We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Villa Ilias Caldera Hotel
Ranked #2 of 21 Hotels in Firostefani
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Fantastic stay!”
Reviewed July 18, 2011

We had a fantastic stay at Villa Illias. Everyone was extremely helpful. The rooms and area were clean and as expected. The honeymoon extras they provided were also fantastic, best Greek salad ever. The owners were nice enough to wait for us as we had a late night check in, and they even saw us off in the taxi when we left.

Thank you guys for the amazing stay and we will definitely be back back.

Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank danny.jak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

826 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    619
    177
    17
    7
    6
See reviews for
131
482
34
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (178)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 18, 2011

We stayed in room #2 for 4 nights and it was just gorgeous, with a balcony and window facing the caldera and hotels underneath...we loved it! The staff were lovely and very helpful, the breakfast was plentiful, the location was the best...right next to the walkway, which made it easy to get into Fira. Bathroom was a little small as my husband and I are both tall, but that did not worry us as it is the same all over Europe. We loved it and would definitely stay at Hotel Ilias again next time!

Room Tip: Spend a little more and get a room with a view, it is so worth it. We had superior room 2
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Phil197618
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Costa Rica
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2011

We stayed at Villa Illias for 3 nights in June. We are a family of 4, including 2 teens. We stayed in the room for 4 people.

Pros: great location in Firastefani, you can walk to Fira but you are away from the noise at night; super friendly hotel staff; good breakfast with variety in selection; clean hotel rooms; amazing views of the Caldera; huge bathroom; wireless access at pool

Cons: room for 4 is tight for 4 people, had to get creative about where to store bags and our stuff; room safe is tiny, if you bring an ipad, camera, phones, etc, you will not be able to store all of them at the same time; pool area is small for lounging by the ; wireless signal very weak in the room, needed to go to pool for access

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PiazInCr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Pasadena, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 16, 2011

We absolutely fell in love with this villa and the people running it. We were on our honeymoon, and they took such great care of us...we will definitely be back if we ever have a chance to go to santorini again. Fabulous views from the rooms (we stayed in 3 different ones and they were all great!). We would recommend the Exclusive room or a 2nd story Superior room. Our favorite meals were the breakfast here...pool deck is mostly quiet and peaceful. Walking distance to Fira Square (we also recommend Lucky Gyros). 30 minute bus ride to Oia for sunset dinner. If you are on your honeymoon, ask for the honeymoon package (comes with wine tasting and a home cooked meal at villa ilias). Best place to stay in Firastefani!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Revivalgen01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2011

Our stay at Villa IIias was perfect. The view was spectacular! The hotel is wonderful - it is clean, modern and has the nicest staff. Lounging by the pool - just enjoying the Santorini view was my favorite part. Otherwise, this accommodation is perfect location for those looking to be near but not in downtown Fira. It is only a short gorgeous walk to the town center. Along the way there are wonderful eateries and of course the view! The hotel is also only a few steps from the bus stop which can take you to Oia to enjoy the famous sunset!
I highly recommend this to anyone who is seeking a stay on this heavenly island!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ava9802
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2011

For those travellers who do not wish to be swept aside by the tidal wave of cruise ship tourists in Thira it’s preferable to choose a hotel in Firostefani and what better place and the tranquil Villa Ilias.
All the rooms have a view over the caldera and from the pool deck there is a splendid view of the shipping movements and a great spot to enjoy an ouzo while watching the sun set.
The Villa has been in the Damigos family for generations and George and Pauline have created a lovely warm and friendly atmosphere. They always endeavour to ensure that their guest’s needs are met. They are assisted by Tracy at reception who is more than willing to assist with all queries.
Of special note is the large variety at the breakfast buffet which even includes freshly baked quiches, fruit tarts and cakes.
A big thank you to everyone who make Villa Ilias such a special place to stay. I shall be looking forward to my next visit.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravellerNG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
Reviewed July 3, 2011

My new husband and I decided to spend part of our honeymoon in Santorini and were lucky enough to stay at Villa Ilias. I can't recommend this hotel enough.

Being in Firostefani (rather than busy Fira) was great -- it's only a 15 minute downhill walk to Fira (along the caldera) and it's much quieter, with no cruise-ship tourists. If you want to stay in Firostefani, there are lots of dining and cafe options too.

The amenities that were available far outstripped the price of the room. The wireless internet was reliable, breakfast was positively gourmet (and was slightly different, every morning), the pool area was clean and boasted a remarkable caldera view, in-room TV always available, the room was spacious and nicely decorated, and the service impeccable.

The only (slightly) negative thing I have to say is that the pool is a bit small, and, during June when we were there, the water was too cold for swimming (although other guests did brave the chilly water).

Pauline, George and Tracy were so welcoming and friendly -- it was like having family away from home. They made sure to make us feel special because of our honeymoon.

And a word about the food: breakfast, as I mentioned, is amazing. Every day there was a different main -- spinach pie, potato and cheese pie, olive and cheese pie -- and the variety of the rest of the buffet is great. The Greek yogurt is probably the best yogurt I have ever had. We had dinner at the hotel one night too -- the food was delicious, the portions huge, and the wine free-flowing.

We had planned to do a lot of different things during our 4 days in Santorini -- and instead spent the four days at the hotel because the view was so amazing.

We would return to Villa Ilias in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tarsaye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Firostefani
0.1 mi away
Blue Dolphins Traditional Apartments
2.5 mi away
Petit Palace Suites Hotel
0.5 mi away
Evgenia Villas & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Anassa Deluxe Suites
Anassa Deluxe Suites
#2 of 75 in Kamari
358 reviews
0.7 mi away
Villa Renos
Villa Renos
#4 of 80 in Fira
805 reviews
0.4 mi away
Anteliz Suites Santorini
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Ilias Caldera Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Ilias Caldera Hotel

Property: Villa Ilias Caldera Hotel
Address: Firostefani 84700, Greece
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Firostefani
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Firostefani
#3 Family Hotel in Firostefani
#3 Romantic Hotel in Firostefani
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Villa Ilias Caldera Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Damigos family has been a part of Santorini history for over a century. Villa Ilias is the former residence of one of our ancestors, George Ilias Damigos. It is built on this specific location to capture breathtaking views that are unique only to Villa Ilias and perched 1,000 feet above the Aegean Sea and the most famous volcano in the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Hotwire so you can book your Villa Ilias Caldera Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Ilias Hotel Firostefani
Ilias Hotel Firostefani
Villa Ilias Caldera Hotel Santorini/Firostefani

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing