pool during siesta and sound really does travel. It is not that people were being really loud, but we wound up closing our shutters and windows and using the air conditioner so we could nap. It was nice to have plates and glasses in the room so we could enjoy a snack while watching the sunset. If we ever return to Santorini I would stay here again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FRENCHENGLISH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 4, 2010

Our stay was overall excellent. A minibus picked us up for the 15 minute drive from the airport. Our room was a decent size, decent bed and away from street noise on the side. AC was working, but not needed all the time due to the breeze. Pool was small (by NA standards) but perfect for cooling off in. The views over the Caldera from the pool meant you didn't need a balcony. It was amazing to see the view over the Caldera, Fira and Imerviogli (sp) from our hotel and have no steps to walk up unlike other hotels in FiroStefani. Ours was also a little separate from other hotels which was great. We had a breakfast every morning that had meats, pies, juices, coffee, eggs, and Greek yogurt. Very light and good fare.

It is very close to Fira down a path overlooking the water which was amazing every time. Free internet in the main area and not hard to get on. Only thing which was odd was the shower which was curtained but usually made the floor very wet. Not a huge deal, just a little annoying as you had to cover the floor with towels after. Not an issue because you could get as many towels as you wanted. You can rent cars/ ATVs 5-10 minute walk away.

There are many great restaurants nearby ranging from cheap to very affordable. This is a great location for a getaway and George and his staff made sure we had everything we needed. Make sure you bring sunscreen to the island as it is very expensive to purchase. I highly recommend Villa Illias.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dfinlays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Firostefani
0.1 mi away
Blue Dolphins Traditional Apartments
0.7 mi away
Villa Renos
Villa Renos
#4 of 79 in Fira
788 reviews
0.5 mi away
Evgenia Villas & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Petit Palace Suites Hotel
4.7 mi away
Cavo Bianco
Cavo Bianco
#5 of 75 in Kamari
393 reviews
0.0 mi away
Dana Villas Hotel & Suites
Dana Villas Hotel & Suites
#3 of 21 in Firostefani
955 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Ilias Caldera Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Ilias Caldera Hotel

Property: Villa Ilias Caldera Hotel
Address: Firostefani 84700, Greece
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Firostefani
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Firostefani
#3 Family Hotel in Firostefani
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Villa Ilias Caldera Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Damigos family has been a part of Santorini history for over a century. Villa Ilias is the former residence of one of our ancestors, George Ilias Damigos. It is built on this specific location to capture breathtaking views that are unique only to Villa Ilias and perched 1,000 feet above the Aegean Sea and the most famous volcano in the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Villa Ilias Caldera Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Ilias Hotel Firostefani
Ilias Hotel Firostefani
Villa Ilias Caldera Hotel Santorini/Firostefani

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing