We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Villa Ilias Caldera Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Homeric Poems(Firostefani)
$716
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Sun Rocks Hotel(Firostefani)
$566
$510
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Mylos(Firostefani)(Great Value!)
$107
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Manos Small World(Firostefani)(Great Value!)
$257
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Mill Houses Elegant Suites(Firostefani)(Great Value!)
$409
$350
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Ira Hotel & Spa(Firostefani)(Great Value!)
$165
$160
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$628
$603
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Belvedere Santorini(Firostefani)(Great Value!)
$371
$352
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Cliff Side Suites(Firostefani)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (877)
Filter reviews
877 results
Traveler rating
663
182
19
7
6
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
663
182
19
7
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsquicheminute walkpool areadaily newslettereach morningthe busgreat hostsperfect locationour honeymoonwalking pathamazing viewsprivate balconypool levelmain townbreakfast was deliciousstandard roomvisiting santorini
Filter
Updating list...
473 - 478 of 877 reviews
Reviewed July 25, 2012

Santorini is my favorite place on earth - this was my third visit to the island. Villa Ilias provides one of the best views on this best island. The hotel is in a wonderful high location that provides a view of the entire caldera and much of the city. You do, however, make a small tradeoff staying here as the rooms are rather ordinary and very small. Nevertheless, we loved our stay here as we spent most of our time on the rooftop veranda that was part of our exclusive room. I would highly recommend trying to get this room as the view is the best and the privacy is absolute. You get the identical view as the hotel's webcam since the webcam is attached to the veranda. George and Pauline were fantastic hosts and were very helpful in guiding us to great restaurants (try Vanilia and Capari). The hotel is in a quiet area in FiroStefani and is about a 15 minute walk to the main area of Fira (warning - wear good walking shoes to get to town as the cobblestones are tough). Breakfasts were wonderful on their small outdoor terrace. The hotel itself is rather old and is one of the original buildings in the area (George's family lived in the building for many years). We had a great time, especially sitting on the veranda. The poolside rooms offer much less privacy so I would recommend upgrading to the exclusive rooms. The hotel is a great value based on price.

Room Tip: The exclusive room with the rooftop veranda is the best room in the house.
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RickyD23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2012

Kiwis On Tour
We stayed at Villa Ilias in Santorini during our recent visit to Greece during our whirlwind adventure to Europe. From the moment we arrived to a welcome beside the pool with complementary beer and nuts, and that magnificent view, our stay was exceptional. Our room was fantastic as was the breakfast and our hosts. We would highly recommend Villa Ilias to all. +++

PS. Santorini was the most welcoming place that we have stayed in throughout our recent visit to the UK and Europe. These guys know how to treat their visitors. Like Villa Ilias, we would highly recommend Santorini (Ferostefani) as a magical and welcoming place to visit. ++++

Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Seamu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2012

We were there in shoulder seaon, in late May 0f 2012. Owners Pauline and George made us feel very welcome. Both were great at helping us get oriented around Santorini, and locating the activities we liked. They were able to help us find every site, activity, restaurant, etc., that we asked for.

We are a family of 4: parents and two adult children. Our trip was made to celebrate our son’s graduation from medical school. This is the first vacation we have been able to take as a family in 9 years, and our hosts helped to make it very memorable.

We stayed for 4 nights in their traditional apartment, which is a cave house tunneled into the side of the caldera. I had heard that such houses were dark, but we didn’t find it excessively so. We also spent very little time indoors. I will describe this apartment more fully, since the description online was a bit sketchy. There are two main rooms: a bedroom (with one double bed, a twin bed, nightstand, and wardrobe). This is the innermost room. Internal windows into the room further out gave light. This was another room with two twin beds, and table and chairs. Mattresses and pillows were very comfortable. Furnishings in the apartment are simple but up to date. A small galley kitchen has a full size refrigerator, hot plate, coffee maker and electric kettle, with basic pots and pans, plates and glasses. Windows in the kitchen and front door let more than enough light into the cave house, even on cloudy days. They have internal shutters, so you don’t have to be woken by bright sunlight or the wind off the caldera. Light from the caldera can be blazingly bright. Bathroom with shower in a small tub is fully tiled in refreshing blue and white glass tiles. This is a surprisingly large bathroom for Europe.

The apartment has its own private patio/terrace, with table and chairs, and reclining lounges. This was phenomenal for its west facing view over the caldera. My husband is an early riser, and loved being able to make his own coffee without waking anyone else up, and to take it out on our private terrace.

Unlike the other rooms in this hotel, the traditional apartment is located slightly below and south of the main hotel. It’s hard to describe unless you have been to Santorini. It is further down on the side of the caldera, and then tunneled into the side of the volcanic stone. There is a paved footpath that runs through the village of Firostephani. The regular hotel rooms and the apartment are on the caldera side of the footpath. The hotel offices and breakfast room are on the other side. The apartment is thus a slightly longer walk to the breakfast area and hotel reception than is the rest of the hotel. The hotel has a small swimming pool close by the regular hotel rooms, which we didn’t use; because our visit was during the shoulder season, and the weather was too cool. The hotel is directly on the footpath that runs along the caldera side. The center of Fira is about a 15 minute walk south. We found Firostephani to be blissfully quiet at night compared to Fira.

An excellent breakfast was served each morning. Hard boiled eggs, amazing greek yogurt, fruit, various kinds of pastries, rolls, breads, and coffee were served daily.

We felt truly welcomed at Villa Ilias. Pauline and George both seem to be gracious and warm hearted people who enjoy sharing their love of this spectacular island with guests.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank linnea56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2012

This hotel is in an excellent location with a breathtaking view of the Caldera. Apart from the exceptional view I also chose this hotel as it is within easy walking distance- 10 minute stroll along a path overlooking the Caldera - from the capital Fira but far enough away from the hustle and bustle of the town .
The owners and staff are extremely friendly helpful and efficient. Breakfast was really nice and taken on a terrace which looks out over the otherside of the island. The hotel is great value for money when you compare it to adjacent properties in Frastefani.. We have visited Santorini many times previously - and will definately be returning to stay in the Villa Ilias again.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 6 which has a private balcony overlooking the Caldera with a staircase leadsing directly down to the pool area. The room is compact but nicely decorated with a very comfortable bed - the view is absolutely superb . We felt-it was definately worth paying extra for this room due to the private balcony.
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Routhy2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2012

WOW, great location, fantastic views, value for money, free wifi, great breakfast, sunny pool area, George and Pauline and their team made us feel so welcome.

Highly recommend

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews