We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Jaw dropping Caldera view”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Villa Ilias Caldera Hotel
Ranked #1 of 21 Hotels in Firostefani
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 31, 2013

We had a great stay in one of the Exclusive Rooms and I highly recommend it. The room was small but spotless and the balcony was amazing - I’d seen photos of the view a million times but when I stepped out onto that balcony my stomach dropped with amazement. The breakfast was lovely and always featured homemade options that were terrific.The service was great - we had a very early departure flight and they made sure we had breakfast delivered to our room to eat before we left and assisted us with a taxi booking. The pool area was great and although it seemed small there was always enough seating and loungers for everyone even in July. The wifi was great and worked from both the pool and our room.

Room Tip: We were very pleased that we booked the Exclusive Room with the caldera view balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank misslassie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (864)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

407 - 413 of 864 reviews

Reviewed July 30, 2013

For my sister and myself, the hotel provided everything could have asked for clean room, extremely helpful staff and a provided a yummy breakfast in the mornings with a wide variety of choices. Just a short walk to the town centre along the cliff face which was a spectacular view to look at for the ten minutes that it took.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lang1011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2013

From the moment I made an enquiry months ago via email, George's service was exceptional. He would reply so prompltly and so kindly. Whatever he promised us came to fruition. We arrived on the 13th of July and was meant to stay for 6 days but we all fell in love with Santorini and we extended our stay. George managed to accommodate us for the extra few days. We stayed in the traditional cave studio for 4 people and it was perfect!! The views from the moment we arrived were breathtaking. I would wake up and sit on our deck and admire the views and wished I would never leave. Our cave studio was immaculatey cleaned every day with fresh towels whenever needed and even bathroom products were supplied to us.
The breakfast supplied every morning was top notch!! Healthy in every way, fresh bread, freshly made pittes and amazing cakes by the wonderful Marina. I must mention Pauiline also who always greeted us with a smile and assisted us with whatever we needed.
George, Pauilne and all their friendly staff should be commended for their service. We were all made to feel so welcomed.
We definitely recommend this hotel and we just cannot wait for the day to return to this magical island and stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HelenT16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2013

Villa Ilias, what a place. I spent about a week here in July and loved every minute of my stay. Ask for a villa with balcony and Caldera view. It won't disappoint! Breathtaking views.

George and his staff are very welcoming, Marina the cook put together a lovely spread for breakfast. Overall the hotel is very clean and close to everything, Walking distance to restaurants, about 10mins walk to Fira Central and buses.

Would definitely go back and spend another week with George and his staff. Perfect location and amazing views.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Pontia84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2013

We arrived in the middle of the night on a low-cost flight from Spain and George had arranged a driver to pick us up. He was happily waiting for us at 3am and gave us an overview of the island then helped us into room 14. When we finally woke up and went outside we were blown away by the view that had been obscured by the darkness of night. The private balcony was a real treat.
Breakfast was great. Everyone at reception was so helpful. Housekeeping was excellent. The location is ideal for a walk down to the busy restaurant area. We rented a scooter at a place recommended by the staff and that helped us explore all of Santorini over just a few days. We loved Villa Ilias and Santorini. Thanks for the wonderful memories.

Room Tip: Room 14 was worth the extra cost to have the private area all to yourself. The pool can get crowded...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PatoPatoPato
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2013

We loved the Villa Ilias! The family who owned it took great care of the property, it had only around 10 rooms and was in the quiet part of Fira called Firsteffani about a 15 minute walk from the busier noisier areas. The walk is amazing along the edge of the cliff with great views.The rooms were updated, pool was cool and relaxing, breakfast was really good every day and it had amazing views of Santorini. When I go back I will stay there as it was above our expectations.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Craig M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2013

Villa Ilias was a great choice for us. We arrived from a flight at 7 am and even though we were not booked in till later that day, we were met at 7 am and taken to our cave house. We were invited to have breakfast that morning too which we appreciated. We loved the cave house and the balcony which was like another room as it was so big.
Wonderful kind people at Villa Ilias and we were given free t shirts as we left.
We would love to return one day, keep up the great service, Villa Ilias!

Room Tip: We loved the cave house which is a little bit away from the main accommodation but so quiet and auth...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 211Evette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Firostefani
0.1 mi away
Blue Dolphins Traditional Apartments
0.0 mi away
Dana Villas Hotel & Suites
Dana Villas Hotel & Suites
#6 of 21 in Firostefani
1,049 reviews
5.0 mi away
Apanemo
Apanemo
#1 of 12 in Akrotiri
713 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Ira Hotel & Spa
Ira Hotel & Spa
#4 of 21 in Firostefani
511 reviews
2.3 mi away
Lilium Villas Santorini
2.5 mi away
Petit Palace Suites Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Ilias Caldera Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Ilias Caldera Hotel

Address: Firostefani 84700, Greece
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Firostefani
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Firostefani
#3 Romantic Hotel in Firostefani
#3 Family Hotel in Firostefani
Price Range: $86 - $198 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Villa Ilias Caldera Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Damigos family has been a part of Santorini history for over a century. Villa Ilias is the former residence of one of our ancestors, George Ilias Damigos. It is built on this specific location to capture breathtaking views that are unique only to Villa Ilias and perched 1,000 feet above the Aegean Sea and the most famous volcano in the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Villa Ilias Caldera Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Ilias Hotel Firostefani
Ilias Hotel Firostefani
Villa Ilias Caldera Hotel Santorini/Firostefani

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing