We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice clean place with lovely friendly helpful staff”
Review of Margarita Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Margarita Hotel
Ranked #20 of 21 Hotels in Firostefani
Reviewed April 22, 2010

Booked a trip to the Greek Island of Santorini from Athens and stayed at the Hotel Margarita in Firostefani. Perfect location, near to the old port and the bus station for all the visiting, and easy access to good restaurants. Hotel was clean, and tidy. Breakfast was continental and enjoyed on the porch outside.
Would definitely recommend to any visitors to Santorini!

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank franspencer1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (132)
There are newer reviews for Margarita Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

60 - 66 of 132 reviews

Reviewed November 20, 2009

true, you do not have a caldera view, but for E35m you can have sunrise views from your room, a 5' walk to the caldera and 10 to downtown fira.
we loved the place, the simplicity, the value, and the service. yannis, the manager was outstanding. we strongly recommend this place, and save yourself some $.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nomadcrow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2009

My fiance and I stayed at Hotel Margarita 9/17-9/20. Because I had booked as a solo traveler, they put me in a room with two single beds, but they do have rooms with double beds. They didn't charge me any extra for him when we checked in. We stayed in a building that was two buildings down from the main building. The rooms were very clean, the bathroom seemed brand new, and we had a fridge and balcony. The room didn't have a safe so bring a lock and lock your valuables in a bag everyday.

The location is about a 10 minute walk to the center of Fira Town. The walk is easy but I recommend renting an ATV or scooter. We rented an ATV for 25 Euro per day and drove to every corner of the island. Since it's a little further away from Fira Town, you can actually sit on your balcony, enjoy the view, and have a little peace and quiet.

The hotel has several vans. They picked me up from another hotel, picked my fiance up from the airport, and dropped us off at the airport on our final day.

The breakfast was typical of a Greek budget hotel. They bring it to you on a tray. They serve bread, ham and cheese, pound cake, tea or coffee, and an orange drink similar to Tang.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chanda3x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2009

I stayed here at the hotel in early September and am very happy with the value for money aspect of this hotel.
The hotel is, in my opinion situated in a very good location. A 10 minute walk (max) to centre of Fira and about 5 minutes to view the Caldera from above the houses & apartments in Firostefani. From this view point you are metres away from the iconic blue domed church with bells that overlooks the Caldera!
The rooms are good & equiped with airconditioning and TV with 25-odd channels, a small fridge/freezer & room safe.
The staff are friendly and attentive & can assist with your enquiries & can also provide transfers for 10 Euro.
Breakfast is very pleasant consisting of fresh bread, Greek honey, jams and spreads, orange juice, coffee (hot or frappe) or tea and a slice of local cake to set you on your journey for the day.
In reflection and all things considered, the price is very reasonable and this is a great value for money hotel.
I look forward to staying here again in a future visit to Santorini.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LondonTravelbug1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2009

We booked hotel margarita via a travel agent in athens, transfer from the port to the hotel included. Santorini's port, however, is chaotic, particularly when we went (early august, peak tourist season), and there were too many people for us to be able to find the driver. We spoke to the tourist information office at the port, who kindly rang the hotel, and organised our transfer to come and pick us up. We couldnt begrudge the hotel for this, but we did have to wait 15 minutes for our ride, not to mention the time spent quequeing up at the tourist information office, and it was a very hot day...
We had to wait in the lobby for our room until 12 midday with our luggage for the cleaners to prepare our room. The hotel is family run, thus organization is quite poor. The room itself was pretty and colourful, unlike your average Greek hotel (white walls, white bedsheets). The room had internet & AC. The second day the internet stopped working, and although we complained, it was not fixed.
Breakfast wasnt a buffet, and it consisted of fresh bread and spreads (nutella, butter, strawberrry jam, honey), cake, orange juice or coffee or tea. Very plain.
The hotel's pool was small but pleasant.
The hotel is located in Firostefani, and is a 20 minute walk into the main town of Fira. There are some nice tavernas in Firostefani though, we recommend the Simos taverna, for cheap and delicous greek meals. The walk to Fira is quite dangerous though, as there are no pavements.
The hotel arranged for us to be dropped off at the port when we left Santorini.
Hotel Margarita does not have the stunning view of the Caldera.
In addition, you have to buy bottled water, tap water is not drinkable on the island. We reccommend going to a mini market on your way into Fira, buy a big bottle for 50c.
Overall, the poor service of the hotel made our stay a little stressful, especially considering we were paying 90 euros a night. The island of santorini is so beautiful however, that we still had a magic time.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sciencedog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2009

Margarita hotel also has a smaller hotel with the same name that is located down hill a little ways. The smaller Margarita was barely tolerable. We booked it with a travel agent in Athens, and I think that he thought that were spring breakers on a tight budget, so this is what we got. The hotel was not great but it could have been worse. I would not recommend this hotel mostly because of location. There was a nice view, but I don't think there is anywhere in Santorini that does not have a nice view. It is a long and very steep walk to the coast. We found a travel agent nearby that gave us a two day driving tour of the island, that was fantastic! The island is absolutely beautiful!

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NyCricket
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2009

My friend and I were accommodated in Hotel Margarita for 2 nights last week.
We got a double room with twin beds and bathroom. Everything was so tidy and clean. They clean the room and change the towels in a daily basis.
Room were so cute, everything in white and blue.
My friend was making a joke because she used to say that hotel looked like a hotel for girls... And at that time, everyone in the hotel was female!!!
Maybe you dont have Caldera views, but in a short walk from the hotel, you can get them (at Firostefani).
Location is not too far from Fira's main street (around 10 minutes walking)
Staff was very kind. They were to the port to pick up us and then, they brought us to the port by free.
If any time I come back to Santorini, I will try to be accommodated in Hotel Margarita

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chuslopez77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Firostefani
0.1 mi away
Belvedere Santorini
Belvedere Santorini
#10 of 21 in Firostefani
506 reviews
0.2 mi away
Blue Dolphins Traditional Apartments
0.1 mi away
Villa Ilias Caldera Hotel
Villa Ilias Caldera Hotel
#1 of 21 in Firostefani
840 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Sky of Thira
Sky of Thira
#21 of 21 in Firostefani
45 reviews
4.3 mi away
Atalos Apartments & Suites
0.2 mi away
Splendour Resort
Splendour Resort
#17 of 21 in Firostefani
423 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Margarita Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Margarita Hotel

Address: 11 Firostefani, Firostefani 847 00, Greece
Location: Greece > South Aegean > Cyclades > Santorini > Firostefani
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 21 Hotels in Firostefani
Price Range: $37 - $171 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Margarita Hotel 1*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Margarita Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Margarita Hotel Firostefani
Margarita Hotel Santorini/Firostefani

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing